Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: 5.2 kevlacat

Re: 5.2 kevlacat

Quote Originally Posted by Dean1 View Post
    G'day dogsbody, nah mate im not a sparky, im a mech. plumber A/C. How'd ya get dogsbody, my initials are dbs and my dads were too. He was called dogsbody by a few mates coz of his initials
    My dad used to call me davo dog in it just moved on to dogsbody from there.

2 nice boats there i be happy with either. Only thing i've got two of is a couple of old holdens a '68' and a '54'. Anyway the cat looks pretty clean mate. Enjoy.

Avast ye matey!

Thanks guys! The 70's are a treat on this boat. They weigh the same as the 60's. Its actually rated to 90hp's, the badge says so. The later model 1's of these have slighty different pods to the older 1's to accept up to 90's. Saurian 112ltr tanks same as older models but will be fine once i bolt on some 4's . Im thinking bout getting full waterline pods bolted on one day to give it more bouyancy, then fitting these new 70 4 stroke yammies that are apparently in the making. She'll b a balltearer then! How's this guys the guy i bought the boat off (boatyard dealer) rang me today and wanted to know if i was was interested in selling it to the other guy that wanted this boat so badly! He said no skin off his nose but if i was interested he would pass my number onto him. Im not keen.. Even if he offered me 60k i wouldnt be in it.. How would i replace it, i know how hard these boats are to find in this condition, i wouldnt have flown to victoria otherwise Ye Ian ive done alot of work to bogey and spent a fair lot of cash on it shes a great rig now, im sure whoever buys her will be happy with her. I'll advertise her on here i think, ill miss her, but cant wait to get in2 this kc . I am concerned about the towing part getting it up here safely, its hard to trust anyone these days

I would go and get it myself! And i dont say this without experience I drove to Adelaide to pick up my old southwind when i brought it 4200km's in 52 hours return, i was having great trouble getting a transsport guy to bring it back. Every monday for 3 weeks i turned up at his ( rob johns marine transport) depot as he said it would be there at 9am each time and every time i got there he had some B/S as to why it was still in Adelaide I drove to adelaide on the third monday afternoon and have never regreted the decision ( save myself $1200.00 after fuel costs)

I know a kc is bigger to tow than a southwind 5.2 but melbourne return is only 3500km's return

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Yeah Ian i have seriously considered doing what your saying, I dont think it will work out any cheaper by the time i add up fuel, days off work no pay and the fact that ill be too exhausted to even go to work the next day. It would be a piece of mind but, a guy is saying $1500 on a backload, he's getting back to me during the week. What to do... Also the boat has sat at a marina in dry storage for last 3 yrs, only gets towed 50 metres to boatramp. Bearings etc could be a bit howsa goin from sitting?? The owner towed in down there from brisbane 3 yrs ago reckons it tows great but the bearings etc. concern me

I would be looking at using trewins or 1 of the other dedicated boat transport companies. There's a few around, seems to plenty of them going through rocky all the time.

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time View Post
    I would go and get it myself!
    I agree. I would definitely not rule out towing it home yourself. I bought my Signature 702L from Newcastle and for the handover met the seller in Glen Innes. I drove from Rocky to Glen Innes. Hooked up the boat and towed it back home. Round trip was about 2,000km all without any dramas.

If you are worried about the wheel bearings, get them replaced before you leave and keep the old ones for spares in case you need them on the side of the road. For the first few hours of the tow stop regularly and check for heat buildup in the tyres and wheels.

I was happy with my tow and the other benefit I didn't even think about until after is now I know how well it tows I wouldn't hesitate hooking it up and towing it up to Cairns!

Hi Dean,
    Nice Rig mate. As you know I picked up my 1999 "Black Marlin" with all the fruit earlier this year for mid $50's so i reckon that you got a great buy. I bloody love my little boat mate and I am sure that you wont be disappointed. I have also got 70's Yammies on her and they go great. I have worked out the fuel economy and I am getting about 1L/kilometer. This is sitting on about 4800rpm @ 22-24knots. WOT is 31knots at 5700rpm.

The only thing that I dont like is she has the 112L tanks and this limits me to 60miles offshore before having to carry extra fuel. I am now contemplating upgrading the motors or even trading her in on an even bigger and better Kevlacat so we may have been able to work something out if i had have known...... But I really dont want to get rid of her as they are such brilliant little boats and I would never be able to replace her and have sunk another $5k getting new electronics etc since buying her.

For the fishing that I do I would never put less than 70's back on her and would probably go to 90's. I priced that pods and they are $3k i heard so just another cost to upgrading her. What were the 70 Yamaha's that you were talking about upgrading to?

Let me know how you go with the shipping costs as I have been through this exercise before mate and know a few people.

Congrats deano.Now all you have to do is sell bogey to fund your four strokes and we will never be able to wipe the smile from your dial.
    Heard ritcho made an offer, lol.
    When you get it up here you will have to take me for a run and show me how these cats handle.
    What electroincs are on it?

Cheers Troy

Quote Originally Posted by couldbe View Post
    Hi Dean,
    Nice Rig mate. As you know I picked up my 1999 "Black Marlin" with all the fruit earlier this year for mid $50's so i reckon that you got a great buy. I bloody love my little boat mate and I am sure that you wont be disappointed. I have also got 70's Yammies on her and they go great. I have worked out the fuel economy and I am getting about 1L/kilometer. This is sitting on about 4800rpm @ 22-24knots. WOT is 31knots at 5700rpm.

The only thing that I dont like is she has the 112L tanks and this limits me to 60miles offshore before having to carry extra fuel. I am now contemplating upgrading the motors or even trading her in on an even bigger and better Kevlacat so we may have been able to work something out if i had have known...... But I really dont want to get rid of her as they are such brilliant little boats and I would never be able to replace her and have sunk another $5k getting new electronics etc since buying her.

For the fishing that I do I would never put less than 70's back on her and would probably go to 90's. I priced that pods and they are $3k i heard so just another cost to upgrading her. What were the 70 Yamaha's that you were talking about upgrading to?

Let me know how you go with the shipping costs as I have been through this exercise before mate and know a few people.

I know of 2 5.2 kc that have had there 110l tanks converted to 220 l tanks. The fillers for the standard tanks are at the very front of the tank which sits had up against the bulk head if you remove this bulk head you can get twice the tank in and then you bridge a glass beam above the tank where the original bulk head was. I'm going for a ride on one of these boats soon and it will be fully fueled so i'll get a good indication of how the weiht effects the ride but 220l a side is very appealing It would give me just on 400nm range with the 4 strokes and if i ever up size the motors and pods it will still be heaps of fuel.

Ps.
    400nm range is for heavy tackle season, i can troll all saturday come back to moreton island then troll the shelf all sunday with returning to base for a refuel.

pps. yes Kerry i'm waiting but i have a good response.

Then lets hear your response then

The standard 25 gall tanks taken out to 50 gal each side even in a 5.2 says you really need a bigger boat??

The 6.2's as standard are 40 gal (actually a bit less than that) with the 7.2's fitted with 60 gall.

So yeah 50 gal tanks in a 5.2? Something is being comprimised?

Dean1, congrats on a nice looking boat mate. I can thoroughly recommend Trewins Logistics for transport of a boat. I recently used them to transport my boat from Cairns to the Sunshine Coast. Although mine is a 4.3 Webster it cost me around $650 and they were great. On that I can only imagine that yours will cost around the grand mark. PM if you want their details.

Cheers Chris
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Kerry the boat is more than up to the task as far as being large enough, it's just that the circumstances are a little differant to what most boats a designed for as far as engine hours in a trip. 2 days trolling with a distance of 40nm to the grounds from the anchor up point and 8+ hours trolling each day makes for a 320nm weekend, the trip can be done other ways but involves an extra 35nm at the end of the first day.

As far as the boat being structually sound for the job, the guy who will do the work has probably done more work on and built more Kc's than you have had arguements, i'm fairly confident that the work will be fine but i'm still going to go for a good run in 1 of the kc's that have already be modified to get a feel for the set-up
    If i was just using the boat to run out to an island , have a swim and photograph the outboard legs there would be know need to do the mods but thats not how i use my boat. the extra load will be dropping all the time and the lack of other load on board ( ice ,bait, 1 less crew) will all cover the extra 200kg in fuel.

Dean1

Another option for transport is by ship. That's how I got my 5.2 KC moved from Newcastle NSW to Perth, worked out a lot cheaper. Call Justin from AWS Customs on 02 8338 0822. Tell him I sent you.

btw, however you do it, make sure your insurance covers the move - I found alot of them won't, well not without paying more $$$

Shane
    (aka ff)

G'day Ian,

My 7m Cat has 4 x 200 litre tanks, 800 litres all up.

Depending on what I am doing I will get between 600 and 800 miles out of it.

I can fish all week and not come home

Lovey 80 my 1st quote was from trewins and they were( are you ready for it?) $4250. Couldnt believe it! Im waiting for a call from a guy for $1500. If not $2000 is my next offer. Freddofrog i might get a price on shipping thanks. Mightn't be so hard on the boat. Couldbe i was wonderng how ur 5.2 was going. I emailed you a while ago to the address you gave me asking ur opinion on your rig. Yours looked nice too mate, similiar to mine, dont sell it!! Couldbe the 70's i was talking about are these apparently 'in the making' new four sroke 70 yammies. Heard from a few yammy dealers now. I'll rack another 100 or so more hours up on the two smokes before making a move though. They run sweet. Hard after having a 4 stroke but Electronics are very basic in this boat. Apelco gps, sounder combo. I'll put a furuno colour sounder in her, prob keep the other for a gps for a while till i sell my other boat. Thanks for all the help guys, hopefully ill have her home soon cant wait, ill fill the iceboxes with XXXX