Thread: The Last Three Weeks

The Last Three Weeks

The last Three weeks.

I haven’t been putting up any posts because the quality of fish hasn’t been there, but they have been there in numbers. This is just a quick post to let you know what has been happening.

Saturday 07 July

Went out to Shallow tempest with My Daughter Tammy. We arrived just before the Sun came over the horizon and Tammy had caught three Snapper before I had even rigged my line. We caught our limit and tried to catch some Pearlies but every fish was another Snapper.

Saturday 14 July

Went to Shallow Tempest with Ben and got blown off the water. 20-25 knot winds on a 2.5meter swell. It wasn’t long before Ben lost his brand new Braid to a rather large and very fast swimming fish. Caught a few Snapper and went to Hutchies. I latched onto a monster and after about 3/4hour a very large Bronze Whaler came to the surface. We did fish at the Cape but there were not too many around. The trip home was fantastic. Just like Glass.

Sunday 15 July

I took a novice out fishing at the Cape until the wind blew us into an ugly set of waves. We decided after three small Snapper to about 3kg that we would go home.

Thursday 19 July

One member of our team flew up from Sydney for a couple of days and there was a very small window of opportunity late on Thursday afternoon so we left at 2:30pm. The water was like glass and we headed out to Nowhere for a quick fish. Jim became really excited when the first three Snapper came on board.. Amazingly and much to my surprise Jim seemed to be loosing a lot of line to something big way down the bottom.

I wonder if it could be an AJ. It was a great struggle but the AJ won after about twenty minutes.

A great experience for one of the NSW boys.

Hopefully the wind will soon become a little more predictable and drop down to a light breeze.

P.S. Eric Grell gave me a lesson on catching GTs in the Canals.

Frank OO

Re: The Last Three Weeks

Looks like a tough three weeks - not!

Frank - thanks for you posts - most helpful in building up the soft plastic skills. After a fair bit of gear upgrading I got my first AJ up to the boat on Monday. The gaff skills of a certain deckie are the next piece in the puzzle.

Good to see your getting a few frank.
    Where you at your usual at shallow?
    Have heard they snaps been around in numbers,A mate of mine has been getting them to 5-6kilos from near the cape.

Cheers Troy

gday frank OO glad to see you have been getting some good days in. We havent been since our rainbow beach trip because tassie senior has been working and the weather hasnt been reel crash hot on his days off . just hoping the weather will be good for next weekend so we can get into some snapper.

cheers tassie JR

Saw you at Spinnaker on the Sunday morning Frank OO, you were dropping in as we were just pushing off the beach.
    I was wondering where you were headed, well done.

Brian

One of those trips I think I was supposed to have my ugly face in your snap shots. If it wasn't for the fact all my gear was already in my own boat and all hitched up ready to go I'd have been there with bells on. Conditions have been rather ordinary everywhere. Water too clean, winds that could make a sailing vessel overtake a power boat etc etc. Still keen to get out there with you one of these days uncle. Just let me know before I get the boat on. Thanks for the report.

Hi 3Vs, I haver taken to using ome of those big nets. I think Gaffing is a specialised skill that not too many of us have. Glad to see the plastics working.

Hi Troy,

One day we will have to join forces and see what we can bring in. Look forward to that day.

Tassie Jr. After that fantastic trip to Hervey bay you need to rest your arms. Hope to catch up with you soon. Tell the old boy to get of his bum and take you out.

Hello Brian,

Sorry mate, I must have been a bit to keen to get out there and have my Backside blown off. I didn't notice you there. Please say hi the next time.

Poodroo, Get off you rear end and call me if you want to get out there. Be sure to take at least one packet of Quells with you. The water is not real nice at the moment.

Frank OO
    Last edited by Frank OO; 22-07-2007 at 07:23 PM.

Great report and sounds like you got onto a feed

cheers dave

Frank - must be a bloody big net for the AJs.

Quote Originally Posted by 3Vs View Post
    Frank - must be a bloody big net for the AJs.
    And you'll need some outriggers and a winch like a prawn trawler to pull it in
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Hi 3Vs,

Yes it is a big net. We have used it on Ajs up to 25Kg, Dolphin Fish and big Snapper. It is great when yopu want to release the fish.

I think I bought mine at Sundown Marine. It has a handle that slides through the net area to save space and the net is almost 1 meter in diameter and about 1.5 meters deep.

Frank OO

Quote Originally Posted by Frank OO View Post
    Hi 3Vs,

Yes it is a big net. We have used it on Ajs up to 25Kg, Dolphin Fish and big Snapper. It is great when yopu want to release the fish.

I think I bought mine at Sundown Marine. It has a handle that slides through the net area to save space and the net is almost 1 meter in diameter and about 1.5 meters deep.

Frank OO
    You use a net to haul in a 25kg AJ? Man if I tried that I think it and I would be swimming together ...

Nice catch! Haven't been out for yonks and seriously jealous.

Nigel

Hey Frank,

Looks like you have been having some fun mate, not unusual for you.
    Short update mate.
    Job change was the best thing i have done in the last 10 years .Fishing more,less stress ,no customers to deal with....loving it.

I did Caloundra wide a coupla weekends ago and had a great session on snapper up to 5 kg on the ol' secret weapon 7" NC on 3/4 7/0 TT's.
    Great fun ............coupla pics here for ya.
    I can post em know ...i think BnB was out on the shelves today

That pic of Eric looks like he has been catching aj bait

Birdy
    Last edited by Birdy; 24-07-2007 at 07:09 PM. Reason: To stir up Eric

Hi Jason,

You look stress free. Great fish on a very Glassy spot.

Frank OO

Eric Catching AJ Bait