Worth Getting Wet for GT's Mackerel and Tailor landbased

Thread: Worth Getting Wet for GT's Mackerel and Tailor landbased

Worth Getting Wet for GT's Mackerel and Tailor landbased

hi all decided to go and have a flick yesterday around midday with a mate (bobby26) at one off the local walls target was jew on the turn of the tide with some left over yakkas bob had and placcies
    i got there and bob was running late so i stated spinning a cpl of slugs around chasin a few livies after donating a 40gr raider to the rocks i switched down to the light gear (jack gear 14lbs and 15lbs leader)and a 20grammer first cast cpl cranks of the reel and im on felt different and after a short battle i had a nice little mack on the rocks think its a spotty? went 64cm first ive landed on the rocks dropped one earlier in the year
    spent the next 30+mins castin for nothin bob arrived and we sent a cpl of yakkas out with a cpl of 7/0 in them threw a cpl out and it didnt take long and my rods bent over and losing line ran over got the the rod let it run a bit than cranked the drag(shimano speedmaster) and sank the hook and it ran straight into the rocks but ended up coming out and to the surface when trevally was called another nice fight and the chunky 70cm GT is on the rocks new PB for GT cpl of pics and back it goes(ive got better pics that show its size better but too hard to edit and i dnt like crowds )
    lost the rest of the yakkas to bream bob landed a solid breambo well over 35cm on a 7/0 in a whole slimy mackeral
    so no bait ,tide was runnin time we moved a bit up the wall throwin the bigger metals didnt take long and im onto a solid greenback which ate a 125 raider and spat the hooks on the lift up the next hour session was hectic with tailor chasing the lure down and getting airborne on the hook up only landed the three smaller sized ones bob got 2 and i the 1 (biggest )
    lost over a dozen (dropped a few big greenies)between us mainly due to the swell and lifting them over rocks as you cdnt get close enough to lift them staight out of the water was a great afternoon despite losing a few metals and getting soaked to the bones by rain and waves well worth getting wet

Cheers Shin
    Last edited by shin25; 21-08-2007 at 10:02 PM. Reason: pics

Re: Worth Getting Wet

good stuff the keen fisherman catches the fish.

Re: Worth Getting Wet

good work but u must be keen
    "True Blue"

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Re: Worth Getting Wet for GT's Mackerel and Tailor landbased

Yeah, looks like a spot. Well done Shin.

Looks like the GC Seaway fired up hey???????

Cheers, Jeff

have you brought a net yet mate?
    "True Blue"

unreal session shin,
    keep them reports coming mate

well done ,good session.

Ausfish Platinum Member richieboy's Avatar

Great fish Shin. As for the crowds, I don't reckon they'll be on the seaway for the next couple of days with this weather about.
    I should have gone for a bream spin this morning. Light SE (10 knots tops) all morning until around 1pm. What's the saying again.......the calm before the storm.

Richie

When the wind and swell are up it is very worthwhile having a look in the seaway.You never know what will turn up.

Cheers Dazza

Great report mate! good to see some 1 braving it in the rain and wind, once again great report

Gday shin,Top catch mate,Great gt they pull hard.Got wet and chilled to the bone myself sunday arvo and brained the flatties and bream in the brissie,the fish dont seem to mind the weather at all.The mac looks like a doggy.Ben

Ausfish Platinum Member geoff72's Avatar

great stuff mate,sounds like great fun was had
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Nice catch there mate, that gt would have gone nice and hard.
    That mack looks like a school mackerel to me. Had the wind started howling down there by then? It didn't really start up here (Sunny coast) till late arvo.
    I was wondering if anyone had fished just before the change, I thought the fish may have been a bit hungry....seems they were.

Thats the spirit mate, come rain, hail or shine, a good fisho will persevere.
    JOHN 21:3

Nice bag of fish there mate. No sausages for you tonight !!!