beer good company and fish doesent get much better than that.
Headed over to morton isl. last friday with the boys from work on an organised trip away for a weekend of fishing and drinking. Brett and a couple of guys headed over 1st on friday morning to set up camp while me and another couple of guys stayed to keep things flowing at work till we went over at 6pm. got to the camp and the guys had the fire going and the beers were icey cold and ready to drink. Brett and the boys caught 3 bream before we got to the island, so we sat around the fire and started the beers flowing. Woke up next moring and i headed for my first throw out in the surf. Threw out a few slugs without any success,so i changed over to a surecatch lazer slug(50grm) and 2nd cast i got my first hit,3rd cast i was on to a nice fish but dropped him in the breakers, i was spewin but on a high at the same time.
Headed back to camp for a nice breaky and loaded the car for a days trip. Headed over to tailor bite and scored over 100 poddy mullet in the cast nets ready for a big fishing session tonight with livies. On the way back to the camp we spotted a few dolphins close to shore chasing bait fish, so brett tried again with the cast net. While he was doing that i thought i would give the lazer another go,not expexting anything i threw out,1st cast i was on and dropped it again,2nd cast i was on and landed my first tailor on a slug in the surf(bout 40cm),i was pumped, brett and the other boys ran back to the cars to get there rods and rig up with slugs, what happen next was one of the best fishing sessions i have ever had. We had a good 2 hrs of non stop action with at times triple hookups and getting bust offs, we probably lost 3 times more fish than what we caught with nearly every cast resulting in a hookup or someone landing one. 3 of the guys had never caught a fish on slugs before and the look on there faces when they did was bloody awesome,there was yahooing and yipping going on, while we notice down the beach a bit further other guys werent getting a thing apart from small bream.
All up we kept 13 tailor and 2 dart and released many more as we had kept enough and just caught for fun.
Headed back to camp with the adrenaline still pumping and we forgot to change the livies water and they all died,but a couple of the guys headed down at night with them anyway and got 1 thumper bream and a smaller bream and got busted off by some big big fish later in the night.
woke up again a bit seedy and started to pack up camp and go for one last throw before going back home. stopped at the same spot on the beach about 11am,low tide with some nice deep gutters and small swell,cast out and bang back on again,more tailor,it was amazing to see them chasing the lures in the swell.
All up was a top weekend watching whales jumping and catching some nice tailor and drinking heaps of beer around a campfire with your mates. Doesnt get much better i reckon, its now been decide this will become an annual work tour everyyear.
here is a pic of some of the tailor and dart we caught in the hot session.
geoff
If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!
beer good company and fish doesent get much better than that.
Sounds like a good trip Geoff....
mmm....Wonder what those big bust offs on the mullet were.....Jew maybe on the mullet????....
Well done. Always love the "boys only" trips to Moreton. Done more than I can remember. Maybe that's got something to do with the grog.
Hey Geoff
Sounds like you had a ball mate - great stuff!!
Great to hear a report from Moreton - I'm heading over there on Thursday for a week. Got a bunch of good blokes going over for our annual trip and can't wait! Just love those annual trips - really gives you something to look forward to.
Any tips on where we should head to find those tailor?
good stuff mate, sounds like you had a blast over there.Its even better when the fish are biting!
.......Ash
does it get any better, moreton or straddie,
mike
Sounds like fun mate.Good times.Ben