Rodeo v Hilux v Navara - Page 4
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread: Rodeo v Hilux v Navara

Re: Rodeo v Hilux v Navara

[quote=Meherio;656205] The only thing wrong with the Lux are the seats took me a little while to get used to them and a few visits to the back cracker, but I'm used to them now.

I could never get used to the seat in the Hilux Ute..... by the time you get to your fishing spot.... your back is killing you even before you throw a line in!

We have recently bought a Navara ST-X auto (turbo diesel) & it tows the boat no worries up the hills, way better than the Hilux. And the seats are more comfortable, too. Mainly bought it towing the boat, especially with the dams being so low, your really need a 4x4 to get your boat & trailer out of the water. And for carrying the camping gear. (We don't take it 4 wheel driving). So, if you want comfort & staying on the speed limit towing up the hills, go the Navara!

having just invested much time on the same question the choice for me came to the rodeo, navara was winning till i discovered that 2007 navaras have dropped the 3litre for a 2.5 and wrung an extra 10kw out of it can't be good for reliability luxs dont even come into the equation with their 2.2t tow limit
    regds moose

G'day moose,

recent tests (4wd monthly etc) have shown the same misgivings as you about the new navaras - they also have cooling fins on the rear diff??????
    Dunno what I'd buy new - looked recently and didn't like anything - might have to backtrade next or buy a 130 rover.

Phil, lsd in hilux have been around for ages - std on the sr5's and an option on the standards up until the latest model run. I reckon I got at least 20k out of my last one . But it is there.

The t.d. rodeos (last model) boost very early, and lag at takeoff is not there. They run out of puff at about 3500 rpm though.

OK, a few facts.

Phil, new Hiluxs' DO have an LSD in the rear, not sure about the front though.

Ben, it is surprising where Phil can take that ute of his. 2WD up a couple of hills that I wouldn't have though possible without 4WD. I was very impressed, we were really moving and it was FUN.

4WD Monthly just finished their 4WD Ute of The YEAR!! Here are the resuts, all utes were diesel.

The only obvious downfall of the Mazda/Ford is the intercooler tank sits BELOW the radiator support, so is just asking to be ripped apart. All you need though is a good Bull Bar which protects it.

1 Mazda BT50
    2 Ford Ranger
    3 Toyota Hilux
    4 Mitsubishi Triton (4&5 may be wrong way around, can't quiye remember)
    5 Holden Rodeo
    6 Nissan Navara

Now if anyone knows what these guys do to test these utes they won't argue with the results.

The NAVARA was the ONLY ute to suffer MAJOR damage. A rock ficked up and COMPLETELY BROKE OFF the drain plug of the transfer case. This is a MAJOR weakness in NEW Navaras if you are interested in even moderate 4WDing.

Check out their website for more info.

I would still go the 'lux though, It looks better and the Mazda/Ford doesn't come in a V6 petrol.

Last edited by Brett1907; 03-08-2007 at 07:15 AM.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

hilux wins hands down unbrakable

I wish they had of put the 130 Land Rover defender up against them. I think it may have whooped them off road. While they are very basic and undoubtably the ugliest 4wd on the market they sure do well off road and tough as nails. They are pretty good on fuel at about 12L/100km, 1.4t payload and around 4t tow capacity not sure what the new ones are though. I was always a Hilux man but as the next 4wd I buy will be for offroad use I will be buying the 130 Defender.

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Dont know why these three brands are always in the limelite
    I personally drive a triton had one since 98 and it's still goin
    got an 05 model now and its great wouldnt bother with the others to over priced for me
    just my 2cents worth, like has been said take em all for a drive

I thought hiluxes were unstoppable until today,i was going to my local shops to by some metho to smoke my tailor when my daughter and i decided to drive over some dirt mounds without stopping to look on the other side ,so we ended up resting on the gearbox cross member with no wheels on the ground,just goes to show even with the best of everything you can still get stuck,lockers dont help when your wheels are off the ground,had to walk home and get the wife to pull me out in her jeep with pink number plates,was the most embarrasing day of my life,not to mention the people watching.

You make me laugh Bastard.

Years ago as an apprentice I had a daihatsu f50 with welded diffs etc.

Thought I'd show everyone how good it was by driving over a newly dumped truck load of dirt.

Hit it too slow, ended up looking like a cherry on a cake sitting on top with no wheels touching.

Took ages to get it down again - shovel job.

Still, if you don't try you'll never know.

C.J.