Thread: What would you want your politician to fix?

What would you want your politician to fix?

Every now and then, the local politicians write to householders seeking input on what is important to them. So I have started to compile a list of things that bug me that I will send to all of my representatives in the three tiers of government in my area.

I have a list of about 18 things currently but the only fishing and boating ones relate to unlit, poorly lit and poorly maintained beacons.

What fishing and boating issues would you want to raise with your politician that needs some attention, in your view?

I know that there are the big ones about potential Moreton Bay closures but are there other issues as well? Mundane is fine.
    Last edited by charleville; 21-08-2007 at 10:07 PM.

Re: What would you want your politician to fix?

Price of friggin' petrol
    IMO enforcement agencies need to be pro-active in all forms of 'upping people for doing the wrong thing' (that's an easy way of putting it
    Inconsistencies in policies ie jetboats down the coast through the creeks unnecessarily destroying habitat and then wanting to lock up bucket loads of the bay
    It would be nice if the volunteer rescue boys could get more funding or even just some tax breaks so they can do their job not rattling tins
    Last edited by finga; 21-08-2007 at 08:31 PM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

it's be nice if my 12 ft tinnie could get out of wynnum creek at low tide without runing aground
    Our local polly was doing a door knock a while ago, and he left with a long list of requests

umm stop pumping our own shit into the ocean would be a good start!

Being able to use water without feeling guilty. I am a customer and pay for the stuff and the pollies are trying to make out it's my fault for being a customer.

4.1m Rainwater tank & 50hp4st donk- go the plastic

Hmmm now you got me, ban the pros from the jumpinpin and broadwater, create more artificial reefs for both the bay and off the gold coast, and now the BIG one for me- stop the massive rort which is the 457 visa scam, over 50 thousand of these people are let into australia every year driving down conditions at the worklplace for aussies and pushing up rents and the cost of housing, in the meat industry masses of chinese are brought in practically unskilled and then get months of training while the conditions of those aussies working at same goes down, this is bad for the country and only fills the pockets of big buisness.

Fuel prices
    Housing affordability
    Fishing access
    Water
    Gateway traffic

Quote Originally Posted by stark View Post
    Being able to use water without feeling guilty. I am a customer and pay for the stuff and the pollies are trying to make out it's my fault for being a customer.

Absolutely diddo
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Hi All

Firstly I have to agree with Horse--- gateway traffic

I would like to be able to get out in the boat and not have some bloody idiot on a jet ski spoil my days fishing. ?????

Would also like to see the pollies do something about the petrol--- I do see there is to be an enquiry into this-- as if!!!!!!

Think the list could go on and on ???????????????????????

Ronnie

I'd like any help I could get to fix this rash. Do you think My local member could help? Sorry I couldn't resist.

While I disagree with almost everything else that comes out of his gob , the Family First senator from SA had a good idea with his family impact statements on pending legislation. [NB Not the god-botherers definition of family - but blue singlet wearing, 10yr old commodore driving families] I'd like to see some kind of family comissioner or something similar that can point out when the quality of life of lower / middle income Australians will be adversley affected. Even if it's findings are non binding, at least the pollies can't use "Plausable deniabilty' or "No-one told me"

Yes, it's another layer of Red Tape.
    Yes it could be stacked to twist it's output to push a particular barrow.
    Yes it will be accused of being populist.
    However I think it is reasonable to say that a pollie or policy manager making 120K in a high rise has little understanding of what goes on at a 'grass level.'
    They have to decide which tax minimistaion investment portfolio to use. As compared to: Only 2 years ago the boss & I were sitting at the dining table trying to work out how much of which bill to pay first, so we wouldn't have the phone / power cut off.

I am particularly concerned with how the policy of our fed gov has caused a massive blow out in consumer debt, in a supposed boom time, when the economy cools off [& it always does] there is going to be a lot of pain down at street level. Not the Maquarie Bank Squillionairs, but the courier drivers, Warehouse workers & Trades assistants that have been pushed into sub contracting positions & EBA's.

Comalco & BHP have very effective lobying & legal departments.
    Joe SixPack & Wendy Homemaker just seem to get it in the neck everytime.

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Price of friggin' petrol
    IMO enforcement agencies need to be pro-active in all forms of 'upping people for doing the wrong thing' (that's an easy way of putting it
    Inconsistencies in policies ie jetboats down the coast through the creeks unnecessarily destroying habitat and then wanting to lock up bucket loads of the bay
    It would be nice if the volunteer rescue boys could get more funding or even just some tax breaks so they can do their job not rattling tins
    All of the above...............................well put finga

What Horse has already said. Plus clean up some of the boat ramps and upgrade security and lighting at them. Add some area beside the ramps where you come ashore and get your trailer and stuff without hassles.

All of our qualms would get closer to being solved if we elected a competent government that isn't full of liars, cheats, and crooks who are only in it for themselves (eg Beattie, Howard, Rudd, Iemma, and any politician alive today).

To sum up, all I want is a government that will look at the real issues rather than screwing one group over to shut a minority group up ie. The Greenies.

I want to see more fisheries officers...I am 29 and been fishing nearly all of my life and only ONCE have I had fisheries come and inspect my catch...that is not good enough!

Fuel prices...when hell freezes over they will actually do something substantial about it!

They just announced a $17billion dollar surplus (which means they have taken too much taxes off of us!) surely they could use some of this for fish management.

Last thing, I think it would be a good idea for fishing licences to be introduced (I might get lynched here lol) but say we all pay $20/yr and we know that money goes to protecting and managing our waterways...I would be happy to pay it.

Mike L

ps heaps of other issues but not fishing related

Quote Originally Posted by Hamish73 View Post
    it's be nice if my 12 ft tinnie could get out of wynnum creek at low tide without runing aground
    Our local polly was doing a door knock a while ago, and he left with a long list of requests
    Hey Hamish - I found this in a list of things being funded in a $50M program of works from the Govt as of 14 August. The list is on Nugget's site.

Wynnum Creek Entrance Channel Dredging

Maintenance dredging of the access channel leading up to the Wynnum Creek Boat Ramp.

Is that what you are talking about?