Thread: Post your Picture of Ice Box Sitting in Boat

Post your Picture of Ice Box Sitting in Boat

Team,

ANy pics of how/where you place your ice box in your boat woudl be appreciated.

SPlash

Re: Post your Picture of Ice Box Sitting in Boat

i have a 5.1 center con....so the only seat in the boat is a 80lt icebox with a padded top that sits at the very back of the boat for suze.

120l esky seat in c/c and 62l esky in cabin boat (you can still fish either side of it)

Attachment 9486 Attachment 9487

i know that pic from somewhere wags.......that box contained a rather large fish at the time

Heres the ice box in our Fisher. it sits at the back of the boat with about 300mm gap from the transom. it has two tie down points on the floor. we find this setup to work really well and fishing space is never cluttered.

Get rid of the passenger seat and install an icebox in its place. Here is a picture of mine, without the seat cushion in this photo. Makes a great double seat as well.

This what I am after and at $615 each delivered to my door in QLD well worth the money I reckon ! 90 lt capacity underneath with storage on the top bit. They are avaliable at http://www.boatbox.com.au

Attachment 9545

All fantastic ideas boys - really appreciated!

Lots of EvaKools there!

I thought the EvaKools were not ideal to be used as seats?

The theme I am seeing here is to locate box in center but not cut off access to each rear corner in boat....

Any more picis..?

Splash

Splash, exactly. Im not sure with the EvaKools and the sitting capabilities, we havent had any dramas with ours and my dad is a fairly hefty bloke. Dont know if it will have any effect in the long run or not... I will post some more pics today as im home sick.

Crazy

always wondered why people put things right in the back of a boat, almost all fishing is done at the back, so you are forever stepping over/around a box if it is right at the back, also a lot of centre consoles are mounted way at the back, sure it makes for a softer ride, but it takes up all your fishing room, how much time do you spend in the bow?? not much I would think, but in some boats, there is more room there than behind the console! there can be some argument with fighting fish and anchoring and so on, but that is not what you spend the majority of your time doing, you spend it fishing IN THE BACK!

Splash, heres a few more pics. I meant to say in my last post was that we had the floor plan designed to be able to accomodate for different types of fishing adventures. the standard setup is how you can see it. We have it placed here to actually create more fishing room for when we take out 4 or 5 people as you never really fish behind the baitboard. To eliminate the problem of not being able to acess the kill tank while the esky was in that position we made the killtank have a two section hinged lid as you can see in the first post. As you will see in one of the pics the rear jockey seats are removable so dad and i take them out when its just him and I and move the esky behind one of the helm seats so we can have a large open area. I hope this sums it up.

Crazy

When I bought my present boat (late 70s Seafarer Vermont), she had a large cavity, about 6'x2'x18", under the floor with two hatches flush with the floor.
    Im sure it probably was intended as a spot for the fuel tank to go, but it makes such a great fish-box I would never do it.
    I made new lids, so it's nice & solid to stand on, there is room for the bait esky to sit in the front without sliding around & no clutter on the deck.

I carry all my fuel in separate plastic tanks (4).

The boat isn't here ATM or I would take a few photos with more detail, but I'm sure you know what I mean.

I'm with crazy.
    We nslide our evakool under the front passenger seat. Forget the litres but it is rather long but we find its the best place to have it. Also we can still open the lid without moving it all the time to get out the cow for a cuppa. (I mean --- a stubby for the other half).
    Would of taken a pic but tooooooo lazy today to walk out the back and do it.

Ronnie

Quote Originally Posted by jez and suze View Post
    i know that pic from somewhere wags.......that box contained a rather large fish at the time

My esky my fish.

Thanks Boys.

Onerabbit - how do u keep your fish fresh/cool in that thing?

Crazy - good point about "never fishing behind bait board..." - do others agree?

Noelm - Agree with yout that the BACK is where most of spend time - but, where do u place your ice box then?

Splash