-
Fraser Report ..Mackeral from the beach
Gday All
Just spent a week on Fraser with a heap of guys . Got around 900 tailor between us. Ate heaps and bought home our bag limit in fillets.
One morning one of our guys, Bob , hooked onto a mackeral that had taken his tailor . Took around 20 mins to land it and couldn't believe it when he got it in. Went 17kilos.
Brad
-
Re: Fraser Report ..Mackeral from the beach
Adding a close up of the tailor that was taken by the mackeral
Brad
Last edited by blufish; 12-08-2007 at 09:56 AM.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Great report brad those tailor must have miss GG AND BRIS cheers
-
Ausfish Gold Member
900 tailor!!!, how many people were with you?
-
There were 26 of us altogether and we bagged out ( 30 fish per person at any one time ) on the day before we left. By the way Rockfisho that Alvey 650 C5 worked a treat , What a fantastic reel .
brad
Last edited by blufish; 12-08-2007 at 10:05 AM.
-
amazing stuff. haven't heard of a mack that size get caught off the beach before.
by the looks of that esky you will be eating tailor for a long time, was there much size to many of the fish or mainly just choppers?
good catch mate
-
900 tailor and people worry about the pros!
-
Scuttlebutt
The pros would take triple that or more in 1 hour! We were there for a week which averages to 5 fish each per day. If you think that is too many you should write to the govt to change the bag limits!
Most of the tailor were 35cm to 45cm long with a few larger amongst them
A great week
Brad
-
Ausfish Gold Member
great catch mate.
I agree, those 650 C5's are fantastic reels. I love mine aswell..., it's never let me down.
congrats on the mack aswell, thats a ripper
rockfisho
-
Ausfish New Member
What do you do with that many tailor? They are no good to freeze so why keep so many? I love a fresh feed of tailor but would not dream of taking that many.
-
Sounds like you had a heap of fun. Well done on the macky would have been a buss cachting him off the beach. Well done on the catch
Cheers Plastic_Magic
-
Kobiman , Hows it going
We filleted then froze all the fillets in packs of 6 , then bought home 10 packs each. All the tailor were kept on ice from the time they were caught till the time they were frozen, in pristine condition. I will probably eat mine in about 2 montrhs total so there is no waste. e buy fish about 3 times a week when I havent got any so it works out well for us
Brad
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Congrats on that fantastic mackeral off the beach. What a suprise it must have been, at any stage did you think you caught one of the sharks that frequent the area??
And i'll stand for you to say that, if the tailor are bled and put on ice soon after being caught, filleted and skinned while they are still fresh, then frozen all in the same day, they hold their eating qualities and still taste good for upto about 2months after freezing them.
Sounds like there wasn't too much quality down there though, last time i was down at fraser, the average fish were around 50-60cm long
-
Ausfish Premium Member
Sensational Mac.. And good catch of tailor blufish.. Have to love those trips.
Benno
-
Sounds like you had a ball Brad!
Did the Spaniard take a pilly on gang hooks?
Were you using wire or heavier mono for leader?
If you were using mono it was your lucky day mate! Well Done.
Jeff