Thread: You snooze...you loose

You snooze...you loose

Howdy all,

Some people have been wanting me to put up a report for a while so heres one of the weekend.

Got to the ramp at about 10 fri night when our mate asked "did you fuel up the boat when you got diesel".......nope .......an hour later we were back at the ramp ready to head out.(i know, i know it was pretty dumb, like going fishing without the boat.....and an all time low since we sleeped in on foxy, but thats anothor story). I was accompanied by my brother nathan, frank, ash and greg. The ocean was flat with no swell and about 10knt of nw. Headed east at 20knts and an hour later stopped of for a fish. The wind was blowing a good 15-20knts by now and drifting over the small spot was a waste of time, so the anchor was thrown. 2nd drop of the night and greg catches his first snapper, a good one too at 6.7kg. A few more snaps and moses before plagues of under reds and further east we went. Nath, frank and i continued drift fishing and searching through the night while the others had a rest for some reds, and other bit and pieces but it was slow with small shows.

Just as first light came up we dropped the pick in an area known as the aquarium, on a good bombie loaded with bait. The current was running a bit to the south so bottom rigs only, we woke the others and we were on. A couple of high fin aj's and a few bust ups before going quiet and moving on. Worked the area but was fairly dead with good size hussar being cuaght and a red or 2 with some big fish being sharked. Wanted to chase some pearlies so moved off north and hit some of our isolated pearlie patchs with double headers coming up and good quailty. Greg pulled up a double of 4.1kg pearls and well worth the effort as it was hard work with 15knts of northerlie and a current running at 1.8knts to the south, therefore couldn't anchor and would get 1 drop a drift which slowed us down a bit. After a few hours we had enough pearls and snapper/reds was next on the menu.

By now it was midday, we started searching for new ground and nath came onto a very small patch while i rested. It didn't look like much on the sounder(little show..but individual dots and knowing good pearlie/reds have came off this type of show before they dropped) 3 hooked up with cheers all round and calls to come out of the cabin i came out to see 2 reds come abourd and frank landing a monster blue maroi cod at 13kg(a rare fish down here). Nath went back round and we all dropped. A good 3.8kg pearl came up and i hooked a monster that got me back to his rock(the bastard) turning the fish quiet and off we went. By know the wind had dropped out and current had picked up to 2.5knts(fairly unfishable) The call was made to head in out of the current for snaps 30mile to the NW were some good fish came from last august.

20 mins later we hit another spot on route were an 11.2kg red was handlined in as the deck winch was tangled up(how the hell do people use hand lines???)Way to much current and were too tired to be messing with reds,heavy sinkers and strong current. Hammered back in as the sun was falling and arrived just after dark. Found the fish after 20-30 mins of sounding and did a drift. Nath pulls a 7.6kg snap. Next drift franks on with an 8kg snap and then i with a 6.3kg snap. Fishing was slow with 1 fish a drift and lots of under pearlie plagueing us but after frank got a 4.9kg pearl. Current was still about 1.5knts to the south in here and about 10knts of Nw. Went dead after a while and sounded through the night as Nath, frank and i fished and moved looking for the quailty, while ash and greg rested follewed then by nath. 3am sunday morning had the pick in the water and snaps started coming aboard. I got 5 in a row on a nuclear chicken as well as a trag,2 pearlie and a cod( first tome plastic user and they they out fished the bait/frank ) I was buggered with little sleep and traded positions with ash and greg while frank persisted(fishing machine). Was woken up at sun up to see nath,frank, ash and greg catching spangles and snapper in one of the best sunrise's i ever seen with oil calm weather

Went for a search in the shallow water(25-40m) on the way home and found a promising spot loaded with bait were cobes came from and bust-ups.(suspect very large aj and maybe reds/nannis of a different patch of the school)

Headed home in majic conditions and back before midday. Did 178nm with some good fish cuaght of new ground. Frank got no sleep, nath and i about 3 hours with greg not much more and ashley snoring away missing some good fishing.

ty,

p.s have some video how do you get it up?

Re: You snooze...you loose

more pics of some of the better fish
    Last edited by reef_king; 13-08-2007 at 10:26 PM.

Mate thats an amazing report
    Some beautiful fish caught , quailty and sweetness
    Champion
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Sounds like a top trip ty.Awesome weather great fish.
    Great going.

Cheers Troy

Very Nice. ........
    Kind of blows the no fish when the winds are from the NW arguement out of the water
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

Thumbs up Re: You snooze...you loose

Ty

Sensational report, matched by the quality of the fish. Gee, those double overnighters sound like the go to maximise your time on the water.

Aren't those Nuclear Chooks fun to use...seems to be no mucking around with the fish just slamming them For something with only minimal if any real tail action, the Gulps really do the job. I have never used them at night, so your success is a nice revelation. Were you fishing them in the deeper water and changing jig heads or just sticking to smaller jig heads in the shallows? We usually use NCs in the 5" or 7" models....even a kingie ate one on the weekend

And how about that sunrise on Sunday, almost an iridescent red glow .... I kept saying to myself, no keep going, you have a million bloody sunrise pics, but I still had to stop for this one

Anyway mate, great going again and hope to catch up soon.

Hey Ty.

Loved reading that one. Great report and awesome pics

Top report Ty. Good to rear you got a couple on the nook--chooks too. I have had mixed success with them so far, but your report sounds encouraging, I'm keen to hear just how you rigged and fished them too.

Damo
    Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.

Good effort ya lucky bastards .....

Donnan

If i had one session like that in my life I would be a happy man. Some of those fish are monsters. Great post keep up the good work.

Cheers Chris
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

come on mate.. didnt sleep that much!! pullin that red in on a hand line was tiring lol!! had an awesome trip boys, glad i brought the softies!! heaps of fun!!! cant wait for next trip gotta get my self a spangled.. spewin the old boy got it!!

Why doesnt it suprise me that Nathan forgot to fuel the boat at the servo !

Some sic fish there Ty well done!
    Ben.

Thumbs up Re: You snooze...you loose

Some Top quality fish there mate......Great trip.

dfox the funny thing is if i didnt say anything at the ramp... they would of launched the boat and started headin out!! we got to spend an hour at the pub.. least we got to have a drink and watch the footy lol!!