-
Fraser Trip 28/07 to 04/08
G'day all.
Had our annual trip to Fraser last week. A sensational time had by all in the crew, many fish caught, stories told, beers consumed and sheep stations won and lost in the nightly card games. Headed up saturday morning on the low tide with a great run through to Indian Head, then spent 3 hours at Indian getting the trailers through. The track was super soft and chewed to bits by w*#kers with hard tyres and soft heads. A big thumbs up to a bloke named Chris (I think) and his mates in a cruiser ute - he must have snatched 10 or 15 vehicles out in the time we were there. Track from Champagne Pools to Orchid Beach also in terrible condition - worst I've seen in 10 or 12 years.
Anyway, the fishing was quiet from Waddy through to Ngkala Rocks, managed just a few good size dart and lots of small flathead over the first few days. Had heard there were plenty of tailor south of dundaburra so ventured that way on thursday morning. Report was spot on - we had 11 blokes in our crew and bagged out in 2 sessions, thursday and friday morning. They were biting on pillies, cut baits, spinners, placcies (only tried one 'cause it got mangled), even on bare hooks when retrieved fast enough. Plenty of sharks working the gutters there too, spotted the odd brown stain in water when blokes waded out too far only to see a big fin in the gutter behing them!! Ran into a couple of blokes at orchid who'd been chasing Cobia on the reef out from Ngkala Rocks, biggest they landed was 35kg and couldn't stop most of the others!!
Anyway, we've stocked our families up with some nice tailor fillets and had a couple of good meals of tailor and dart while we were there, had sensational weather and a bluddy great time! I haven't got the pics from mates camera yet but will try to add some later in the week.
Dartman
-
Re: Fraser Trip 28/07 to 04/08
great trip mate i will be heading there in november after some tailor can't wait
-
Sounds like you had a great trip mate, My father in law and a group of 12 are heading up this weekend for a week, It's a annual trip that I seem to miss out on every year due to work/family commitments. Oh well as I say every year there's aleays next year....
________
MEXICOCITY HOTEL
-
Good report Dartman,
Up there this Saturday for our annual trip and based on your report will probably stay south of Indian Head - for both fishing and comfort...
Ollie
-
Ausfish New Member
Sounds like a great time. i was there 3 weeks ago and cant wait for my next trip in october
kingdog
-
Good report Dartman.
The tailor are running hot up there by the sounds, had a mate up there 2 weeks ago & he got in amongst 'em as well.
Too many soft heads on the beach, always has been, always will be. There's something about being on a beach in a 4WD that brings out the bogan in some.
Anyways.
-
Go the cruisers!! sounds like a good trip and good fishing! Will have to pull the finger out and get up there again when i get the chance..
Donnan