Thread: Broadwater (Seaworld) Thursday arvo

Smile Broadwater (Seaworld) Thursday arvo

G'day!

Another late report but may be helpful.

I and my Melbourne mate fished from my tinnie Thursday afternoon until about 8pm. We were in the Broadwater west of the channel near Sea World. Incoming tide.

Most successful bait was yabbies. Beef heart and Mulet flesh got a few. In all we caught 26 keepers (all bream except 1 luderick) most of which were 30 to 36cm.

Another boat came just on sunset and I saw them land quite a few.

The professional plastic flickers had a comp on and while we saw plenty of them during the afternoon we never saw them land a thing.

RayDeR

Re: Broadwater (Seaworld) Thursday arvo

Ray mate... Good on ya for reeling in the bream while the placcie flicker's lost out.
    I also like to bait up and haul breamies',, tried this soft plastic thing but dont really like it too much, I rekon the old saying is true,,,"if the fish aint there you cant catch em" no matter what you use. I'll be honest and say my fishing has been quiet the last 2 time's ive been out (land based) but I like to fish real early in the morning and catch the sun up fish!!!! will be trying this arvie thing soon but have to time it with a family picnic or bbq down the goldie!!
    Hey ray....man!!!!!.... how the heck did you reel in a luderick,, I thought they liked that weed stuff and didnt take flesh bait's... I seen shcools of them around the sand pumping jetty pylon's on friday morning and most were about 1-2 foot long... bloke's were trying to catch em with all sort's of bait but they got nothing,,,,I even had a shot and managed to place some yummy bonito chunks right in front of thier nose but na na na the fish said and swam straight past!! bloody ludericks....pahhhh!!! (must get some of this green or black weed i think it is)

Bretty
    Last edited by Blaster Bretty; 11-08-2007 at 08:35 PM.

26 keepers will keep you well fed for a while, nice work.

In regards to catching luderick when fishing with bait, same thing happened to me a while back. was a bit of weed around and i figure some got caught on my bait on the retrieve it smashed me.

Fought like hell on my light bream gear.

I think they mainly use a green weed, i seem to recall it being called cunji or something.

Wasn't much good on the tooth though.

G'day!

The Luderick was taken on a small yabby on a #2 baitholder.

On a holiday at Greenwell Point (near Nowra NSW) at the caravan park I caught about 40 over about 3 days using small yabbies (nippers down there) which I pumped virtually at my feet.

They are usually taken on green weed which is almost like think hair or cotton collected around salt water drains and rocks. Usually a small hook is used. Also very light gear. The luderick (or blackfish/balckie) fisherman is a specialist on light gear and often long light rods and long handled landing nets to lift the fish over the rocks.

Cunji or cunjevoi is not another name for weed but a creatrure cut from its home in the rocks which are in the wave break zone. It has a squirting action which you will observe after the wave recedes. It is sometimes called sea squirt. It looks something like liver. Cunji is excellentbait when fishing off rocks into the ocean.

Ray
    RayDeR

luderick are often caught on nippers/yabbies.......you can get weed from nimbin.

Good on ya ray thanks for that on the luderick scene.... will try hunt down some of this weed stuff but not the gear from nimbin (ha ha ha ) I think thats "happy weed your talking about sean!! but thanks all the same,,,, Is luderick another name for the black bream / blackie's etc... I think ive even heard them called (forgive me im not racist) nigger's!!! is this true???
    Any how Im gonna give the beachfront a shot on wednesday night just along from the sand pumping jetty towards surfer's ,if narrowneck is too crowded that is.

bretty

G'day Bretty!

Yes, black bream/ blackies and niggers are alternative names.

Best of luck on the Spit beach.

RayDeR.

Quote Originally Posted by RayDeR View Post
    G'day Bretty!

Yes, black bream/ blackies and niggers are alternative names.

Best of luck on the Spit beach.

RayDeR.
    Dammm!!! bad new's!!! Been landed with the ruggies while the mrs takes the outlaw's to the airport ,, there goe's my shot for a feed of tailor tonight, in hindsight it may have been a bad idea anyway as low tide was around 5 pm so by 5.30 onwards I would of been battling the tide as well as the element's, "sheesh" I spent about an hour rigging up some ganged hooks on some clip on leader's and was feeling extra lucky,,, oh well Im gonna get down there tomorrow for sure.... been a bit of rain about the place today, got hope's it may dirty the water up a wee bit and help us all out..

Bretty