Thread: Skeg Guard

Smile Skeg Guard

Got a mate who wants to buy a skeg guard, anywhere in oz that we can get 1, the motor is a 60 yammy enduro Cheers

Re: Skeg Guard

Someone has to ask, so it might as well be me---What is a Skeg Guard???

If you mean a prop guard, such as those used by the Life Savers on their Rubber Ducks, I think Solas Props have them.

Richard.

go to ebay aust then go to boat parts & acc punch in skeg and you will find what you are looking for found them on there yesterday while brousing good idear

Topaz, they cover the whole skeg, Made from either stainless or alloy.
    They slip over skeg like a sleave.
    Have seen the 1's on Ebay , was looking in Oz first though

Hows a skeg guard going to help protect the skeg.
    Sure I can see it helping with paint chips and such, but a big wack, and it might do more damage than with out one.
    Eg: tearing a hole in your gearbox housing instead.
    A skeg like your prop should have some flex, but I could be convinced otherwise.

Other than that, reckon they be good to replace a damaged skeg.

had a stainless skeg guard fitted to last boat tend to agree with rough as guts.it was sikaflexed on and actually fell off after 6 months.found it at ramp(pure ass)never bothered putting it on again still sitting in shed.waste of money i think.(looked pretty trick though)

allot of the crab boats in the gulf seem to have them, allows them to flog the motor in shallow mud and sand without wearing out the gear box case and skeg.

As Wheelerdog said crabbers from up north use them, Thats where my mate got the idea , He does trips up to king ash bay and reckons they are the go.