Thread: Washing Boat With Water Restrictions

Washing Boat With Water Restrictions

G'day all, I have probably missed a thread on this but how do you's wash your boats down properly when there is water restrictions. I usually flush my motor than give the boat a good bubble bath and gerni but the restrictions no longer permit this do they? so what is your trick to beating the water restriction keeping in mind I dont have a car lovers or other public facility local....
    CHEERS T.T.
    ________
    Sc2 replay site

Re: Washing Boat With Water Restrictions

well tt, i see you live at bribie so i'd be investing in a spear mate.

Tank water.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Quote Originally Posted by PADDLES View Post
    well tt, i see you live at bribie so i'd be investing in a spear mate.
    I was thinking that. The in laws have one and live local so I might have to start visiting them a bit more often.
    ________
    Volcano Vaporizer

yeah it's good stuff, i'm over at beachy and our water isn't quite as good as yours at bribie i don't think. but i use it on the boat and trailer and just give the hull a quick sponge off with some tap water so there's no spear water residue left on the fibreglass. if i had a tinny i wouldn't even bother with the final sponge off. like kev has said though a tank is a good option for where we live because we tend to get heaps of rain too.

Hi Guys

We haven't a rain water tank as we are still in the middle of renovations and can't get it in yet but I do manage to save the water from the down pipes. I went and bought large plastic garbo bins and sat them under the drain pipes. When it rains--- Ha Ha i have plenty of water to wash the boat. I use the gurney from the bins so all is good. However I do remember reading somewhere that you are able to wash brakes and flush motor of boat with hose. Safety issues. Would have to check on that though.

Ronnie

call into car lovers or a place alike to wash the boat down, only ever costs a couple of bucks if you know what your doing, then rinse the motor out at home

Fisher4life,

mate problem is it is at least 30 mins each way to the nearest carwash from Bribie (the one at Caboolture near the showgrounds).

Tank or spear is the way to go as has been said before.

Cheers,Fez

I just use collected rain water for flushing the motor in a flush bag. Then I bail it out and save that into a drum for next time.

I also use collected rain water and a Karcher to wash the boat on the grass. Mind you, the boat has not been used for a while now either.

A method i use to collect the rain water with no tanks here. But the bungs in the boat and catch it then use the bilge pump to pump it into the drums or buckets.
    Works for me here.

paddles,
    does the spear water leave the tannin stains after awhile.
    have thought about using spear water but not keen on the brown film on everything.
    i use a flush bag to flush motor then that water to wash boat, (tankwater). my pumping set up is a bit rough but hopefully in the near future i am getting a 5000gal tank, all i need then is some blody rain
    dazza

yeah daz, it'll mark concrete after a while, but you've got to put plenty of water on the concrete over a fair period of time for this to happen. i've found that areas where i've only put a bit of a splash on when i water the yard haven't marked at all, but under the pump where water can sit for a while cos there's some slight leakage from the hose it's marked that brown colour. i found that it left a slight mark on the finish of the fibreglass (ie. it doesn't leave a colour but seems to dull the glossy finish) it only does this when the water is left to dry so it leaves little spots where the water has balled up on the polished glass. they polished out though. we got our water tested over at narangba and they said it was slightly acidic so this may have been what caused the problem. by the way i know people who live over on moreton and they use bore water for washing their boats (tinnys) and haven't had a problem. i use it to wash my old beach buggy fourby but don't use it on wifeys nice little car. yeah we're going to set up the same as you in the near future daz and get a tank as well.

At Labrador, we have a spear pump in the carpark. I haven't used it on the boat yet but have washed the BA Fowlcan a few times with a nice (no residue) finish. It says "Not drinkable" but it looks and smells OK and if I was REALLY thirsty.... The concrete and wall stains come from the various natural chemicals in the water such as iron, calcium and perhaps a bit of sulphur. But I would have no problems using it for washing and flushing as it's way better than salt. Imagine waht sort of water goes through the motor in most waterways.. My 2005 Mariner has a 5 year corrosion guarantee, so they must be able to take a bit of bad water through them.
    Last edited by KGW3; 19-07-2007 at 10:06 AM.

Hey fellas. I reckon if you had a deck wash hose plumbed into the boat then all you do is collect rainwater in a drum etc and sit it under the deck hose external to your rig and suck the collected rainwater to wash your boat down. Just connect a longer hose to the pump outlet to achieve distance and you should be fine.
    Was just a thought.

Rich

We still allowed to wash cars and boats in the Redlands .....for now anyway, see what happens with State government taking ove rour Dam.....