Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Doing it tough at Mud - but still a good day

Re: Doing it tough at Mud - but still a good day

G'Day Finga, i too was out at mud the same time in my 14ft tinny and didn't
    find it to bad at all. Yes it was blowing and yes it was lumpy, but if you are a competent operator of a vessel and have a little common sense you should not get into any dangerous stiuations. Your concerns are a fair call to some people but for some others it may be read as a little harsh. I have experienced what the bay can get like whilst i was in previous larger boats of mine and it wasn't pretty, but with a bit of common sense and a little patience i got home safely with no sign of problems at all!!! I do alot of solo trips in the bay and i'm not afraid to go anywhere anytime weather permitting. So as for mud on sat morning, i thought the conditions were ok and as it was they bay glassed out to a beautiful/enjoyable day!!!!

Cheers Adrian!!!

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    I go back to this quote
    "Criky, an occasional wave rattled my rig as if she cound break in half with the impact"
    That is a 16' fiberglass boat.
    You have a 13' tinny.
    If there was 3 boats and 4 blokes why take 3 boats in unfavourable conditions at the beginning of the day on the premise that the day was going to get better??
    A bilge will not work when the boat is upsidedown.
    A radio will not work when the boat is upsidedown.
    How much open water has to be covered to get from any part of Mud to Manly if the conditions went to poo and not have become better??
    Everyone knows that the internet predictions can be and have been wrong.
    If I was you Poo I'd have a yarn to some of the blokes associated with VMR and rescue about the dangers of boating in the bay and how quickly incidents happen.
    As for pulling my head in...well that isn't going to happen and as I said I would have said that about anybody if I know the boats concerned...not just because it's you matey. That's why I did not say a thing about T1's boat...I don't know it.

As for coming out with the negatives there weren't too many positives in that trip was there??

I think you put it quite well when you say
    "As luck would have it" because personally I think you were lucky all day.

If any doubts about how quickly things can happen read the thread about going overboard in the boating section...doesn't take much at all to end up in the briney. And some of these are guys with extensive experience not somebody with less then 6 months with a boat license.
    I may be a bit of a nancy boy but as I said before these are my opinions and is my appraisal of what would have been going through my tiny brain during that morning given the descriptions of the morning conditions, knowing the boats concerned and knowing a little bit about the way the bay can turn to crap.

If you think my opinions are excessive then forget about them..easy as to do
    Yes it was a bit bangy on the way out because we were heading into the waves but never once did I feel unsafe. I value yours and anyones' opinions but the way you bring on a public attack like you do is not about our safety at all, but rather to make yourself look impressive to all the other Ausfish folk out there by taking the opportunity to publicly bag people. Yet another reason why so many people are becoming apprehensive to post up reports these days. Call me a total idiot if you want to but you could have done it in a "private" message but that just isn't your style now is it finga?

Hi Guys

Must admit that i was a little surprised by SCALEMS description of 'splitting in half'...

I have a 4.5 aluminium Savage C/C and while it was sloppy, at no time did i feel that it was sooooo bad that i should turn back or seek shelter. Yes, we did come down hard a few times but never any danger (for us) that's for sure! I must admit to being a little surprised by POO's persistance to come to Mud in his vessel and personally, I wouldn't have attempted it - i'm not that adventurous though...

As ALB78 stated, use of common sense and patience is a very key ingredient when navigating in any conditions.

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    Yes it was a bit bangy on the way out because we were heading into the waves but never once did I feel unsafe. I value yours and anyones' opinions but the way you bring on a public attack like you do is not about our safety at all, but rather to make yourself look impressive to all the other Ausfish folk out there by taking the opportunity to publicly bag people. Yet another reason why so many people are becoming apprehensive to post up reports these days. Call me a total idiot if you want to but you could have done it in a "private" message but that just isn't your style now is it finga?

Mate I would really have a think about that statement a bit if I was you.
    And also really read all the descriptions of the conditions from the people that were there. ie Yourself, Brian and T1.

How often have I talked to you in a private conversation about things and my concerns about the abilities of the tinny??
    How often have I helped you as a favour and asked for absolutely no monitory renumeration even if it's cost me money and days of labor?? (that's a bit more of big noting myself)
    So why would I on one hand go way out of my way to help you and on the other hand bag you??
    How many people have I bagged on this site??
    If I wanted to publicly bag you Poo then I could have done a lot worse or better pending which end your looking at...but apparently that's my style so maybe I should.
    IMO bagging people does not make you look impressive...makes you look like a goose.
    Last edited by finga; 13-08-2007 at 10:53 AM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Ooohhh!! Stirred up a wasp nest by reporting what conditions were like.

1st clarification is that while my boat is extreemly stable for a 15ft boat, ask anyone who has owned a Mustang of this model, and they will tell you, it's a rough ride because the hull is not deep V, it's a runabout... which explains my description of how she handles some of the chop, I just have to slow down a bit - but not unsafe. Poos' boat, while a smaller vessel, rides remarkable well in such conditions, and seated at the tiller, seemed quite comfortable by comparison. On the way home, he even pulled out and overtook me But before the prop decided to throw it in ...LOL

One comment I would add is that Poodroo has been my deckie for years, and we've experienced all types of weather, and although this is his 1st boat, I trust his judgement on conditions, so when he said He was fine, he really did mean that all was OK. I would think he knows the bay pretty well Finga, but my comments on conditions would seem exaggerated - that's because my hull bangs worse than most - but it is still safe and tracks very reliably.

Sorry to expose you to attack Poodroo, but your knowledge of the bay are being a little underestimated in this instance. And as you said, the only reason you tagged along was because you had support.

Now Finga, ask Frankoo how many tinnies he sees out at Caloundra 6 and 12 mile on similar weather predictions - no support, no lights, no idea!! There is a difference. Stay happy!!

I am a bit worried that not many fish were caught

If one wants to venture out in rough weather with small vessel that is ones choice. Every person has a different opinion on what is safe and what is not the only positive I see is that there were three boats venturing out.

I know of people who have died in absolute calm weather in the bay, things can happen to you at any time, but it is best to minimise the risk of losing your life for a fish.
    Last edited by Tinn; 13-08-2007 at 02:30 PM.
    It's all part of the fishing experience

Quote Originally Posted by Tinn View Post
    I am a bit worried that not many fish were caught

If one wants to venture out in rough weather with small vessel that is ones choice. Every person has a different opinion on what is safe and what is not the only positive I see is that there were three boats venturing out.

I know of people who have died in absolute calm weather in the bay, things can happen to you at any time, but it is best to minimise the risk of losing your life for a fish.
    The other drivers on the road on my way to the boat ramp were endangering more than the waves around Mud. I run just as much risk if not moreso driving my car to go fishing than I do on the water.

If a skipper decides and has confidence in his boat and his own ability, dont you think its up to him and him alone to decide, wether he's putting his own life at risk and not a VMR call waiting to happen.
    yes the bay can be a horror at times, but sensible a speed and the way you attack the conditions goes along way in deciding how far and how fast you travel.

I go solo to mud on a regular basis in my 12 foot tinny. Even though I live at Wynnum, I launch from the brisbane river as if it does blow up, if's a downwind run home. I make the final call weather to go or not when I get to the river wall.
    If it does blow up an offshore wind, it wont kill you to spend the day, or even the night on the beach of the island will it? A handheld VHF/27 is your best friend if you are really worried, take it with you if you have to abandon ship.

I personally wouldnt have gone sat morning, but my boat has a lot narrower and has less freeboard than the one in question. I went out there Sunday no worries.

double post
    Last edited by Hamish73; 13-08-2007 at 06:18 PM. Reason: double post

Well done guys Brad congrats on a PB, Its bigger than mine (54)

I am sure that Finga is only trying to look at for you Andrew after all even I have raised the issue of safety in your little #2

The only question in my mind was where was the GW & Herm invite I hope it was just that we were committed to a fish with longtail & pinnhead at Caloundra I hope.

T1 I think I need my lucky charm to beat Brads PB
    Peter :cool:

Quote Originally Posted by Great White View Post

I am sure that Finga is only trying to look at for you Andrew after all even I have raised the issue of safety in your little #2

The only question in my mind was where was the GW & Herm invite I hope it was just that we were committed to a fish with longtail & pinnhead at Caloundra I hope.

Good to see you are still alive GW, you've been a little quiet, but always welcome to drop in either a call or post. What is this about an invite anyhow, we didn't hear about any proposed trip up to Caloundra, how long was this planned for may I ask?? T's lucky charm is you fishing at night too mate, I might just have to head you off and gate crash a trip or 2

Didn't you see the Caloundra M&G thread???

It was up for at least a couple of months!

Janine

Quote Originally Posted by Great White View Post

Great_Who? Gee Peter I thought you'd been dumped overboard on a recent fishing trip. Where the hell have you been? Still good to know you are still about. You need to get On Strike out a bit more and then I might not have to take any flack about taking #2 out in such perilous conditions.(Assuming I still qualify as a deckie) Drop us a line sometime.

Quote Originally Posted by Hamish73 View Post
    I Even though I live at Wynnum, I launch from the brisbane river as if it does blow up, if's a downwind run home. I

That is an interesting perspective. I hold the opposite view. That is such a big expanse of water from Mud to the river that I have often found to be quite a handful in any sort of a blow.

I always prefer to go from Manly even though it is a longer trip because of the respite that is afforded by traveling in the lee of St Helena and Green.