Thread: Bream bait

Bream bait

I dont know alot about bream fishing, but have started to do the odd bit here and there.
    I was down at the ramp talking to an old fella with a good catch of bream and he said the only way to go is to use a dough bait. Now what is dough bait? Is this just bread or some sort of mixture. He said to melt some cheese into it to help hold it together in the hook.
    Just wondering if anyone can explain this abit.

Re: Bream bait

Don't waste your time with that use sp's..

quality...white pilly..mullet flesh...strips of gar..and my personal favorite(forgot)..numbers...yabbies(probably the most foolproof) and mullet gut (self burleys) along with chook gut.they eat just about anything ,even them plastic things but to date i havent caught any on them(maybe one day, i keep trying when i get bored) cheers alex

Chicken breast works a treat.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Chicken breast filet cut into 2cm by 2cm and marinated in tuns oil "sorry fish attractant" is the go!!!!!

Homer_jay,

to make dough, take some flour, add enough water to make the consistency right, yes , you can mash cheese into it, (cheese is a good bream bait on it's own) you can also add squashed pillys etc.
    we used to add cotton wool when we were kids, helps it stick togeather.

Thanks guys,

plenty of baits to try there. Just cant be bothered pumping yabbies in the cold water..... Maybe im getting soft!

Quote Originally Posted by onerabbit View Post
    Homer_jay,

to make dough, take some flour, add enough water to make the consistency right, yes , you can mash cheese into it, (cheese is a good bream bait on it's own) you can also add squashed pillys etc.
    we used to add cotton wool when we were kids, helps it stick togeather.

Agree, and I also add some spicy salami or other sausage meat and some oil from anchovy tins. Also make sure the cheese is a strong smelling one. You can also add some garlic as an extra attractant. Put all the solid things through a food processor to chop them very fine. Then add the flour and water and mix to a sticky consistency. Then roll the whole ball in dry flour so the outside is not too sticky. To use, pinch a piece about the size of the first joint of your thumb off the ball and mould it around the hook so that none of the hook shows (this is one bait where you don't need the point of the hook exposed). Throw into the fishing zone (I prefer to fish with no sinker at all when using pudding) and let it sink into the structure under its own weight. Won't stand up to much of a cast, but deadly on bream in quiet water situations
    Cheers Freeeedom

it depends on where you are fishing for bream as to the "best" bait, like around the rocks, peeled Royal prawns or crab are as good as anything, in a river, pretty hard to go past live Nippers or Prawns, but way up a still creek other baits will be better, a bream is a scavenger, if a bit of Chicken Breast is in front of his/her nose it will be taken, but it does not make it the best bait, the way it is presented and the gear used will determine a good catch from a couple of bites.

yep imo dough is the best, little bit of berley with bread, and in close to the mangroves on a rising or high tide when they move into the shallows to feed, i think its best fished with a float and split shot for someone just starting out but like freedom said weightless is great if you know how to see a bream hit, i use a very small hook, the same size i would for gar and a small bit of bait, that way when any bream hits it ill hook up. this gets more bream than anything else, small peeled prawns come close aswell, but when i was younger i use to sit in our cubby house in the mangroves where at low tide there was no water but on a high i would get about 70 bream an hour, not all legal mind you.

if u want to get serious get urself a drag net or cast net and get out the day or two before ur going fishing and get some fresh bait, no 1 rule?fresh gar fish are prime or mullet prefarably gut but flesh also goes off, find urself a nice rocky or mangrove point and ur on ur way.Bring on the Big Bream.

Great article in one of the fishing mags - think it was April or May edition - don't quote me but I think it was one of the magazine size (Modern or salt water fishing) rather than the QLD fishing or B&B.

They went through the whole process of bread/dough fishing - I think the previous month they looked at using huge baits for bream - such as whiting heads.

So as people have said, it's not the "Best", but if you know a few different styles, you shouldn't go hungry in any conditions.

christian.

Fantastic bait for bream, particularly in quiet water or where the water is particularly clear. If you use the Search function you'll find this has been covered in great detail before, and there's a great post by Sean about fishing for them with just plain bread. Definitely worth a good go.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

The first bream I caught in this country was caught on shoulder ham straight from the deli at coles . we wre pretty drunk the first time as we had run out of bait so we grabbed whatever was in the fridge . now I always have some in a sandwich just in case the normal bait is nit working .
    cheers fae haggis................

d) All of the above....
    Although my baits vary depending on terrain eg;
    mangroves flats= fisho chook gut- heaps looped onto a #1 92447 mustard baitkeeper, 0 bally on top of hook... bigger the bait the bigger the bream
    creeks and canals= herring hooked in back of head, same rig.
    the pin= yabbies
    at night= dark= gut bait, moon=yabbies
    There is a ton of different baits but I reckon it's technique and rig and knowing the terrain that they favour...................... skitch 'em