Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Overcrowded Boat Ramps..Solutions?

Re: Overcrowded Boat Ramps..Solutions?

Quote Originally Posted by paul251 View Post
    One solution for the Caloundra area is to widen right out that bottom ramp,dredge it and make it usable for bigger boats,knock down all that bush and do it right the first time. Then of course make a suitable breakwall at the Caloundra bar,similar to Mooloolabah, yeah I know wishful bloody thinking,but what's the alternative??
    If you are talking about the ramp next to the Coast Guard at Caloundra, no point making that any bigger or better because there is very limited parking as it is. As for the breakwall, I am absolutely opposed to that. The shallow bar keeps the crowds away from the close reefs at Caloundra and that is the way I like it.

The Beattie Government promised $40 M to be spent on boat ramps at the last election and we are yet to see any of this. Lying b****ard.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

I think there are way more important issues for councils etc.
    I don`t mind to much waiting a while at the ramp given that on the Gold Coast or anywhere around Brissie there are many alternatives, they are always a bit less convenient but that`s the price you pay I guess.
    The Labrador boat ramp is a beaut, very popular and hard to get a trailer space unless you are early or lucky, mainly due to it being quicker access to the seaway and a pontoon, but then again a 20 minute drive to the Spit, no pontoon but parking is never a problem.

Caloundra.. Launch early from Bells creek ramp . Bribie has quite a few ramps.. 3 on the island and 2 at Spinnaker quays. Best one is at the Coast Guard station (turn left over bridge) Plenty of parking and never overflows to the street.
    Move to Tassie or Melbourne.. Problem solved because for 8 mths of the year it's so cold and grey the you can't use your boat.
    Last edited by KGW3; 16-08-2007 at 08:39 AM.

I dont have a solution to offer for parking, sometimes it gets ridiculous. I spoke to a guy last Xmas who told me {Apply 10% B.S. factor} that the nearest double carpark to the Thomas St. ramp was an 9$ taxi ride away. Seriously- why would you bother?
    For actual on ramp time - the answer is easy - do your prep before you get within 50m of the ramp & learn to reverse a damn trailer. Sorry but its one of my pet issues - clowns who take 5 minutes to get onto the ramp, occupy two lanes because they can't reverse, then once they are there, they spent 15 miinutes faffing about with tie downs and eskies. Everyone is there to go boating, not sit there like a stunned mullet waiting while some clown. If it takes you more than three minutes total on the ramp then you need to review how you go about it. Boats more than 5m I give you 5min - either launching or retrieving. For dogs-sake spend a sunday afternoon learning how to back your trailer its not that hard.
    While we are at it, when the car is on the ramp, get your kids out of the car. It is not safe. There were two little tackers drowned in florida last year because while dad was stuffing about with the trailer the handbrake disengaged. Anyone with kids know they do stupid things, knock an auto out of P whatever. Give them a rope to hang on to, or something to keep 'safe' on the grass, worse case scenario - put them in the boat. Imagine watching your kids drown through the windscreen.

Quote Originally Posted by Nowhere Bob View Post
    I dont have a solution to offer for parking, sometimes it gets ridiculous. I spoke to a guy last Xmas who told me {Apply 10% B.S. factor} that the nearest double carpark to the Thomas St. ramp was an 9$ taxi ride away. Seriously- why would you bother?
    For actual on ramp time - the answer is easy - do your prep before you get within 50m of the ramp & learn to reverse a damn trailer. Sorry but its one of my pet issues - clowns who take 5 minutes to get onto the ramp, occupy two lanes because they can't reverse, then once they are there, they spent 15 miinutes faffing about with tie downs and eskies. Everyone is there to go boating, not sit there like a stunned mullet waiting while some clown. If it takes you more than three minutes total on the ramp then you need to review how you go about it. Boats more than 5m I give you 5min - either launching or retrieving. For dogs-sake spend a sunday afternoon learning how to back your trailer its not that hard.
    While we are at it, when the car is on the ramp, get your kids out of the car. It is not safe. There were two little tackers drowned in florida last year because while dad was stuffing about with the trailer the handbrake disengaged. Anyone with kids know they do stupid things, knock an auto out of P whatever. Give them a rope to hang on to, or something to keep 'safe' on the grass, worse case scenario - put them in the boat. Imagine watching your kids drown through the windscreen.
    Being impatient won`t help anyone, that when bad turns to worse especially for inexperienced.
    I am extremely impatient at ramps but always just switch off the anger and think.....I could be at work!, or stuck in traffic, or had a flat tyre on the way to the ramp, ten or fifteen minutes makes no difference imo.

Yep, I agree. I don't hassle people, I know how much that doesn't help. But when the que progresses that slowly it sure is tempting to say something. Instead I spend that time rigging up, sorting tackle & rolling a smoke.

Personally I’d be prepared to pay money $20 or $30 to use a private ramp if it meant that I wouldn't have to fight a crowd, and the car and trailer would still be there when I returned. I came back to the ramp at Cleveland a few weeks ago only to find the bottom set of rollers stolen off my trailer. God knows how it could have happened in broad daylight at such a busy ramp. I would love to catch the thief.

Camo

Don't put ideas into the heads of the councilors (paying at ramps)... That's one thing that Queensland still has that other states don't.. free launching along with no fixed speed cameras and low property stamp duty. SHHHHHHHHHH...

if you dont like the crowds join upto a boat club. security gated, patroled and pontoons to tie off to. worth the money if you go out a bit.

A public service announcement would be nice. IF YOU ARE AT A BOAT RAMP, HAVE EVERYTHING READY.

I am sick of being stuck behind daytripping poseboats as they fart around setting stuff up in there boats once it is already on the ramp and hold up everyone else.

Just as bad is people who cant comprehend that if they turn the boat on side on to hold it at a boatramp while sum1 parks the car then they are blocking 2 lanes of the ramp

Have to say getting there early is the best option,Most of the the boats that are there are keen fishos and know how to use a boatramp.Ben

aye I agree with blooey , get there early and most of the time no problem .
    coming back in it doesnt matter as you have a days fishing . If someone is struggling to launch or retrieve boat offer them a friendly hand .
    cheers fae haggis ..........................

Thumbs up Re: Overcrowded Boat Ramps..Solutions?

thats the spirit fae.

I must say I totally agree with giving people a hand when you can see they need it.

But when guy turns the boat side on for five minutes just so that the missus can get in easier and doesnt get her feet wet that can get on your nerves.

Sort of reckon most try to be quick, but sometimes you have folks/kids/grandparents on board etc; if someones is conscious of the time they take then I reckon most have a bit of sympathy/lack of aggression, help or lack of humor not an issue if someones trying,

If someones just doing there own thing without consideration, well not cool,, for all the hotheads out there re time, if you saw some bloke getting kids/grans off a boat and hes really trying to be be quick/efficient and has a crowd waiting, well would you give him an earful? I wouldnt if he was trying etc, if he acted like he owned the ramp and screw you, well fair enough; personally just want to see people try and do the right thing,

Wednesday at the ramp saw a bloke with 3 kids in Tinny, oops no bungs, well who cared, he got help from everyone then got an earful from his youngest son for embarassing him... everyone laughed with that....

mike