Thread: dealership failure

dealership failure

I am not going to name the dealer (so dont ask), one reason is that I am in tassie and the problem has been rectified, well sort of.
    As most would be aware I purchased a 18 tohatsu some months back and must say that I am totally happy with the performance of the motor.
    Took it in to a dealer (about 150km away) to have the first 10 hr service done, commented at the time that I was happy with the service and cost. Put the motor back on my tinnie when I got home and promply forgot about it all packed away in the corner of the shed. Happened to be looking around there yesterday and the folling pic is what I found. the engine has been tilted for the sake of the photo and thankful it has not been started since the service.
    I suppose the purpose for this post is to not be to trusting (I know we should be able to) but after any work just run your eye and maybe a spanner over you treasure outboard/boat.

Re: dealership failure

What am I looking at? Something with a hole in it?

enlarge the pic and look at the nice fresh oil comming out of a drain/filler plug that is in about 1 1/2 turns, very close to total gearcase failure.

Blaze.
    Is that the oil drain bolt missing?

My thoughts are people just don't care anymore..If a mistake is made it's just oh well......she'll be right sort of attitude. It's not good enough.

My 2cents

Wags

Yep I see.
    I find it really hard to trust them, I had a similar experience with my 60 4st. Merc.
    I had it serviced and for the next few months it seemd to leak oil onto the garage floor after using it and washing it down, I could see no obvious place it was coming from. Anyway next service I decided to do myself, I went to unscrew the oil filter and it nearly fell off in my hand.
    Dodgey stuff considering you could get stuck out in the middle of the ocean.

Quote Originally Posted by wags on the water View Post
    My thoughts are people just don't care anymore..If a mistake is made it's just oh well......she'll be right sort of attitude. It's not good enough.

My 2cents

Wags
    thats right Wags
    same thing happened to my mates Ducati

Blaze, did you give them a call and let them no, bit of feedback dont hurt
    i know it can happen and it does, but for some reason the last so many years its becoming more and more of a problem

Quote Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
    thats right Wags
    same thing happened to my mates Ducati

Blaze, did you give them a call and let them no, bit of feedback dont hurt
    i know it can happen and it does, but for some reason the last so many years its becoming more and more of a problem

Had a very, very lenthy discussion with the dealership in question, no screaming matches or any thing like that. A positive outcome has been achieved

Quote Originally Posted by blaze View Post
    [/color]
    Had a very, very lenthy discussion with the dealership in question, no screaming matches or any thing like that. A positive outcome has been achieved
    good to hear Blaze, at least they no now

Blaze,

Finding a good servicing dealer for both car and boat can be a problem.(and can change as old employee's move on and new ones are hired.)
    A few workshops I have been in lately for car ,boat, mower I have spent a little time lurking around as I live out of town and its not worth going home and back.
    My main concern is with the responsibility given to young guys/apprentices or workers who seem not to care to much about your pride and joy.
    I'm sure many are good but in many instances they are training themselves on our expensive motors.
    I was horrified when I looked across the workshop recently at a young guy trying to put the leg back on an out board.He didn't really seem to concerned about lining it up before pushing it on,just kept slamming it up until he drove it home.Glad it wasnt my motor.
    The auto mechanic I use now is great because he or a single offsider are the ones that do the work on the vehicle,and so can also advise that other things need doing or might need looking at soon.
    Trouble is there is always about 10-15 vehicles around the workshop and you have to book well in advance.
    I think when my E-tec needs its first service I will make an excuse to be present.

Last edited by disorderly; 12-07-2007 at 04:57 PM.

had exactly the same problem with my yam 40 4str when i got it home from $300 service.dont know about your tohatsu but the 2 gearbox oil screws have gasket material washers on them and once tightened they compress and are virtually useless when used again.he tightened up the screw and the washer broke into pieces ,after a week i noticed a drip on the floor.went to yam dealer and bought a dozen for $2.50.@.do my oil changes now.ned.

Had a similar problem when having my car serviced. They left the radiator cap just sitting on (not tightened). Lost all coolant and engine overheated...

You guys have definatly hit the problem on the head...... it's not the dealership that is at fault it 's the slack Ausie worker who does not give a rats about his responsibility as a worker. Australia is full of slack lazy drug induced "workers" that are being paid good money by the dealer principal to do a good job on your pride and joy......... you don't have to be a fully qualified tradie to perform a perfect service. Any junior who works in and around engines can do the job correctly, The majority just don't care. You can gurantee that the slack rock ape who left the oil drain bung loose has been trained correctly but he just could not give a rats about quality.
    Until we as parents produce better quality children and we teach children respect at school, the workforce will be filled with second rate workers....35 years of teaching apprentices has taught me that there is not enough good quality respectful youngsters for the technical trades to keep producing quality tradesman.
    Even the majority of the new generation tradesman who now have to start training our new apprentices are of poor quality, drink too much, don't respect machinery, don't have pride in their tools, don't ever give any extra to the boss, always have their hand out for a freebie, often late, have no dress code, work in a dirty manner and don't realy care about work...... what chance do our kids have of reaching the expectations of genuine customers.

Why do we employee them you say.......cause that's the best our Australian culture has produced ... there is no one else.

The few good tradesman that are still evolving out of this mess need to be congratulated by all. Most tradesman are not worth the standard award rate they suck out of the boss every week, while on the other side of the coin a good reliable, dedicated tradesman should be paid twice as much.

What can we do about it?

Big G.

Hi Big G
    I am one of those slack aussie tradesman you talk about but I do take pride in what I do & I do it well. I have been employed by a small to large business in the past to self employment (where you earn what you are worth). I have been instructed in the past by those dealers do do things to customers gear that would make you hair curl. So dont be so quick to have a go at the guy on the spanner.
    The problem arose in my case because of an emergency, And as I explained to the dealer that does not excuse the sloppy work. But we have sorted out the drama. As I pointed out in my first post, I put it up to make people aware that just because they have had work done it doesnt hurt to keep ya eyes open

Blaze,
    I'm sure you take pride in your work and you would be worth twice what you are being paid....congratulations.
    I never have a bad word to say about good quality tradies as they are priceless.
    I associate with several on a daily basis...... I'm on the spanners every day myself ...I am a duel trade qualified worker...Qualified A grade mechanic and also Qualified engine reconditioner.

The comments about the average Ausi worker in the Automotive trade still stand. I'm very passionate about it.

Big G.