Thread: Best places to fish near Redcliffe.

Red face Best places to fish near Redcliffe.

HI all, just new to this site and to fishing in general in the "Great South East." My father is coming up from Sydney ( Please don't hold it against me!!!) in the next week and I am wanting to take him out fishing. Have had my tinny for about 4 weeks now and have tried a few areas around Reddy with little if any success. I am chasing anything that bites but as i get to know the bay I will become a little more specialized. I know most have their "VERY SPECIAL" site but i am just chasing a few areas to make it fun for my dad so any suggestion????
    Last edited by monty1; 06-08-2007 at 07:07 PM.

Re: Best places to fish near Redcliffe.

Monty, Scarborough Reef fishes fairly consistently for bream at the moment. There have also been good catches of squire lately unfortunately not by me. Hour before dark or just on sunrise seems to be the peak period. The Pine River and Hayes Inlet also fish reasonably well for flathead, whiting and bream. Most of the reefs out the front of Redcliffe area will produce if you are persistent.
    Darryl

dont know...
    Last edited by loophole; 06-08-2007 at 07:53 PM.

Gday mate, Hayes is near a cert for a lizard or two at the moment.

Brian

Hey Monty,

Unfortunately with the water being so clear lately it is making it a lot more difficult to score good catches of anything, however if you stick to rivers and thier mouths with some colour to the water you will find fishing to be a lot easier.

Bribie Passage, Caboolture River, Hayes Inlet, Pine River and Cabbage Tree Creek would be my choices of places with enough colour to let the fish behave normally.
    Unless you wish to try predawn fishing then scarby reef and all the rocky areas down to Woody Point for some squire and bream. The squire shut down as soon as the sun shines into the water. Bream will still be feeding for a further hour or so after that. You may get the odd squire after this time but you will work for them a lot more.

Hi Monty1,

Had a session on the inshore patches of reef off Shields St at Scarborough the other day. We got onto a few little squire (biggest in the mid 40's) and as the sun rose, moved over to the main part of scraborough reef to chase some bream. As was mentioned earlier, just on dawn was successful for the squire and there were plenty of bream biting for a few hours. Check your UBD (or google maps) for Shields St and have a crack. A tinny will be fine (we were out there in a canoe without any problems). We caught everything on sp's.

Attachment 10760
    Attachment 10761
    Attachment 10762

how big a tinny u got? They say scarb reef is producing but stuffed if i ever do any good there. From all reports i think i would be taking drive to whyte isl ramp and fish the brissie river. Thats where iam going on sat. Snapper and bream so the reports say on here.
    Mate of mine has been catching some nice tailor over at mud. weekend looks good weather wise. slip over to sandhills for nice feed of whiting. i didnt couple weeks ag.

greg

The trick with fishing at Redcliffe is to be very, very quiet. The fish in this area are hit hard and the first clang of an anchor chain on the side of a tinny will put fish off in a big hurry. Try and fish midweek if you get the chance and try to steer away from other boats, if someone pulls up close and bashes around with an anchor pack up and move away. There is lots of rubble reef all the way along the front of Reddy from Scarborough reef right through to Woody point. If you can pick it out on your sounder you will do well on the squire, cod,sweetlip, morwong, bream, flathead, tailor, the occasional jew and plenty of whiting in between rocky patches.

The other thing that will help you land a feed is to use good quality well presented fresh or live baits. Take a look at Scarby reef from the headland on a calm Sunday morning and you will see about 40 boats tossing about all sorts of frozen goodies.

Good Luck

Kev

as just chips said be quite .bearly is a must if bait fishing try and get out a hour before sun rise berly constant trail is the go and FLOAT your baits .do very well down scotts point end .went out the other day scored some nice talior and a few squire.mate went diveing of red cliffe on the weekend said the water is stil clear seen lots of braem and some huge flathead.