Bay snappers sun 5th

Thread: Bay snappers sun 5th

Bay snappers sun 5th

Had trouble finding a deckie for a placcie session in the bay so it was a bit of a late start this morning. In the end I convinced my cousin to come out and we put in at manly at 11:30am. Decided it was best to try some deeper water so we headed out towards moreton up curtain way. After a few drift the fish slowly started coming aboard, unfortunately though nothing of size. Then after a few more drifts we finally hooked something decent and the first snapper at 58cm came aboard. After a few more drifts both my rods buckle over at the same time. I quickly pick up both and hand what i though was the smaller fish to my cousin. How wrong I was I quickly boat my 38cm model and not too long after he pulls up a 62cm model . I then took a closer look at my fish and noticed it had a big hook in its jaw which had obviously been there for a while and was nearly rusted away.(see pic) The way it hammered the plastic it didn't seem to cause it too much harm or stop it from feeding in anyway. A few more drifts and we put another 2 legals and a cod into the esky. We call it a day an head home, stopping briefly at mud for a few quick drift for zero result. Total for the day 5 snaps and 1 cod.

Cheers Chris

Attachment 10678

Attachment 10679

Ausfish Platinum Member Aquarius's Avatar

Re: Bay snappers sun 5th

Well done Chris, You have that area sussed out.
    We could hardly raise a scale today but i guess you have to be in right place when they come on the chew.
    I see you have been having some success with the zoom baby bass.
    What size jigheads were you using?
    We used 1/8th to a 1/2oz in water 20 metres.
    That water really hammers in the Tangalooma shipping channel.
    Cheers Brent

Your right the water can really move through that area though I think its better fishing when the water is moving. I have been using 3/8 tt jig heads with the 3/0 hook. I have also been finding bigger placcies seem to be getting the fish. I wouldn't use anything under 5 inch preferring 6 or 7 inch jerk baits.

Cheers Chris

Nice work Chris. Those bigger plackys seem to be matching the hatch better than the normal 3-4"ones.
    Brent, the current over there really runs and I noticed last time out with Chris that his 4lb & 8lb braid sank better than the 8lb and 10lb Fireline I was using.

Good stuff Chris. Nice report. Amazing that we don't catch more fish with rusting hooks and jigheads hanging out of their mouth. There are quite a few of mine down there. Well done on a successful outing and during gentleman's hours as well.

Another nice feed there Chris! Great rewards for the effort!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Top mixed bag mate, Might have to start useing a few larger size plastics

Cheers for the report chris, at least you got something to take home yesterday, unlike my brother and I! Thanks for the little tidbit on the bigger placcys, will have to try that next time, seeing as I've already tried evrything else in the tackle box .

Simon

Ausfish Platinum Member plaztix's Avatar

Nice work. Quality fish for an 11.30am start, cheeky bugger got a sleep in and boated some stonker fish as well.

You've obviously got the right idea with the deep water. Water seems to clear to be fishing the shallower areas during the day at the moment.

Haven't been keen to head to far into the bay lately with the lack of regular good reports and the westerlies making the ride home a wet / cold one. Looks like it paid off for you but, hugh.

mate love the gentelmens hrs and love the 7 inchies.

Hows it going Chris
    Sorry I had to bail on you on Sunday the missus was pretty crook
    I'm a bit pissed to tell you the truth because i caught what she had.

Good to see you got you got amongst it and had a successful day

On the bright side I managed to get away from the whinging long enough to put the new sounder in.

Russ

Nice to hear of some fish from the other side of the bay...
    ..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec

Hi bayfisher, nice bag!

I'm heading over that way this weekend and was wondering what rig your using?
    Rod, reel, breaking strains, leader length etc etc.

I used to fish 6lb at curtain till I got smoked!

Thanks, Tetsuo

I have two fairly light outfits i use. One with a 2500 and one with a 3000 size reel both on light 7ft rods. I run 4lb and 8ld braid on these outfits. Leader is 2.5 to 3 meters 12lb yamatoyo fluoro carbon (this is pretty tuff stuff for 12lb and having 3m of this helps against rub offs). I know this is really light and sometimes you do get smoked but i figure if i was using heavier gear i wouldnt hook the fish to begin with. I think the thin braid also helps get the jig heads (usually 3/8oz with 3/o hook) down to the fish quicker. Funnily enough though the 4lb outfit catches more fish then the 8lb outfit.

Cheers Chris

I'm using 12lb leader as well. Im gunna test out some 16lb sunline castaway, fairly heavy but its only PE1. Definatley get more hits on the light rig but i'll see how it goes.