Tuff Day At Wide Caloundra

Thread: Tuff Day At Wide Caloundra

Tuff Day At Wide Caloundra

Fished WC yesterday, looking for some knobbies and pearlies.
    Conditions in the morning were boisterous to say the least, with a persistant south wester standing up the seas, and causing the signature to fair skate along, even with the sea anchor out the back.
    Worked over all my marks in the 60 to 70 meter depths, with the crew useing a mix of floating 10 balls and paternoster rigs.
    Total for the day was 4 pearlies, 3 squire (and they were only squire), 2 parrot and a mowie, fairly ordinary.
    The best part of the day was the wind dropping out in the arvo, saveing us a nasty punch home.
    No pics, wasnt worth getting out the camera

Brian

Re: Tuff Day At Wide Caloundra

floating size 10 balls???

Floating em a long way out the back noel, there was a bit of run

sounds like a tough day!

yeh doesnt sound like the weather worked in ur favor if u running 10 balls

Know what ya mean Brian.

Was on the same grounds ourselves surfing ten balls on the drift

Scoota...

Howd you enjoy that morning wind Scoota??

Brian.

Great to see you get the Sig out. Saw the cover off yesterday.
    I didn’t get out on the weekend due to family reasons but the weekend before there was a heap of bait schools around Roberts and Brennens shoals.
    My boat has been turned into a whale watching bus for the kids lately. They love getting out for a look.
    Spoke to a bloke on Sunday who had a nice 7Kg knobbie he got in the bay on Saturday night.
    With the forecast for the weekend being 25knts SW I may have to bank up a few Brownie points.
    Catch ya.

Hi Scott, sounds like your back, yeah I took Brian from down the road for a run, talked it up and crashed and burned.
    Didnt even see a whale, they were in as short supply as knobbies.

Brian

gday brian,

that bloody sw was a pain wasnt it.
    i managed to nail some nice nobbies on
    the pick with a bit of berly. was down off the cape
    area. good to see you got a few as well.
    cheers dale

Yeah Brian, it reminded me of the days in the centre console when you had to peel your fingers off the wheel with a pinch bar!

I'm normally spoilt now going out in Blocka's 20 foot cuddy cab with the feet on the dash sipping coffee and Jail Break on the CD player!

Can't wait to attack again

See ya out there

Scoota...

Brian, it certainly sounds like a rough start to the season compared to previous years. As usual the weekday day weather is great and the weekends are shite. It would be great to get both boats out one day. I’m usually on ch21 or 81 (mobile 323) if you hear me.

I’m sure that Tony would be keen for a run. Getting him out of bed might be interesting…

We fished saturday at sunshine and struggled too with 4 squire and a scorpion cod. We couldn't find a school of fish anywhere. The current run in close wasn't as bad by the sounds of it. We did see one whale though. Definetley should have stayed in bed.

We were up there also, put in at Scarborough. Tough going until about 3.30pm, decided to try one more spot, 9 snapper in about an hour,4kgs to 5kgs. Caught 2 on floating rigs using 2 off size 10 ball sinkers, the rest were on our soft plastic gear, 6lb braid and a 5/16 ounce 5/0 hook pumpkin seed in 200ft of water. The place had glassed out and very little drift.

Well done Peterreb, we stuck it out till the arvo glass out but still couldnt find a decent show.
    Mate, the thought of SP's on 6lb braid in 60 meters of water is frightining, good on you.
    Scotty, lets do it mate, justa gotta fit it around work

Brian