Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Roller Issues

Roller Issues

Hello all, for those of you who know me and followed the progress of my tinny project not too long ago will know that I invested in a brand new Dunbier trailer to get things mobile again however from day 1 there was a problem with the rollers on the trailer. Firstly I felt they didn't roll too freely but secondly it seems that tinnies have a reasonably sharp edge under the keel which cuts into the rubber rollers rendering them useless in no time. The first roller after a few uses is totally cactus and needs replacing already. Has anyone else had this sort of problem? If the rollers on the trailer were unsuitable in the first place then I have to wonder why they were put on there in the first place. Seems silly to put a soft roller on a trailer designed purely for tinnies. I just thought I would seek some advice on here and see what I can learn prior to replacing the rollers. I don't want to make any mistakes by purchasing the wrong types again. Any advice is appreciated.

Re: Roller Issues

Hi poodroo, you can replace them with alloy rollers
    gets me bugged as to why they fit them up with the soft rollers

Seems to me that many trailer makers are still placing wobble rollers and keel rollers on galvanised pins. This is pretty much basic commom sense in not what to do.

Stu

Poodroo,
    What colour are the existing rollers?
    David

Get the ali ones and they're available at Active Fab. in Logan River Rd.
    I thought you would have learnt by now...dealers only want ya buck...not your gratitude.
    Mind you if your tiny tinny chomps a set of rollers this soon there may be a problem with the setting up.
    How much weight is on them??
    If there are edges that sharp under the tinny I'd be under there with something and knock the edges off for the next set of rollers.
    I have rubber rollers under mine and they're from last century and my tiny tinny has more crap in it so I'd be looking for the nasties I reckon.
    How are you holding the tinny down when your traveling??
    Can the tinny be pushed sideways when she's all tied down??
    Last edited by finga; 05-08-2007 at 04:57 PM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Hi dnej, the current rollers on the trailer are black (what's left of them).
    G'day Scott, most of the weight is sitting on the side runners. I have the first roller down as far as it will go. I might have to do as suggested and go aluminium rollers. I didn't think I should set the side runners up any higher because it is already like dropping the tinny of a cliff when launching. They should have angled the last bar where the first roller is so that it would be less height to drop the boat in from I think. Thanks all for the help.

Black rollers for tinnes are crap.

Get a set of the blue ones, they're for tinnies.

The only black roller I have is the one at the top of the winch post.

Have to agree with LUC,you need to get the blue ones, for an aluminium boat.
    You will have better results with them,thats for sure.
    David

Thanks Luc and dnej. Sounds like the go. It annoys me that a manufacturer can get away with selling a trailer specifically made for a tinny and then put totally unsuitable rollers on it. If they'd have been honest with me from the start I'd have spent the extra to have them changed over before putting the boat on it. We live and learn.

what length are your side runners??

If they are quite short the alloy may be flexing and letting the keel chomp at the rollers as you are travelling. Some tinnies are quite flexible where most running boards are mounted.

I had this same problem and saw a trailer up north that travels the worst of roads every day. Its running boards were 7 feet long each and on top of the running board was black poly pipe screwed down to the timber runners thru the bottom side of the pipe only. I asked the guy how his traler was with these running board and he said perfect.
    I cangled my trailer to this style since and the boat travels well supported and cushioned and my rollers are still unmarked since.

Poodroo,
    Like Luke and Dnej said go the blue ones, a mate came around today and in course of conversation standing around the tinny I mentioned your roller issues being chopped up like salami, he said the blue ones are the go ( had those on his tinny for years) ,

mike

Say Poodroo,
    Have you got a pic of the trailer?
    Did you buy the trailer new?
    Did they know what type of hull the rollers had to support.?

They are centre rollers we are talking about,yes /no
    David

tunaticer that may be a possibility with some but I doubt that it would happen with my tinny because it is a 70's vintage Quintrex which were made out of thicker materials and much more solid than the newer model tinnies. I actually saw it start chopping into the first roller from the word go when I first winched it onto the trailer. After the replies I have had thus far I think I may just ring the dealer where I purchased the trailer from and just have a little whisper in their ears about the rollers they put on the trailer.
    Mike I think the blue ones are going to be the choice. "Chopped up like salami" is a good choice of words. ... lol

Quote Originally Posted by dnej View Post
    Say Poodroo,
    Have you got a pic of the trailer?
    Did you buy the trailer new?
    Did they know what type of hull the rollers had to support.?

They are centre rollers we are talking about,yes /no
    David
    David yes the trailer was brand spanking new, yes I have a picture of it before the boat went on it, and yes I am talking about the centre rollers. When I purchased the trailer I informed the dealer exactly what type of tinny it was for and even took in the measurements to make sure I got the right type of trailer. Here is a photo of the new trailer before the boat went on and one with the boat on it.

Thanks,

Poodroo,
    That is really sad.Both the rollers and the skids should be blue.I know what I would be doing.Its just not right.
    I can understand you not knowing,but not a dealer.
    You should go back to them,and get them replaced.They are not cheap.
    David