Thread: 60 ltr waeco question!

60 ltr waeco question!

I am probably going to purchase a 60ltr waeco fridge soon and was wondering if anyone has one and how it has performed? Someone told me that you have buy an inverter aswell, Is this true. I was led to beleive that it will run straight off my second deep cycle?
    Any info is great. cheers

Re: 60 ltr waeco question!

Mate I have a 40ltr and I run that from my second battery and all works fine.
    I wouldn't bother with an inverter, it's designed to run from 12v aswell as 240.
    I'm sure someone will correct me if i'm wrong.

THe original waecos needed a transformer to run off 240 power not an inverter. By the catalogue the later ones run directly off 240 with a built in transformer. Have an older model & runs well off 12 volt but freezes at half power thru transformer off 240. Think it is because the one transformer delivers both 12v & 24v. Fridge handles both so trucks don't need a 24v to 12 converter. On 240 thru transformer fridge actually running on 24v so freezes too readily. Cook hates it as freezes everything overnight when we stay in van parks.

Waco has a model called VERA 12v-240 AC built in which comes in lots of sizes yes they have a 60lt VERA cheers

Try this link waco sell its demos and soiled stock hear sometimes you can get a great deal i got one that was used only at a 4x4 show at 30% off retail

www.fridgeshop.com.au/products_start.asp

I've got a 60L waeco. It runs fine off 12v off a car battery, or 240v as well.

when I went to fraser last september it ran all week and kept everything super cold.

Do those things draw much power?

Ta

David

i,ve got a 50l waeco, i've had it for less than two years; its going in for its sixth warantee repair next week. seems i have a lemon.
    cheers.

I looked at the waeco,s and decided to go with eva kool's fridge mate 70L. Runs non stop off my ute battery on economy cycle for work and have not a problem. I've since set it up on a solar system for camping. 125w pannel and 130a/h deep cycle battery. runs very well with the camper also of the same battery. Compresor is exactly the same a danfos 35 and the only down side is that a transformer is required to run from 240. But the upside is that it was cheaper.
    Jason....
    Last edited by danita; 01-09-2007 at 02:54 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Amberjack View Post

Do those things draw much power?

Ta

David
    G'day David, we have just picked up a Waeco 50lt and took it away recently into the kuitpo forest. It ran 72 hours on the Coolpower 36 battery pack we got as part of the deal
    The outside temp was way below that of a summer day obviously at this time of year, but we were happy enough with that. I believe an independent survey carried out by the csiro or similar asked all the fridge manufacturters to send them a couple of products each for testing and the Waeco came out in front overall for power consumption - Also the material the Waeco is made out of does not absord heat, that was enough to push me into a Waeco.

i am also looking at such an animal.
    here are the usages for each unit kindly given to me by the staff at waeco.
    looks like i cant post it as its 105kb not 100
    pm me your email and ill send it to you if you like.

On average over a 24hr period the usage for the 60lt is .8 of an amp on fridge and 2.6 on freezer/hr.

neil

Quote Originally Posted by MickSA View Post
    G'day David, we have just picked up a Waeco 50lt and took it away recently into the kuitpo forest. It ran 72 hours on the Coolpower 36 battery pack we got as part of the deal
    The outside temp was way below that of a summer day obviously at this time of year, but we were happy enough with that. I believe an independent survey carried out by the csiro or similar asked all the fridge manufacturters to send them a couple of products each for testing and the Waeco came out in front overall for power consumption - Also the material the Waeco is made out of does not absord heat, that was enough to push me into a Waeco.
    Thanks Mick. That just about sways me towards one.

CYA

David