Rodeo v Hilux v Navara - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Rodeo v Hilux v Navara

Re: Rodeo v Hilux v Navara

Gday aw65

if towing heavy loads check the gear ratios in 1st and reverse as mine are way too long legged after putting on larger dia tyres to get ground clearance. to do a steep hill start with a big load it puts a hell of strain on the clutch

I would buy the auto for towing if I buy another one as I do a lot of beach work towing the boat/van.

also check that you can put it in low range 2WD for reversing and driving in tight spaces on the tar/concrete, mine dont do this and it is a pain sometimes.

when the going gets tough in the soft sand the new generation turbo diesels have all the power you could want, but to start off you have to slip the clutch (not real good) or drop the clutch and spin the wheels (not so good on soft sand) turbo lag is a bitch as well down low in the revs but I recon the auto would be a dream as it beats the turbo lag and gradually puts power to the wheels.

it all comes down to what you want to use it for, what $ you want to pay etc, just make sure you get an informed decision before you fork out big money.

hey Phill are you saying my Lux doesn't have a LSD?

cheers Murf

Yes, Paul.

Unless something has changed recently !!

Anyway, all good info coming in.

I too, have heard about 3.0ltr turbo diesel's having issues ( nissan ) but only in the patrols and they have the intercooler on. 'spose it depends on who you talk to.

For instance, a mechanic at a city dealership would more likely see and deal with completely different issues than mechanic at a country dealership. 2 differents driving and ' work ' conditions.

Then again the Nissan has a timing chain that doesn't really need replacing as opposed to the Lux's ( belt ) every 70K. ????

It's all a personal thing.

My decision was made on:-

Price,
    Towing capacity,
    KW,
    servicability,

in that order.

Yes, Paul, I have manual hubs and would never entertain the thought of self locking/ auto hubs. Love the idea of low range 2WD for pulling boats up ramps etc etc.

Levuka hey Ian................. well, I'll have a squizz online and see what;'s doin !!

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    Serious 4Wd' ing.

WE need a place that has a water crossing or two, some steep stuff, forest and camp sites, maybe even a rocky creek crossing !!!!!!!

I know just the place. It has some magnificent river crossings with crystal clear streams that hold good fish. There's the odd mountain to climb if you and probably the most prisitine forest in the world.

It's called South West National Park and I'll start organising the M&G now if you want Phil.

this is a nissan trying to keep up with reel 4wds

I must admit it was amazing how far he got with it before it broke. (he has broken it a couple of times now) the LSD works realy well in the Nissan

Murf you must be familiar with this view when the going gets rough owning a Hi-Lux
    Last edited by Black_Rat; 28-07-2007 at 10:44 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Black_Rat View Post
    Murf you must be familiar with this view when the going gets rough owning a Hi-Lux
    what is the photo of? I have never seen anything like it before

Cheers murf

a mate just traded in his 3yo Navarra for a Ford because he did a windscreen and when he went to get it replaced for rego it was rusted out in the pillars

and yes I am shocked, he does do a fair bit of beach fishing but doesn't do the salt water creek crossing that I do all the time.

Murf

yep, you'll rattle a cage or two all right.

the LUX, does NOT have LSD's. ( as do the standard Navaras ) Please explain ???

I still can't find where you got that info from Phill, My Lux has a LSD standard, the 2WD version maybe?

I will give you from what I have read that the Nissan LSD are better than the Hilux especially when they are screwed up a bit

Cheers Murf

Quote Originally Posted by murf View Post
    I still can't find where you got that info from Phill, My Lux has a LSD standard, the 2WD version maybe?

ICheers Murf
    I believe the new hi luxs have what toyota decribe as a lsd, but it's the biggest piece of junk out there, you really would be better with nothing Now the nissan has an lsd but compared to a locker it'd nuthing! I put front andrear lockers in the patrol at 18 000 km's and have never never looked back. i would have broken the vehicle to many times with out them , that all lockers really do , just save your vehicle from tree's gullies and rocks
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

I haven't seen anywhere that it mentions a LSD on Lux.

This is from Toyota themselves.

http://www.toyota.com.au/TWR/content/static/13289.pdf

It appears that from March 2005 onwards, Toyos have decided to have LSD's as standard in their Lux's.

About time they caught up.

phill

I haven't seen anywhere that it mentions a LSD on Lux.

This is from Toyota themselves.

http://www.toyota.com.au/TWR/content/static/13289.pdf

It appears that from March 2005 onwards, Toyos have decided to have LSD's as standard in their Lux's.

About time they caught up.

phill

my 97 2.8d DC had a LSD standard too but the 1980 models I had to upgrade

try this one

http://www.toyota.com.au/toyota/vehi...44_329,00.html

there is a DVD that 4WD Monthly have just put out with a test on all the D/C utes, it will be interesting to watch

cheers Murf
    Last edited by murf; 28-07-2007 at 09:25 PM.

My 2000 lux has factory lsd,however i have front and rear air lockers now and you cant beat real traction.

Looks as if Toyota have LSD come and go as they seem fit.

back to the question..........what was the question ?

Why doesn't anyone want a Lada ????

I washed the Nissan yesterday and must have put too much water on it. This morning I went to the driveway and the Nissan had grown..

Quote Originally Posted by Black_Rat View Post
    I am very used to that view Damo..cos those things in the pic are always stopped ...must all break down..oh well I just drive around them...hehe