Thread: Monduran Looking Good

Monduran Looking Good

Took the wife and kids for a bit of a fish on Sunday up to Monduran and although we didn't catch any barra saw Hundreds of big girls laying in the trees just below the surface. The water temp was up around the 22.5 mark and every time the kids droped the esky lid or made to much noise the bay would erupt with huge swirls it reminded we of a couple of years ago when the same thing happened when Trev [awoonga] and I was up there. So there is still a lot of good fish up there and if the temp stays up it should not be long until the action will fire up big time.

Cheers Foxie

Re: Monduran Looking Good

Best news I've heard since the cold snap.

Come on October (my next trip to Monduran!)

Thanks Foxie,
    after reading the thread about the barra kill up at Moondara, I needed some cheering up.
    Come on November I cant wait

Brian

Good news cheers

Has the fish kill afected monduran as much as awoonga? Depressing to hear about i can imagine how sad it would be to see

Im heading up 23rd of October for a weeks fishing, hope to see a few out there!

Hi Rob if we are up there then lets have a yarn around a campfire.

Congratulations on your article on Monduran in a national magazine - it will help out fellow ausfisho's and southerners for sure & give them a better chance of getting on to Barra- congrats again.

Cheers lyndon & kel

Chers Lyndon and Kel !! Im hoping it helps a few and perhaps brings some Tourism $$$ to the area!! hoping to meet up with some ausfisho's on my near future barra mission!! Got a decent plotter this trip so im hoping to see some of the dam i didnt reach this time.
    Look forward to meeting you
    Rob.

Hello Rob,

We're booked in one of the cabins for the four days from Thursday 25th Oct to Sunday 28th Oct. If you see a white boat (Horizon Stalker) with a blue Ausfish sticker on the bow please say giday.

This will be our fourth Monduran trip but our first with the new boat.

As we now have a bigger motor (40hp rather than 15hp) we plan to explore a bit further as we have never been past the south arm of area B.

Where can I get a copy of your national magazine article?

Let's hope the barra play the game in October!

Gday Pete
    Unfortunatly the story was in last months Fishing World mag in the boating section under destinations. Perhaps someone will have a spare copy they have already read?? Or if that fails Contact Fishing world and see if they have a copy, they usually have spares. It was in August issue. I have another going into october issue but not about barra im sorry Fishing world have a website:

http://www.yaffa.com.au/fw/index.htm

I will def be there at that time pete so would love to catch up also. If you dont mind me asking what do the cabbins cost? and also are they in demand? At the monent its looking like ill be staying in my swag hahaha

Ill keep an eye out for the boat but if you see a dark grey tinny smothered in stickers and 2 guys fishing its us, evinrude motor and a min kota maxxum on the bow.

Will be my old vessels last voyage with me as im buying a bigger better boat in feb, any queenslanders want to buy it while im up would save me towing it all the way back home some 20 hours
    Last edited by setthehook; 17-08-2007 at 02:31 PM.

Thanks Rob,

I will try and find a copy of your article.

High season (1 September to 29 February) cost of cabins is $120 per night or $720 per week. We had to book in April to secure the October stay as our visit coincides with the full moon. Generally they are hard to get on short notice.

Our three nights will cost $360. While there is only the two of us (my 15 year-old son Kyle and I) the cabins will cater for up to 5 people.

We figure that after a full day of casting and trolling in the hot sun, and perhaps some night trolling, we like to reward ourselves with a hot shower, a good meal and then relax in air-conditioned comfort (with TV and DVD) before it all starts again the next day! We are usually asleep 10minutes after our heads hit the pillow. Cabins have nice decks, BBQ and great views of the dam.

Luckily we only have a 4.5 hour drive from Brisbane!

Last time we were there in March it was consistently 32-33 degrees, humid and calm every day but that was good for fishing (9 hook-ups for 4 barra boated).

I am yet to get an electric motor for the boat due to the $s involved. That is the next goal!

Hope to see you there.

Good news Foxy.

Hope you and the family are keeping well.

We will be at Awoonga in Oct but may stop in for a day or 2 on the way back.

I would love to head up there and see barra just lazing about first hand but can't justify the drive! Would get some great shots on my underwater camera.

Take care mate.

Navi

Quote Originally Posted by setthehook View Post
    Has the fish kill afected monduran as much as awoonga? Depressing to hear about i can imagine how sad it would be to see

Im heading up 23rd of October for a weeks fishing, hope to see a few out there!
    Gday Rod!
    A small Barra kill did happen @ Monduran I’m sad to say’ Most probably at least in the hundreds! I was up the a few weeks ago and spotted at least 50 big rotten Barra. The only reason you could see most dead fish was there were stuck on top of trees on the surface or just under. Looked like been dead for at least a week and my guess is hundreds more would of sunk to the bottom. The dam had recently rolled over and the water was very dirty. There are a lot of sick fish around the fringes at the moment but things are picking up.

Cheers Les

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."

Cheers Les
    sad news,, I have a large affection for that place and its residents..... Hopefully the worste is over and all is on the mend.

Love the boat.....

does anyone know whether much rain has help the dam level there out at all looking at going up for a weekender there soon

Les is right, there has been a rollover with BIG fish kill. Lots of big fish in most bays. saddest thing I have seen.

Regarding the rain. We have had a few inches here (nothing like sunny coast) not enough to create any significant inflow into the dam....unfortunatly.

Haven't fished for a couple of weeks, so I cant comment on the bite. going this weekend if weather permits to check it out. If the weather heats up and the water begins to settle after the rollover should indicate a hot bite is just around the corner!!

cheers steve