banks monday

Thread: banks monday

banks monday

Gday all,
    Left ramp at 4am and headed to barwon banks with a good run out. Reached Banks at 5am and searched a few spot x's to find some good shows so we anchored up. Myself and a mate were using floaters ranging from 1 to size 4 ball sinkers and the others combed the bottom with paternosters and one slept on the job in the cabin. almost instantly after setting the lines out it was on, reels screaming tails thumping on the floor 2 and a half hrs of mayhem with snapper after snapper landed to 6.5kg. Mangrove jack and spangled emperor to 4kg aj's and pearly's as well. After all went quiet about 9am we decided to search for some new grounds at top of banks drifting a few area's on the way up we found a bomby with shows of snapper all over it so down went the pick and again we were on to solid snapper. With the esky chocker's we headed for home with a calm run in.! wish there was more trips like this. Photo's shortly
    Last edited by wadeo; 17-07-2007 at 12:09 AM.

Re: banks monday

great feed wadeo,especially that jack

WOW Awesome. Excellent work.

Good on you Wadeo, we didn't have the same luck

Where ( roughly ) were you and what depth of water, we couldn't get them interested

Last 3 or 4 trips out there have been bombs, have to change it

Good stuff Wadeo, looks like the banks are starting to happen...makes it worth going out

WOW... Freakin Awesome trip!! - what else can you say?... Well done guys!

Adam

hi wadeo,
    great catch of snapper there mate.
    you guys were heading out the same time as
    a mate and i , you passed us after leaving the ramp.
    also headed out to the banks but only 1 squire for us
    around 2.5kg.
    but did manage a good feed of redthroat and wrasse
    a few parrot aswell.
    was a great day out.

cheers dave.

Hey Wadeo, That fella that slept all day has issues hey. Good pictures cob.

Ausfish Gold Member

I think i passed you on the highway on my way home i tried getting out at around 2am and it was blown out to shit got half way out and pulled the pin, looks like i should have just punished myself for a few more hours as those ocean shots look great compared to the water coming over the side when i was there,can't wait for the boat upgrade so i can get out nice and dry and ride out the weather in comfort not lying on wet floors covered in blood and guts tring to stay out of the wind.

From that report i think the banks is going to look like a parking lot next time the weather dies down.
    Those are very nice fish in the ice box
    Humility is not a weather condition.

Quote Originally Posted by Vitamin Sea View Post
    Good on you Wadeo, we didn't have the same luck

Where ( roughly ) were you and what depth of water, we couldn't get them interested

Last 3 or 4 trips out there have been bombs, have to change it

vitamin sea we fished aliitle north of bottom end on a ledge coming up from 50 to 45m the current was very kind to us and after the first half hour landing prob 7 snapper we opted not to berly so vermin didnt move in. Floaters accounted for prob 80% of fish. We then went deep for only a couple of pearly's before steaming to top end. This spot we did berly but caught fish the moment we got there. It has been a struggle for us over the past months too. Hope this helps What sort of rig were you out in and where did you fish?

Quote Originally Posted by samson View Post
    I think i passed you on the highway on my way home i tried getting out at around 2am and it was blown out to shit got half way out and pulled the pin, looks like i should have just punished myself for a few more hours as those ocean shots look great compared to the water coming over the side when i was there,can't wait for the boat upgrade so i can get out nice and dry and ride out the weather in comfort not lying on wet floors covered in blood and guts tring to stay out of the wind.
    Samson were you the centre consol at ramp when we arrived. It is an advantage to have a dry cabin we were warm as toast till we started fishing

Quote Originally Posted by stacer525 View Post
    hi wadeo,
    great catch of snapper there mate.
    you guys were heading out the same time as
    a mate and i , you passed us after leaving the ramp.
    also headed out to the banks but only 1 squire for us
    around 2.5kg.
    but did manage a good feed of redthroat and wrasse
    a few parrot aswell.
    was a great day out.

cheers dave.
    It was nice to have the banks vurtually to ourselves, were you anchored near us around 1 to 2 pm up near top end?

defently a good session there there the trips we all dream about .

Quote Originally Posted by wadeo View Post
    vitamin sea we fished aliitle north of bottom end on a ledge coming up from 50 to 45m the current was very kind to us and after the first half hour landing prob 7 snapper we opted not to berly so vermin didnt move in. Floaters accounted for prob 80% of fish. We then went deep for only a couple of pearly's before steaming to top end. This spot we did berly but caught fish the moment we got there. It has been a struggle for us over the past months too. Hope this helps What sort of rig were you out in and where did you fish?
    Hi Wadeo

We did the opposite, started at the top ( lower Hards ) & finished mid banks, that's where we got the fish we did.

The rig is a 19C Haines, oldie but goldie, not quite like your running around in though

We drift and bottom bounce mainly, something that I believe will have to change, especially with a bit of wind about, floating definatley seems the way to go for snapper, however, bouncing for us usually turns up a good assortment of fish, something that does attract me to the Banks.

Thanks for your help / advice, it's all a continual learning experience, that I believe, is what this site should be all about, no-one knows it all and everyone has learnt from someone else.

Thanks again

Bill