G'day all.
Glad to finally be back in Brissie after spending a few weeks away in the Territory. Yes I did manage to wet a line up there and although we didn't land what we were targeting I managed to get into a few nice cod and bring back some fillets of Black Jew.
After catching up with Chief and Garret Sunday arvo for a bit of rugby viewing, to say I was keen to get out on the water was an understatment. Seabreeze showed a bit of wind forecast for today but the SE wasn't gonna affect me much. So I thought anyways......
Gentlemans launching hrs for me saw me on the water around 1130am and it didn't take long to reach the mouth and begin drifting. The constant Westerlie made things tough with really quick first 2 drifts yeilding nothing.
A quick change up to 1/4oz soon fixed things and I boated 2 healthy squire in the mid 40's. 4th drift and another nice squire pulled some string before I got smoke by a brute.
5th drift same again, another deep take and the leader's busted with another blistering run on the Sol. Note to self, up it to 10lb for next time.
Cutting a long story short, although the weather was tough I managed a bag out and some, releasing all fish to fight again. Home by 3pm. Nothing crazy but still a great time and especially enjoyable considering the 40km/hr winds forecast for the next few days. ( I'm still on a week off! ) Cheers,
Richie
Pic attatched of the average size