Thread: Trolling Questions...

Question Trolling Questions...

Hey all,

Looking at doing some trolling around the bay and Bribie tomorrow.
    Have not done this seriously before and was wondering if someone could help with recommended speeds etc.
    I have a couple of Halco 180mm lures that will be first in the water.
    Any help or suggestions appreciated.

cheers and thanks.

Re: Trolling Questions...

LNB, Those lures would troll at dead slow and up to 6-8 knots I'd reckon, I am presuming they are bibbed lures?

Trial and error mate, after attaching them to your line, just hang 'em over the side and see if they're working ok.
    Experiment as to what maximum speed they can take, watch their action, ascertain at what speed they work best at and you're in business!

There's one thing you never do when using lures and that is to never tie a locked knot directly to the tow point of the lure. This will interfere with the action and the lure will not swim correctly.
    Tie a perfection loop or use a split ring with a clip.

Good luck, Jeff.

Thanks Jeff.
    They are bibbed and rated to 7m.
    I have a 50lb wind on leader with a clip at the end.
    I'm not sure if the lures have split rings.
    Thanks for the help.

Mate as long as you've got the clip you'll be right.
    What I should have said was that if you tie your leader to lure, make sure a ring is used.
    Being 7 metre divers your troll speed will be relatively slow, suck it and see.
    Good luck again mate.

If they are tight action lures you shouldn't have any problems at around 7 knots if they are rated to swim around 7 metres. I think if they are big action lures you may have to check your speed in a bit.

don't forget if you are trolling with the current you can up your speed.

sometimes you simply have to do a little trial and error..... it's not difficult. I always liked to check the tips of the rods when towing lures.

good luck & I hope you catch heaps.

r.
    Last edited by roz; 14-08-2007 at 02:54 PM.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

just to add a little to what Roz said about the tips of the rod, they get a real nice vibration/twitch at the rod tip when going at the right speed, if you have that and it stops you have probable picked up a bit of weed.

All great advice. thanks.
    Just hope the weather is as perfect as they are forecasting.
    Also forgot to mention that I will be alone, so any tips on driving, trolling and fighting fish all at the same time would be great.
    If I'm lucky enought to get a strike, should I cut the motor, or netural only etc.???

Thanks.

yeah mate i like to keep my boat in neutral just incase u need to chace the bugger or get out of the way from a freak swell etc...

also when your trolling make sure you stagger you lures...dont have them all at the same length behind the boat.

when i troll i use 3 reels at once/i have two bibbed lures at about 30 M and the other at about 50M behind the boat.

i then either have a non bibbed trolling lure about 15 meters the rod for this is on the holder that slightly directs it to the side of the boat

or

i have a "skirt" trolled DIRECTLY behind the boat.this lure is kept abotu 5M behind wear the bubbles surface from my motor when trolling..this lure is usually hit 3/10 times i havea strike..so maybe invest in a skirt.

hope this helps.

jared
    Last edited by cobia; 14-08-2007 at 07:25 PM.

One more important point.

If the rod suddenly bends over in a good working curve... That's GOOD!!!

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

What brand of skirts would you recomend for in the bay?

Donnan

Well nothing went as planned.
    Boss wouldn't let me out early. Hit the water 3 hours after planned.
    Started to rain the moment my arse touched the seat in the boat.
    Lost the travel strap over the side hitting the first wave.
    Was so rough in the bay that I couldn't let go of the tiller for more than 30 seconds.
    Tried doing everything sitting down and hangging on.
    Managed somehow to get two rods out trolling nicely, had the vibration happening as mentioned above.
    Conditions only let me do 8-10kph and had to keep ducking and weaving the swell.
    In the end I had a huge tangle between the two lines.
    The rain was so heavy at one stage that I could not see Bribie or Moreton.
    There were cruisers heading back in so I turned and headed back into the passage before I turned into a statistic.
    Not a lot of fun and a bit scary at times, but I will try again next clear day.

Thanks again for all the advice.

happens like that sometimes
    "True Blue"

I generally run two deep divers as you are running plus a stainless steel Drone spoon nearer the surface and set back a long way 50-75m back. It is generally the one that will produce the goods when the deep divers dont raise any interest. The old mainstays are there for a reason i guess.

What are you trying to target trolling around Bribie at this time of the year ?

Hey Greg,

I'm just getting my shit together ready for summer.
    We got a boat about 2 months ago and I'm trying to learn some different things.
    If something feels like jumping on, well that would be a bonus.