My new Bluefin

Thread: My new Bluefin

My new Bluefin

Gday all

First off I would like to say what a top site! I have gained a wealth of knowledge over the months reading on these forums, been great.

Well after months of looking at boats then reading about them, then looking at other boats. Then looking at used boats and new boats, all the while staying within a budget and traveling miles on end, I finally made up my mind. To the families relief lol. She is a Bluefin 525 Bowrider with a 90hp Mercury 2 stroke on a Dunbier Loader trailer and I just luv her she has 13 hours on her at the moment after 2 weeks.
    This is my first boat in 20 years, I had two others when I was 20ish a old 16ft centre console glass over ply, it weighed a ton haha. I then saved a old barnacle encrusted Seafarer with a sandblast to the hull and a good 2pac paint job, both were pretty shabby to say the least. So to step into a new one is pretty reassuring safety wise. Went out to the Barwon Banks caught a mixed bag, saw a few whales was great.

Sorry if I am yabbering on, feel like Big Kev I'm excited. Also thought I would post her up seeing as there are heaps of Ausfishers on the Sunny Coast to give a wave to.
    Last edited by ILikeBlu; 22-08-2007 at 10:10 PM.

Re: My new Bluefin

nice looking rig ya got there all you need to do now is catch some more fish.

cheers tassie JR

I'm picking up exactly the same rig (hopefully) this week - and by the sounds of it did the same runaround beforehand. How's she gone so far?

Im hearing you there Tassie JR Although I always knew the drought would break, as soon as I bought a boat :p lol Fingers crossed on some nice weather like the last month has been.

Sweet reidy_g good to hear, I was counting down the sleeps in the end lol. Im very happy with her, plenty of room for me and the missus and teenage boys when they are keen. The finish of the bluefin is very good as well. I think you will be happy
    I went with the 90hp 2stroke, for more money I could have got a etec or a 4stroke, but to be honest the last time I owned a outboard they were huge noisy smokey things but the new ones are gems to me.
    Another bonus is she just fits in my garage, the rubbers on the rollerdoor just brushes the top of the windscreen.

Congrats mate i'v had my fin for over 3 yrs now great boats for the money mate hope you enjoy it as much as i have mine i'v done just on 400hrs ,welcome to the club mate ...matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Quote Originally Posted by ILikeBlu View Post
    Gday all

First off I would like to say what a top site! I have gained a wealth of knowledge over the months reading on these forums, been great.

Well after months of looking at boats then reading about them, then looking at other boats. Then looking at used boats and new boats, all the while staying within a budget and traveling miles on end, I finally made up my mind. To the families relief lol. She is a Bluefin 525 Bowrider with a 90hp Mercury 2 stroke on a Dunbier Loader trailer and I just luv her she has 13 hours on her at the moment after 2 weeks.
    This is my first boat in 20 years, I had two others when I was 20ish a old 16ft centre console glass over ply, it weighed a ton haha. I then saved a old barnacle encrusted Seafarer with a sandblast to the hull and a good 2pac paint job, both were pretty shabby to say the least. So to step into a new one is pretty reassuring safety wise. Went out to the Barwon Banks caught a mixed bag, saw a few whales was great.

Sorry if I am yabbering on, feel like Big Kev I'm excited. Also thought I would post her up seeing as there are heaps of Ausfishers on the Sunny Coast to give a wave to.
    Your not Yabbering...you are just excited to have a new toy...Enjoy!!...Enjoy...

Cheers Mick

Nice looking rig
    What made you guys choose the BlueFin over the ather offerings?

Quote Originally Posted by Hamish73 View Post
    Nice looking rig
    What made you guys choose the BlueFin over the ather offerings?
    For me it was build quality, local reputation, positive level flotation, finished off nicely and 3mm side plate on the bowrider. Overall best boat for buck. Went Bluefin over Telwater 'cause I prefer 3mm side plate over 2mm pressed and IMO they're a little overpriced.
    Last edited by reidy_g; 09-09-2007 at 07:23 PM.

That is one fine looking boat. Recently I was getting new rollers fitted to my Dunbier trailer and whilst I was there I took a look around and also fell in love with the Bluefin boats in the yard. All I can say is you are a lucky guy to own such a nice boat. Congratulations.

I think those bluefin people are so lucky that they should rent them out for us poor people who are dreaming of one.

I'm still wondering how many hours a year I will do for my 29K

Quote Originally Posted by datamile View Post
    I think those bluefin people are so lucky that they should rent them out for us poor people who are dreaming of one.

I'm still wondering how many hours a year I will do for my 29K
    Talk to my bank.....they own a lot more of it than I do!!!!!

Ilikeblu and reidy _g i am another blue fin owner of the 525 bowrider (Well im not its dads but i am lucky enough to get to go out in it and use it lol )

but he did well in chosing the bluefin bowrider shes a nice boat and rides well except shes powered by a 115hp mariner.

i have a pic but cant work out how to add it and i will take some more and post them on here A.S.A.P as we have aded some extra thingies onto her since he brought it
    "True Blue"

Great Loophole. Thanks. Love to see some pics and hear about your add-ons when you get the chance.

reidy_g i took a photo with the digi camera but it wont let me put it in post (maybe the filr is too big) any way i might try takeing a pic with me camera phone and try that
    "True Blue"

Thanks Guys Good to hear there are a few Blueys getting around

Hamish73, I am with reidy_g, the finish and build were what got me then the price blew the others out of contention.

loophole try this site to upload and resize your pics for forums http://photobucket.com/

And here for helping you post your pics
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=103565

reidy_g have you picked yours up yet m8? And have been out in her m8, keen to know what you think.
    Last edited by ILikeBlu; 12-09-2007 at 03:49 PM.