Thread: southern snapper

southern snapper

been an ausfish member for a while but havent sent in any fishing info yet so here goes..got some lessons of my cousin(foggy) few months back on a trip up too sunny qld ,havent got everything down pat yet but the results are improving.two short trips out off the beach in the tinny too a bit of reef that comes up from 30m to a few spots to20m over the weekend certainly opened my eyes and ears to the zinging of braid off my little spheros reels!most fish on sat arvo hammered frank oo's special nuke chicken in the 7" size on sunday they finshed off the packet so i had to try a few others caught them on various swim shads and gulps.hopefully the pics will do the fish justice and i can work out how to post them through,i've gathered heaps of info from all the guys that fish to the north of me ,foggy was a great help and just maybe the old days of bait are over!cheers gillogs having trouble down sizing pics have to work it out later....biggest red fella went a bit over 7.5 kgs will send them later, sent them to foggy on email he might be able to attach them if i'm too thick!

Re: southern snapper

Mate, lets see the pics ?

Sounds like you got the hang of it very quickly !!

How heavy was the Braid you used ?
    What size Jig heads ?

Craigie.

I told you the plastics would cahnge the way you fish. Good to see you getting a few quality fish. I will attch the pics for you. its not that hard.

Foggy

They're some top fish mate!
    My offshore plastics experience is very limited but am keen to try them on the pearlies and trag and snapper up here (north coast nsw)
    Love the knob on the fish!

thats some quallity snaps there mate well done
    looks like another 1 to the darkside the bait companys must be getting nervous about how good the gulps and co are working cant wait til squidge bring out there smelly placcie
    the knobs on the biggie are wicked does anyone know why some get them on the nose? and what there purpose is?

Don't want to rain on your party, but I hope there was more than 2 people fishing, seeing as you had 11 snaps in your possession.

WTFH

Quote Originally Posted by Wear the fox hat View Post
    Don't want to rain on your party, but I hope there was more than 2 people fishing, seeing as you had 11 snaps in your possession.

WTFH

Even if there was only two people on board still well under the NSW bag limit of 10 per person.
    Bag limits different in all states.

Foggy

Talking Re: southern snapper

nice feed of reds there mate go the chickens cheers lizard

Foggy,
    Sorry if there's any confusion but I read Gillog's post as - quote: "few months back on a trip up too sunny qld." Congratulations if they were caught in NSW.

WTFH

love the head on the big fella
    "True Blue"

don't under cut the man , ther's 12 and i'm jelious hehe

nice catch mate

dont you love it when a half decent report goes up and there is always someone to rag on it and ask questions... maybe they should spend more time in the boat and less time on the keyboard... great catch mate and i hope you can show more of these members how to catch those pink fish on plastics...

didnt want to cause any confussion up there in qld....but the reds were the total of two short trips in the tinny,and yes there was two in the boat,one bloke was fairly busy on the net & opening the fishbox! i suppose it has been raining a little up north so some blokes might have the key board on the computer as the only escape!!!!!sad sad life!!!! looking forward to posting some more pics on the snapper from the mid north coast.....thanks for posting the pics foggy,bout time ya headed down this way for a fish...gillogs