Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: bar crossings

Thumbs up bar crossings

tell us about youre hairy trips across bars and what you have learnt from trips thanks maybe we can all learn something

Re: bar crossings

Quote Originally Posted by rubba View Post
    tell us about youre hairy trips across bars and what you have learnt from trips thanks maybe we can all learn something

Hey dale have you been out through that bar since bill's BC course
    "light gear big fish big fun"

I have never really had any scarry crossings, but i did read somewere that anchors jumping out of anchor wells and catching propellors was common for first timers.

I went to Fraser Island about 3 weeks ago,

On the 3rd day I was heading out through the gutter when we needed to cross on the incoming waves, I crossed the first, only about a 1m swell on an angle and had up a bit of speed due to not alot of depth in that area, as I came over the back of the wave on an angle to soften the dip, My engine stalled side on to the next wave coming at me.
    First time it has ever stalled on me and I think the leg touched the sand which may have contributed to it stalling, and being cold however it has never stalled before.
    All of a sudden we had some dirty undies and my mate is yelling at me go!, I'm saying I'm starting it!!
    I had to trim down at the same time as I was starting it as i was trimmed up a fair height due to being very shallow at the time.

One small swell came through us side on, I think if it was much bigger she would have turned over, it broke not far past where we were, maybe a couple of meters, - she fired and I smacked that girl on the Ass something shocking and had us back on the plane where she belongs and got over the next wave to some safe ground. Phew!! (We didn't even get wet in the Cruise Craft with high sides they have) legs were shaky at that however I kept my cool, had picked the smaller swell's to tackle and that is what safe boating is all about,
    We went and got a feed had a good day and dealt with the 3.5m swell offshore b4 returning home nice and safe as we all like to do.

Cheers Ryan.
    Last edited by Reel Magic; 06-08-2007 at 04:42 PM.

Strewth Ryan, did you chuck your undies over the side once you got out to smooth waters ?
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

I think it was lucky I kept my cool,
    I would suggest many would panic, next thing you know engine is flooded, then it is all over, hard to keep your head under these circumstances but you need to.

I was just glad I hadn't done anything really stupid to put us in that predicament and then roll her over, that would have really sucked.

Cheers Ryan.

P.S. Would love for some guys to be brutally honest who have rolled them over on a bar so we can learn from their experiences also, I know there would be some here.

yes mate went out through jumpinpin last week end on sat at the top of the tide allwent well and plotted gps marks out mate how have you been outside of south pasage been catching any farside

great story reel magic just shows what can happen and lucky you had a cool head mate

Has anyone come close to hitting the Rufus King when crossing the South Passage Bar?
    Last edited by seastorm; 06-08-2007 at 11:55 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by seastorm View Post
    Has anyone come close to hitting the Scottish Prince when crossing the South Passage Bar?

Not even close!!! But as the scothish prince is basically east off sea world it probably the Rufus king your refering to

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

sea storm you are talking about the rufus king and who goes out that way.there are 3 ways 2 cross that bar.

I was coming back into Eurimbula Creek near 1770 right on sunset one night after chasing macks and tuna all arvo. The tide was going out at around 8-10 knots and i was heading into it. No problem, its a fairly easy bar to cross wihtout any big rollers or anything so i sat on the back of a wave in my 4.1m veepunt and was coasting in nicely........until my motor snagged on a submerged tree heading outand i was being dragged out tail first into half metre whitewash coming over the stern. The gearbox caught in the fork of the main branch and i could not lift the outboard to get the tree off the leg.
    Ended up we grounded out pretty hard and had a tinny over half full of water and a dropping tide.
    I jumped out and so did the mate and we manhandled the tree caught in the sand in the dark till the motor came free...took about ten mins and a lot of washing around in the whitewash. The boat was barely floating so I pulled the bungs and started the motor again and jumped aboard as matey sat right on the point of the bow and i gave it enuff revs to move forward and we eventually caught the wash on our tail and helped push us accross the bar and into the channel inside. I kept it driving forward doing large loops for about 20 mins and had the bilge working trying to get water out. As soon as I could get it to plane i beached the boat straight up as far as it would go then dragged it another foot before setting the anchor in the sand.

Was a rather scary half an hour before we got the boat into the channel and to safety. Sometimes the dangers are not the sands or the waves and I don't know how you could prevent something like this happening again if you cant see it.

Hey Jack, thats a great story that shows when you need to do something to survive, you just do it.
    I think you must have kept a level head amongst the panic and its fantastic you had a great outcome.

For my experience- it was the centre channel on the south passage bar. I followed the marks outwards to the dogleg and turned for the final mark. It just seemed stupid to be heading for white water when the better water was 25-30 degrees more north but I figured it was a depth issue. I travelled more slowly as it was a pretty good weather day and decided not to listen to the GPS Mark but to listen to my head. Glad I did as it proved the flat water was deeper and the heading would have taken me towards the shallow bar to the south.
    I don't mind saying that the distance between the correct line and the gps mark would have been 80 metres.

Quote Originally Posted by rubba View Post
    yes mate went out through jumpinpin last week end on sat at the top of the tide allwent well and plotted gps marks out mate how have you been outside of south pasage been catching any farside
    Yes mate but I dont post them too much flack when you catch a few fish. Have been watching the weather this week its purfect

The boat is in getting clears fitted and off to trimax for an autopilot should be in the water on saturday

I don't mind saying that the distance between the correct line and the gps mark would have been 80 metres.

Chris[/quote]

Your right about this channel its changed we went through it about a week ago and some big ones lept up in front followed a more northerly track where there was no lift . You need to make that split second decision follow the marks or read the water. it is definately deeper on a more northerly track and safer