hobbies other than fishing - Page 3
Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910 LastLast

Thread: hobbies other than fishing

Re: hobbies other than fishing

Before i got into fishing i raced pocket bikes and spent thousands of dollars on race engines,race pipes,european race tyres etc...It was good fun but i decided to give it away after a while cos i hated working on the bikes all the time,There was also the old cordia turbo i owned which i put thousands and thousands and thousands of dollars into and transformed it into a show car,It was featured in hot 4's and qld street car magazine,It certainly turned heads.Now i just love my fishing and i doubt ill take up any other hobbies.

cheers tim

Another shot of 51IME

Woodworking for me....started off with a triton....its long gone...now have big table saw, router table, bandsaw, disc sander,planer, joiner, big lathe, so on so on...ive made most of the furniture in teh house, done the whole kitchen in solid timber.......cop a bit of flack over the lathe but...cost me $3600...so far ive made 2 bowls and a plate....
    ..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Also found the before and after pictures of the Landy my dad and I did up for the beach

Finga, I am sure impressed with the Monaro etc. Those are great achievements. But I am not half as impressed by them as I am by this effort....

Wow!

Last edited by charleville; 09-08-2007 at 12:05 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by TIM D View Post
    It was good fun but i decided to give it away after a while cos i hated working on the bikes all the time,

A familiar story.

Nice machines, though.

As you can see by my avatar I surf. Used to make boards for a living but no longer, still enjoy making them for myself. My wife's a keen gardener, so I help her with that. Begrudginly I tell her, but I actually don't mind. Like golf, made a little golf hole on my property, complete with water hazard and bunker. Can take a shot at the green from 100-150m. Enjoy renovating the house, onto my 2nd one now.

Umm well having a 6 year old son takes up a heap of my time, but in between that, home renovations, home brewing, fixing up old stuff, but not in Scotty's (Finga) league. I also have been doing Taekwon Do for almost 5 years, it keeps the weight down from all that Home brew
    Camping and 4wd-ing, and buzzing around on my Honda CB
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

When I'm not fishing,

I'm either working, preparing and or researching for the next trip or cleaning up after the last trip.

All you bad motorcylce men should just stop putting bad ideas in my head.
    I hung up my helmet 13 years ago, when my Missus was about 15 months pregnant. This chick left the Right-hand most toll booth on the gateway heading south and decided she wanted the Lytton Rd exit. I was coming out of the Left-hand booth on my brothers old chook chaser, the brake lights never blinked, her head never turned to look. She missed my front wheel by about three inches, and I was so far up over the forks it must have looked like I was trying to do a hand stand. If I'd been doing 5 clicks more I would have been smeared for sure.

I'd almost convinced myself that it was just a juvenile stage that I grew out of and blah blah blah.
    These days every time I hear a Norton or BSA rumble past some deep part of me wants & wants bad.
    And You buggers aint helping.

Quote Originally Posted by Nowhere Bob View Post
    All you bad motorcylce men should just stop putting bad ideas in my head.

These days every time I hear a Norton or BSA rumble past some deep part of me wants & wants bad.
    And You buggers aint helping.
    i know what your saying mate, I sold my bikes about 2 years ago, A mate popped around the other day to show me his new GSXR600, I had to go for a ride on it but I didnt want to get off so I'm still fighting the temptations to go buy one..
    ________
    Ferrari Tipo 500 History

Shayned, mate havent used the net really for gathering music, I know that if I have a look at ebay, that will be the end of me financially!! I always prefer a hands on approach to record collecting, for years I spent afternoons after work going through the second hand vinyl stores in the city on my way home, box after box after box after box... The smell of old records is great! Until I'd seen all the stock they had, then I used to hang out for the days when they got new shipments in.

Then there are the cd's...

Oh yeah, I used to ride a skateboard for about 6 years after high school until I needed knee surgery, not to mention the fractured thumbs twisted ankles and missing skin over bony protuberances.

simon

Only just finding time to go back to old pursuits after recently giving up fostering. My life has more or less revolved around kids for the last 35 yrs or so............5 boys of my own, instructing cadets, Duke of Edinburghs Award, Adventure training etc. but throughout that time I always indulged in a bit of photography as well as fishing

My life is winding down a bit now and I am returning to my love of photography and music. Unfortunately, the vast majority of my portfolio was attacked by fungus and what few pictures/negs I have left are diminished by my feeble attempts at restoration. I must really make an effort to learn photoshop properly as at the moment I am like a kid with a new playstation game...............I bugger about without first reading the manual Yes, I would really like to create stuff in photoshop instead of simply using it to correct colour, contrast etc. <promise to self to learn it properly>

My favourite pic (or 2) of the moment are ones I took of Jake when he was a bub...........too bad he's a teenager now

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

when im not fishing im at the mx track with my boy.he is mad for bikes .thats why ive only got a tinny as thoe mx bikes cost a lot of money especally thoes ktms.but i would not have it any other way as i love watching him race mx.

Some more pictures of that 2 door Monaro and the next 'project' the mate has lined up for me.
    This one is an SS Monaro and we actually had to put it together a bit to get it on the truck. Not too bad for something that was 'supposed' to be going
    Then there's a purple GTS 4 door to get done ####finga's post#####
    Hey Finga, Love the Monaro. The cousin has just done one up like yours, and He fitted 19 inch mags on it!!!!!Really sets it off mate!!
    Cheers ttone

Many and varied hobbies and pastimes, had to cut back on a couple but just got another dirt bike just to ride to work...well that's part of the reason I told the girlfriend...already brought the motard wheels and tyres to save the knobbys for the dirt. Don't think the body or my girlfriend will let me race again (enduro, pony express) but I'll still get out in the bush
    I play touch twice a week, do a bit of gardening (bromeliads mainly), currently renovating the house, waterski in the summer, camping (usually with the waterskiing)....

When you think about it, I don't know how I find time to work..