View Poll Results: Would you support a fishing tax of 1 or 2%?

Voters
78. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

23 29.49%
  • No

55 70.51%
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Would you support a fishing tax?

Re: Would you support a fishing tax?

I would gladly pay it mif it actually went into my sport but for instance lets take a look at our bout and trailer rego, this is supposed to go into providing adequate boat ramps and parking areas for boaties, ok so lets take the jumpinpin region for example, what extra ramp or parking or fish cleaning facillities have been added in the last 20 years?, none!!, and just how many more tax paying boaties is there now compared to 1987?, so it might be a good idea to get them to start putting some of those tax dollars meant for facillities back into boating and not into the govt coffers.

Smile Re: Would you support a fishing tax?

I would support it but I do not trust the government
    Look at the medicare extra levy for the gun buy back and East Timor
    they have never revoked the half percent increase

Tackle Rat

Re: Would you support a fishing tax?

G'day!

There is no way I would support one.

I think we should put pressure on the government - Local, State and National - to provide better facilities for RECREATIONAL fishermen.

We already contribute through GST on everything from bait to boat. Pay $30,000 for a boat and the Governement gets $3,000 plus registration, etc. What do we get for this? And then there is the ongoing costs which are also taxed.

Don't overlook the fact that this is a huge industry (employing how many?) already supported by RECREATIONAL fishermen.

I intentionally put RECREATIONAL in caps to emphasise that this is spending by choice not necessity.

We cannot leave it only to our Associations and specialist fishing parties, etc., to do all the work in contacting all the pollies. Wwe ned to do our part.

When the pollies turn up at our shopping centre, our school fete, or out up their signs in our street, we should have a brief and courtesious word in their ear. Or we can write to them and give them a phone call or send an email to remind them that "We are voters who fish RECREATIONALLY and we want facilities".

Don't forget that when they are on radio talkback we can "get to them" then, too.

Don't leave it to the guy in the next boat to do it for us.

RayDeR
    Last edited by RayDeR; 14-08-2007 at 01:25 PM. Reason: awful spelling errors