Thread: 5m Sharkcat

5m Sharkcat

G'day All,

This is a 5m Sharkcat that I bought and tidied up for my brother.
    He is another Cat fanatic, as he also learnt the benefit of the Cat performance from fishing the unpredictable waters in Tassie.

The boat was in perfect structural condition ... just needed a few gelcoat repairs, some electronics, and tidy up of what had previously been a poor antifouling job.

I added a Raymarine 600x digital sounder and a Raymarine 435 colour GPS, also a new Icom 302 VHF Radio.

The older 70hp 2 Stroke Yamahas have been replaced with brand new 60hp 4 Stroke Yamahas... These motors are a perfect match for this boat.

The boat now lives in Cairns, and I cant wait to test it on a few small black marlin in the next few months.
    It has a brilliant cockpit for fishing, as super stable, has a huge esky / fish tank in the centre of the cockpit, and the removable rear door.

It will also have a set of Reelax Gunwhale Mount Outriggers fitted when I get to Cairns to do it.

Re: 5m Sharkcat

Geez your good to ya brother GM :d

What sort of fuel capacity does she have??

Retired Honda Master Tech

G'day Garry,

Yeah, I know I am good to him, but favours can be recalled

It has 85 litres per side, so 170 litres total.

The average day fishing in it with the 2 Strokes was 85 litres a day.

So the 4 strokes will be even better.

Did you ever weight it?

Ive always guessed they would be BMT 1500-1600kg dry? ..... which makes it too heavy for me to tow once loaded

Wrong Rod,

I thought the same as you.

It actually went 1940kg on weighbridge.

That was with full fuel, but no gear.

what performance from the yammies. would like a similar rig for the old man and me. Not sure if you have seen the 5m sportsman on boatpoint. Not sure whether that boat is any good. But id be keen to see.

Quote Originally Posted by Grand_Marlin View Post
    Wrong Rod,
    I thought the same as you...... It actually went 1940kg on weighbridge ..... That was with full fuel, but no gear ....
    WOW !
    Thanks for the info. I would have never guessed.

Rod

You are a suck hole Pete.....He must have something on you....LOL....Looks great though....You might have some more work soon .....Just sussing a few things out...

Cheers Mick

Nice boat!.. How much did you pick it up for?

Quote Originally Posted by youngfisho View Post
    what performance from the yammies. would like a similar rig for the old man and me. Not sure if you have seen the 5m sportsman on boatpoint. Not sure whether that boat is any good. But id be keen to see.
    If you are refering to the yellow and red one with Mercs. That has been for sale for ages. I was going to look at it last year when on holidays. It was actually located in Nth Qld from memory and just on consignment with the dealer.

It looks like a nice boat. Not a huge amount of power on paper, but you would have to test drive it see if it suits.

G'day Young Fisho,
    Mate, haven't you bought one yet ??????
    You have been looking for years and years (nearly)

As Rod said, the one on boatpoint has been there for ages ... at least 12 months.

Snelly, more than happy to help ... but payment MUST be in Crayfish

Rod, yeah the weight suprised me too, but I think a lot of people would get a shock if they put there boat in full fishing trim over the scales.

The performance is 30 knots with the 60 yammies ... it was 32 with the 70 2 strokes.
    They are still fine tuning the props as we speak.

The 5m hull is a little different to the bigger Sharkcats - it doesnt require a heap of power to get it out of the water, but it doesnt have a huge top end speed.
    I usually like to set a boat up so it has top speed of 35 - 40 knots, then you know you have adequate power for all the required tasks.
    This cat has heaps of get up and go ... it definitely wouldnt want any more. It could handle a higher top end speed, but it really doesnt need it - all said and done, it is still only a 5m boat.

Price? with the new donks and all the gear, it owes mid 30's.
    When you consider this boat will do everything a 5.2 Kevlacat will do, the price is cheap.
    5.2 Kevlacats with older 2 stroke 70's and average electronics are bringing 40 grand + .... then add 16 grand for motors and 4 grand for electronics, you then have a boat worth 60 grand.

Last edited by Grand_Marlin; 16-07-2007 at 07:56 AM.

Nice work brother

Brother ???

I am starting to wonder about you Jigs .... new name change, new Haines Signature "bling bling" shmicko boat, and now talking like a gospel singer from the deep south....

Y'al have a good day 'ya hear....

Praaaaise the lord....

I cant believe what you have even done to Bonny .... (see attached pic)

Last edited by Grand_Marlin; 16-07-2007 at 12:37 PM.

would this be worth looking at as a project boat??
    http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-fo...aspx?R=2733412

Deep south indeed!

That's mah dawg