Thread: bream lures

bream lures

i have seen on here that some people use hard body lures for bream. can anyone explain with what types and how would plastics go.

greg

Re: bream lures

G-day Greg. There are plenty of hard bodied lures that work on bream, it just depends on how much money you want to spend. Prices of some bream lures can be up to $25- $30 but most are around $15 - $20. Some of the lures that have worked for me are Eco-gear SX40 and 48's aswell as CK40 and 50's, Smith Camion's and Jades, Jackall Chubbys. My favs would be SX40-48's in colour 307, 303and 302.

As for plastics my favs are Gulp 2in shrimps in natural , molting ,new penny and mango ripple. There are alot of platics that work but i very rarely fish with anything else as these lures always perform for me.

Its all about trial and error If i dont get fish in 15 mins i change colour and this can make all the difference. Get out there and have a go it wont take too long before your amongst a few.

Cheers Whytey

Seahorse ive caught stacks of bream on 3 inch berkley minnows in smelt scales on a no2 tt head in what ever weight suits your location and gear, also culprit swim fin grubs in motor oil does well too.

whytey is on the money mate took the words out of my mouth. thats all u need to know great fun on light gear.

thanks whytey, alleycat.
    Very much appreciated. Just thought would try the other side

greg

whytey
    i took ur advice and bought eco gear lure sx40, gold in colour. Cant wait to give it a go.

greg

whytey,
    mate forgot to ask, what set up do u use with these lures. leader? weight?

greg

RMG scorpions work well for bream, I'd go for the 35mm size. They're a few $ cheaper than ecogears. For plastics; squidgy flick baits, atomic jerk baits, powerbait power minnows to name a few. Paired up with gamakatsu, nitro or TT jigheads usually ranging from 1/8oz with plenty of current to 1/24, 1/32 or weightless if conditions permit. When fishing in very snaggy territory I like to use ausspin weedless 'swinging jigs', I've found they work well.

hope this helps,

Tim.

tim
    thanks heaps mate. iam just wanting to try different things.
    good stuff

greg

G'day Seahorse,

Bream are very choosy critters! You can be on fire one day and get zip on the same plastic or lure the next day.

I fish 2lb fireline crystal, it doesn't air knot too much because it is a bit stiffer. For sinking presentations I use 4lb fluoro leader and for surface work I use quality 4lb mono leader as it floats better( I think its yamatoyo). Some people like to use 2lb flouro all the way through when its clear but I am yet to try it.

Generally I would suggest plastics in winter presented nice and slow. Hardbodies seem to do the trick in summer with surface lures best worked early morning and late arvo into the dark.

In terms of which lures, the above suggestions were all good. To these I would add Smith towadi's and shirasu minnows. TT stick minnows are also good.

Dont be dissapointed if you dont get a bream in your first couple of trips, they will come! Make sure you alter your retrieve, try different weighted heads, cast long and stay quiet.

I'm certainly no expert but I hope this helps