Thread: offroading spots

offroading spots

Gday blokes. just got me first 4b and given the price of transfers, rego etc for buyin a new car am flat broke for permits. any where near burpengary thru to caloundra worth goin off road with out permits.... and is legal?

ta

Re: offroading spots

If you go to Bribie Island and head up the inside of the island past Whitepatch you will come to the rangers offices. the road breaks right from there and takes you on a sandy inland track up to several sites along the passage to as far as Poverty Creek/ Stockyard Point. Not challenging but it is offroad and the location isnt bad either.

The pine forests in the western side of the passage are not bad either although not 4wd neccessary unless you opt for mud tracks. There are a few creeks with good access points and the fishing is quite good also if you attack it right.

Personally I would be looking at Jimna Forestry. Can be challenging, steep, slippery, winding and very scenic away from the main tracks. Some very nice creeks and waterholes can be found thru that area as well as some outstanding wildlife.

Someone will no doubt correct me on this if I am wrong but I seem to recollect that about 3 yrs ago State Forestries abolished the permit system for the pine forests and I am pretty sure native forests like Jimna. There are some locked no entry forests around still I am sure.

The roads from Lacey's Creek up thru Brisbane Forest Park towards both Wivenhoe and Somerset are awesome driving and some areas are quite dangerous with very tall and almost vertical drops beside the tracks. It is or was a locked access area but have ventured into there several times over the past 30 yrs offroading.

Last edited by tunaticer; 18-08-2007 at 02:01 PM.

permits are no longer required for the state forests. They were free anyway.
    Try Mt Mee or Glasshouse state forests.
    Stay to the 'formed roads' unless you want a fine from the rangers, they are cracking down on people now, especially those making their own tracks.

What sort of 4 wheel driving you wanna do? Mud, rocks, gravel roads, beach etc?

Mt Mee,Connondales,Glasshouse,Jimna etc all have tracks to siut all skill levels,no permit is required as long as vehicle is registered and driver is liscenced.

Bribie requires a permit,even whitepatch track to poverty creek and up to lighthouse reach,I have seen the rangers at poverty creek fining people for not having permit,permit costs about $100 or thereabouts and is available from caravan park office opposite boat ramp at bongaree.

Most of the closer tracks that have existed have now been gated or big signs put up telling us to keep out (Bridge to nowhere,narangba quarry,oceanview road etc)

Cheers Craig.

Yer the narrangba quarry was a good spot. Try going from wamuran through the forestry to pechester thats a good trip. If you want a family weekend sandycreek park is quite good. They offer really good camp grounds,hot showers and good tracks. It's north east of kilcoy.
    ________
    DEPAKOTE LAWSUIT SETTLEMENTS

look for a book called " Dirty Weekends ". has lots of options in it.

Bribie requires a permit.

That 'Dirty Weekends' book is a good one. You can get it at most RACQ store fronts and most camping shops too. You may think that it is only for the soft roader type, but there are some bloody good tracks in there for real 4WD's too. The Mt Mee trip is a good one.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line