Thread: Bream'n in the wind.

Bream'n in the wind.

Howdy folks.

Over the weekend the 3rd round of the Minibucks series was held in bloody windy conditions. Richie boy and myself gave little Shrek her first taste of tournament fishing.

We had had 1 trip for a prefish 2 weeks ago and found some good fish and were hoping they were still there and planned our first days fishing around this.

On the fisrt morning we headed to the Seaway and fished a little different to everybody else by thowing hidden wieghts tight into the wall and shallows. This produced some ok fish and had our first 5 fish within 15-20 mins. We slowly upgraded in some deeper water and had a decent bag by 10 oclock. These fish were 31,30,30,29 1/2 and a 28cm fork length fish.

Fishing slowed and we headed up the Nerang river looking for a big kicker fish and found him about half hour before we had to head back and wiegh in. This fish came from a shallow bend and fell to a 2in shrimp in natural on a 1/12 head. I could see the fish just after i hooked him in the gin clear water and soon let Rich know about it! When boated this fish went 36 1/2 to the fork and was a nice fat fish and the big boy we were lookin for. We caught a few more fish but no more upgrades and had to get back for the 1.30 wiegh in.

Our bag went 3.2kg for our 5 fish which put us in 4th spot.

Day 2 saw us head to do the same but winds were up early so headed for some deep water and found some good fish in 50ft of water. We used 1/4 jig heads just to get the the 2in shrips and 3in minnows amongst the schooled fish we had found. We pulled our kicker fish around 9 oclock at 35cm to the fork and he fell to a mango ripple 2in shimp and i called him for a big flattie at first but was guided into the net and bought a smile to our faces. The smile didnt stay for too long as richie was upgrading he ditched a 27cm fish over the side while we still had a 25 and 26 Rich what were you thinkin?

Richie was pretty glad to bring in a couple of 29s and a 31 and i sorta forgave him after that.

We had to leave the deep after we ran out of 1/4 jig heads to sangs, tailor, trevs(which Rich had fun tangling with and he boated a 3kg model) I also had a couple of big bream bite though the leader about 2m from the boat but thats fishin.

Back for the wiegh in and we felt that we may have not done enough but wieghed in our 35 1/2, 31,31,30 and 29 1/2 to get 3.21 kgs and was enough to get us up into 3rd for the weekend.

Would like to thank Hinterland Marine again for the sponsorship but Dave and Drew were too good for not only us but all the teams wieghing in 3.4kgs day 1 and 4.18 day 2 with a cracker 1.22 kg bream which is daves new pb.

Was good to see Rich keep up his good form of late and get amongst some good fish even if i got the 2 biggest each day Told you I was letting you win on the snapper last week Rich. Thanks mate for a good weekend too, some good times had also some not so good times (RE upgrading or should i say down grading ) Keep your form up for the GF mate and maybe practice upgrading.

Thanks also to Wayne and the Minibucks committee for a great comp and to the sponsors for the prizes.

Gear used for the weekend Reels were all shimano stradic 1000's with 3-4lb fireline on Loomis, Sic Stik pro's and ATC rods. 4-6lb Yamatoyo and vanish leader.
    Best plastic were 2in shrimp in natural and molting and 3in minnows in new penny.

The following pics are of Hinterland Marine 1 and 2 but we finished 1 and 3. Bloody Rodrick Well done on 2nd Mate

Cheers Whytey
    Last edited by Why-ting; 23-07-2007 at 07:19 PM.

Re: Bream'n in the wind.

Top report whytey!
    Well done boys, some good fish were caught on the weekend.
    Coming 3rd aint a real shabby effort!
    There's always next time. Good on ya's.

Jeff.

Excellent effort guys
    to say i'm envious is an understatement, i've only landed two bream thus far on plastics, i don't have any trouble with flattie and i've just acquired a little tinny with casting deck throughout and an electric motor (unfortunately no outboard yet) but i'm hanging to try it out i can only wish to ever emmulate to catching as many as you did on the weekend, any tips would be appreciated, maybe even some footasge of how you retrieve the lure in would be great none of the dvd's show this.
    Anyhow great effort again you sure smashed it
    Baz

Top effort there guys there was a bit of wind around over the weekend, i have a question for ya was there a white with gold, triton american bass boat fishing in the comp with yous.

Hey Mate well done you've come a long bloody way since I saw you at the F Classic last year!!

After not fishing for 6 months I seem to have put fish repellent on all my lures and can hardly raise a scale last few weeks! Fishing MoJo definitely down at the moment.

PS your brother still down at Hinterland Marine? I need to get my motor checked out. Could you pm me his name and number again please mate and tell him I'll be in touch.

See Ya.

Jackextracta.
    G-day mate, Im pretty sure there was. Think it was running a merc bout 115. Whys that?

Franco.

How are ya mate. Sorry to hear you lost your mojo. Ive been going alright latley with a second in the last Minibucks and gettin pipped in our skin in the 1st 1 by 10grs but having the 3rd heaviest bag over all

Hopefully start chasin some flatties shortly and beat that flathead-doctor mate of yours in the classic

Cheers Whytey
    Last edited by Why-ting; 23-07-2007 at 09:39 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Why-ting View Post
    Jackextracta.
    G-day mate, Im pretty sure there was. Think it was running a merc bout 115. Whys that?
    Yeh i thought so it dose have a 115 merc on the back its one of my mates boats he said he was going in the comp last weekend, im pretty certain he goes in most of the comps.

Great report mate & well done on your 3rd position!!

Well done boys, top report Whytey, great pics too! Rich what were you thinking? Just as well you got a few to make up for it. Catch ya soon.

Shane

Nice write up Nick. Exactly how you put it mate. Conditions were very tough last weekend and I thought we fished well by fishing differently to everyone else. You deep and me with HWS up against the rocks even picked up that valuable upgrade.
    Big thanks to Minibucks committee and Hinterland for the sponsorship. 1 & 3 aint too bad I reckon. Big congrats to Drew and Dave, next time boys.
    After popping some fish on the heavier Live Fibre it was good to change up to the lighter ATC stick and land the bigger boys in the deep seaway run. I thought this made a big difference after getting smoked twice by what may have been kicker fish.
    This was proved when I landed that 50cm+ GT on 4lb after 10 mins. and an upgrade soon after.
    Great report Whytey, thanks for all the feedback fellas. Time to get back into the snaps.

Rich

PS: Nick, you know your PB's don't hang around too long when you fish with me mate. Next sesh prepare for a wooping! (No "I" in "Team" then.) LOL!

Well done boys , looking forward to the gold coast event. Yup it was pretty tough conditions on the weekend but still great fun catching heaps of quality fish. I dont think it happens very often that we catch over 7 kilos of bream in 2 days and still get beaten. Still got beaten fair and square congrats to Drew and Dave. Watch out for me zooming about in my little tinny in the gold coast round. Hoping that I will still be able to get it on the plane with the esky and all my gear. Me thinks I will have to pack less for that one and get the non boater to sit on the nose all day. I will keep a look out for the Shrek machine.

Cheers Rod

They are some nice dirty bream you caught there guys.Tell me what makes you decide to go into the comps? Is it because youv'e caught a shitload of bream on lures and decided to earn some money out of it,or the competition?Ben

Quote Originally Posted by BLOOEY View Post
    They are some nice dirty bream you caught there guys.Tell me what makes you decide to go into the comps? Is it because youv'e caught a shitload of bream on lures and decided to earn some money out of it,or the competition?Ben
    G-day Ben.

I myself fish comps as i love my fishing and also enjoy the challenge of putting my skills verse others. I am by no means a gun fisherman but enjoy learning from others and trying different things to see what works in different situations.

Anyone can go out and catch fish when they choose the right conditions but its more of a buzz for me to go out and have to fish in the conditions dealt up on the day and do well when they are not in your favour.

Most of the guys that fish comps are very down to earth and dont mind sharing a bit of their knowledge, Which is a great way to fast track and hone your fishing skills. And what else could be better than having a beer and a yarn with a hundred odd blokes that love fishing as much as you.

As for the prize money, it is nice when you get a bit but most of the time its lucky to cover the costs of the weekends fishing. On the weekend i would of went through maybe 15-20 packets of plastics and probably 40-50 jig heads. Rich would of done about the same. Also fuel and food. So the $600 odd bucks cash and prizes we got maybe paid for the weekend.

So its not about the money its really about going and having some fun and meeting new people. Its like anything, if you start doing it just for the money it becomes a job and you will not enjoy your day on the water, and thats not what fishing is about for me.

Cheers Whytey

PS. Its always good to have bragging rights over your mates too
    Last edited by Why-ting; 24-07-2007 at 09:17 PM.

That all sounds fair enough to me mate,Thanks for the reply.Ben

Yeh....What Nick said, me too.
    At the end of the day, in tough conditions when you weigh in a 5 fish bag and place, it feels pretty good. Too know you have tested your angling skills against others and managed to get over the top it's pretty satisfying.
    There's alot to learning about habitats, movements and presenting an artificial to entice a bite on clear day when the fish spook easy.
    Very rewarding and it greatly improves skill levels. The info I've learn'tr in the past 3 rounds has made me a better fisho & my recent results have proved this to me.
    So yeh, $$$ is handy comps are a great way to learn and also satisfies my competetivness since giving rugby away last year.
    Each to their own, fishing os different for everyone. Cheers,

Rich