Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Brisbane Boat Show

Re: Brisbane Boat Show

Arrghh Common you lot...get into it. Money is made round to go round

We went and had a walk around for a few hours today and it was great to see what was new in the Zoo. I loved the floating pontoon designs that all lock in "Great" and there were plenty of new boats on offer to crawl over for inspiration. You can chip in $57K + ongoing for a share in a floating palace, or about $39K for a wind powered version. Heaps on new plastic shark teathing rings that you can float around on. Oh, how about the new Bow thruster virtual demo...that was great fun. Never parked a 30 footer before today!

Yeah sure the takle was a bit high in price...but some poor mug had to hall all that in there, then pay about $3K per meter for floor space. So i will forgive them a little. You could still get a free catalogue, they are giving away lures on the door in and I came home with more reading than I need. Besides all that there are plenty of shiny shoed sales man who will talk you into debt.

For the "Fully Sick" brigade, I highly recommend you have a gander at the Seado SKI/BOAT...What a piece of work. Bling Man ...Bling!

So yeah...Me and me mate from work enjoyed the show. Umm, if the boss asks...we were there doing...research!!! LOl.

Enjoy

BilgeBoy

Sadly I had a nephew phone me yesterday because he'd won a couple of free tickets to the boat show through a competition on one of the radio stations. He was going to pick them up today and I was going to be the lucky recipient of them so I could go for free and bring a friend however the nephew phones me again today advising of a sudden onset of the flu and was unable to collect the tickets. Damn, damn, damn. Double drats.

Quote Originally Posted by Leeann View Post
    I'm a bit biased here

Ah Leanne, your flathead session this afternoon was very good.

Going tomorrow (Sat) with the wife and kids.. Is it going to be manic ? Staying for riverfest and catching the train back hopefully.

Are there any deals going on for a 406 MHz EPIRB there best price I can find outside the show is $399 ?
    Last edited by Black_Rat; 31-08-2007 at 07:29 PM.

399 is a bargain. worth every cent. got mine for that price from Whitworths a couple of weeks ago.

Quote Originally Posted by BilgeBoy View Post
    Arrghh Common you lot...get into it. Money is made round to go round

We went and had a walk around for a few hours today and it was great to see what was new in the Zoo. I loved the floating pontoon designs that all lock in "Great" and there were plenty of new boats on offer to crawl over for inspiration. You can chip in $57K + ongoing for a share in a floating palace, or about $39K for a wind powered version. Heaps on new plastic shark teathing rings that you can float around on. Oh, how about the new Bow thruster virtual demo...that was great fun. Never parked a 30 footer before today!

Yeah sure the takle was a bit high in price...but some poor mug had to hall all that in there, then pay about $3K per meter for floor space. So i will forgive them a little. You could still get a free catalogue, they are giving away lures on the door in and I came home with more reading than I need. Besides all that there are plenty of shiny shoed sales man who will talk you into debt.

For the "Fully Sick" brigade, I highly recommend you have a gander at the Seado SKI/BOAT...What a piece of work. Bling Man ...Bling!

So yeah...Me and me mate from work enjoyed the show. Umm, if the boss asks...we were there doing...research!!! LOl.

Enjoy

BilgeBoy
    LOL...you should try the bloody things without a bowthruster and the wind and tide against you..that certainly livens up the days activities at times.

went back again today...ran into a fellow Ausfisher there...wife now has the new boat down to one of 2..totally different boats...will go for a test run on both and see what happens...BUT..still other options in the mix from manufacturers that weren't at the show.

Drove down from the Sunshine Coast to have a gander, Cant say I was surprised things haven’t changed. Still the same old program and themes as the day it started. I hate to say it, but the boat show is so predictable it’s not even funny anymore. I didn’t realise till later what it’s lost, it just doesn’t have that fishy feel about the show like it did in the old RNA show grounds. Same speaker’s year in and year out, although Bill Corten does do a great job of keeping things moving? Some of the plate alloy boat builders at the show need to go fishing so they then know how and were to put things. The set ups on some of these boats is beyond a joke considering the coin they are asking.

I did see some nice boats and sounders can’t say much for the tackle, there wasn’t any.

Stu

[quote=charleville;676120]1. I am sure that I am asking the bleeding obvious here, Farrokh, but I suppose that you have asked the tackle dealers why they won't attend.

Yes we have asked the and the main reason stated is that we allow discounters from Sydney and elsewhere into the Show and that it turns into a price war. Good for the punter - bad for them.

Charleville - I like your ideas mate and you never know what you'll see at the next Show.

Pinhead raised the stand cost issue:

Tinnie & Tackle 2007:
    Up to 100m2 - $40/m2
    100 to 200m2 - $33/m2
    200m2 and up - $25/m2

Brisbane Boat Show 2007:
    Up to 200m2 - $70/m2
    200 to 400m2 - $65/m2
    400m2 and up - $60/m2

Incidentally these are the cheapest rate at any show of nay style held at the COnvention Centre.

Free admission - lets say we make the boat show free and 100,000 people come through the door. Do you guys honestly think anyone can sell anything when their stands are flooded with people. The sales people wouldn't be able to qualify the leads properly - the real buyers will walk away in disgust becasue of lack of attention and etc, ect.

Boat Show dates - Our dates are fixed for the next 10 years at the Convention Centre. They can accommodate 9 day events with great difficulty. Riverfire on the other hand moved their dates in 2003 to coincide with us. We are trying to move to mid-Spt to get away from them but there is no guarantee they won't follow.

PinHead's comment about "if they don't make money then they won't be back" is spot on as well. We have to cap the maximum space any exhibitor can take to 800m2 otherwise some exhibitors will take 1200m2 and it will squeeze a lot of people out. We release the Show in early June and 2 to 3 weeks later the Show is sold out. It must be working for them otherwise there won't such pressure for space.

We in Queensland run the cheapest shows anywhere. I've done the research.

And B_E_N, the QX guy is yanking your chain. Had half a boat gone missing at a Show I would have been lynched. Trust me.

SgBFish talks about the hassle of setting up and pulling down. AFD and Dj's come from Sydney and Bundaberg. They bring about 20 palletts of stuff and go back with 5 or 6. They have more hassle than the local guys yet they come to every Show and they scream for more and more space. Making money is hard.

The subject of the venue comes up every now and again. The whole point of having 2 distinctly separate shows is that people can chose which one suits their needs. I concider it an achievement if the guy who exhibits car toppers and small tinnies decides that T&T is the Show for them and not attend Brisbane Boat Show, because we maket the T&T to that segement of the public that is interested in that style of boat and conversely me market the boat show to people who may buy $100k+ boats. Different Shows for different markets.

Longshot - this is exactly what we are hoping to achieve at the next T&T Show. Lets see if we have any takers!!

Hi Leeaan! I agree with everything Leeanne says.

I've tried to explain most of the issues raised as best as I can.

A quick report on the Show - visitor numbes are down from last year, yet the sales on the floor are far better than 2006. Go figure!

In 2006, 460 boats got sold at the Show and in the month of September as a result of the Show. Lets see what happens this year.

I hope the above shines some light and why we do what we do.

Enjoy the Show.

Farrokh.

Went to the show Fri and was sitting in on the deepwater plastics talk and when the presenter asked for one last question to win a 7' 2" berkley dropshot plastic spin rod valued at $109 I put my hand up and asked if I could have the rod PLEASE. to which he replied no worries mate here you go.
    So I am one happy camper. So to all that think the show is a waste of time and can't be bothered going. IMO this is untrue.

Cant agree with all comments on the seminars, the guy running it was as entertaining as a moldy mango & the obvious advertorial & the not so obvious advertorials makes it all seem rediculous.
    While some presenters are obviously experienced, established & give good info, there are others that take every chance to push a barrow in the form of this rod or that reel, all the while they're wearing the same brand hat, badges all over their shirts. Some of these drongoes look like dead set NASCAR drivers with all of the endorsements, obvious plugs, hats, badges & comments to match. Fair dinkum!!
    I sat in on one barra talk & the presenter was talking about a location which, by his descriptions he has obviously never been there. I DO happen to know the location. He was outright telling porkies. If the organisers want to get folks like this in, fine. But I wont be paying my hard earned for that tripe again. I'll go to one of Nuggets seminars for down to earth anglers with good info.

In saying the above. I must say that not all presenters I saw are in this category, hope they can get some more like them back, like they used to have in years past. Down to earth anglers who are happy to share their knowledge & knowhow, not tell us how fast their boat is or how good they are.
    Also. Please please please dont bore us with the bream comp heros again (more NASCAR stuff).

Got a great deal on a sounder from Stones Corner, lovely people there too. One fellow (his neck thingy said his name was Rob) at Springwood was rude & arrogant to my lady. They missed the sale.

All in all, good to see the boats. Should be just boat builders, motor manufacturers etc IMHO, no dealers. It just turns it into a flea market.

Thankyou.

Evan
    Last edited by Evin Rude; 01-09-2007 at 08:33 PM.

Amanda and i were happy to go to the boat show this year,I picked up a dogbone bracket for my new minn kota from springwood marine at a very good price,I asked them if they had the bolt kit to suit the dogbone bracket,At first they said no we dont have them at the show then they remembered that they were under the counter and ended up just giving me the bolt kit for nothing,I also ended up getting a furuno LS4100 sounder with transom transducer from bias for $399,After that i was chatting with a bloke from the furuno stand about how to set up the LS4100 to get the most out of it and he gave amanda and i a furuno T shirt each,a hat each and a stubby cooler each.Also had a chat with steve cooper from polycraft about poly boats and about these stupid proposed green zones for moreton bay,Gotta say steve is a top bloke and is always willing to give advise.

cheers tim

It's not all bad - I won a Live Fibre M10 at one of the rod talks.

Ausfish Gold Member

Farrokh,

some feedback from a newbie to the boating scene (and first time to the boat show)...

went to the boat show expecting to LEARN something about boats, boating and general information etc as well as see heaps of boats.
    saw heaps of boats, but saw the same boats also across different stands (dealers). I find this strange as where were the manufacturer's to discuss the pros and cons of the boats? whose stand do I go to to speak to the manufacturer?

good to see some fishing seminars but where were the boating seminars?? I have read quite a few posts on this forum about even some of the more experienced boaties who would be willing to learn more about the black arts of boats (ie - navigation - by charts, boat security - best methods for securing the boat and whats inside it etc etc). there could be easily a day of seminars on boating. I'm sure the forum readers could give you a list of interesting topics.

i you hold a tinnie and tackle show, then there is a forum already for tackle and fishing. The Boat Show, I thought, was mainly for boating and about boating. Keep the fishing seminars etc, but some more interest in the boating side of things would go a long way.

Oh yeah - the convention centre is ordinary. I've been there myself as an exhibitor before and as a patron. Its not cheap for both - went on Wed and paid $8 to park. no problem with this as its not too unreal. was lucky enough to get free tix so went again on saturday with the Mrs. lo and behold, parking had bumped up to $12! blatant ripoff knowing that the weekend is a big money spinner where more people are guaranteed to come.

to be honest, there wasn't much value in going at all for me as I could go to a few local yards and discuss/haggle for boats on any weekend. I dont pay for fuel, so its only my time that costs me.

build in some more value on boating, and many more new and 'old hands' might see the Boat Show as a once a year must do.

mik

ps - I won't be going next year based on what I saw. then again, you might argue, I'm not shopping for a $100k + boat either. perhaps I'm not the type of person you want at the show anyway?