Sea Jay do build boats to Survey so they must comply with the appropriate ISO standard. I have not owned one but the boats I have seen & ridden in rode well & seemed well built. I think there are a few Sea Jaw owners on the site & they may chime in.
I have a mate who wants to get a 4.7 Sea Jay with a 40 hp Yammy 2 stroke.
Are they a decent boat compared to other tin boats - it has a pressed floor not clinker style and the welds are all exposed, good looking and not dressed with a grinder.
Cheers all.
Sea Jay do build boats to Survey so they must comply with the appropriate ISO standard. I have not owned one but the boats I have seen & ridden in rode well & seemed well built. I think there are a few Sea Jaw owners on the site & they may chime in.
ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................
Mate I only just picked one up last week, a 4.55 territory with a 50 4 stroke yammy on the back, they have a great rep, good quality build and others swear by them, do a search on the forums here and see what other members who have had theirs for a while say,,,
mike
Mate the 40 is proberbly a little under sized for a 4.7 it would be better off with a 50-60hp donk.As for the hull i recently checked them out and yeah their ok a little bit thin i was looking at the 4.5 territory the welding is okay nothing special but have seen alot worse.When you refer to pressed floor not clinker what do you mean?The clinker usally refer's to the side's eg: pressed bottom's with pressed clinker style side's.Unless the 4.7 has a plate bottom side's?I found them to be a little expensive but that may have just been the local dealer's price's for here.Dan...
Hi,
I have had a Sea Jay Escape 4.55 for about 7 years now and been very happy with it. It has a 40hp on it and gets along nicely, 4.7m might need next size up or 2 unless you are just cruising around rivers/estuaries on your own. I fish mainly in Moreton Bay and find the deep-v hull very good, you cop a bit of a pounding (like any small tinny) but I've never felt unsafe. I did a lot of comparisons with other brands when I bought mine and found the SJ to have the best compromise of quality, sea worthiness, standard fit-out and price.
Blue
After plenty of though,research,deliberation etc I'm getting a new 4.55 Magnum from John Smale at Family Boats in Blacktown,NSW.Heaps better than other similar hulls going by the opinion of those I've read/spoken to/reviews.Got 3mm bottom and 2mm sides and a beam of 2050mm which is nice and roomy.It's recommended for a 40hp and a maximum of 50hp.I've got a 40 Tohatsu,brand new with forward controls,tilt & trim etc.I'm getting a console made up to have it set up as forward steering.I'm thinking about putting the console slightly offcentre to starboard but maintaining a steering position that's pretty central.
Lookin' forward to getting this baby and setting it up!Maybe you could get in touch with John,a nice bloke .
I have owned one Sea Hay boat previously and was very happy with it. It was a 4.35SP with 40hp. A good mate has a 4.15 Magnum powered by a 30 3 cyl Yammie that is a good boat too.
I think with a 4.7 you would need at lest 50hp, depending on the configuration and hull weight. ie tiller/console floors decks etc. If you under power it you will not like it at all. Re-powering is expensive, so you will be better to set it up properly the first time.
Oh, and why buy a tinny when you can have a smooth riding, quiet, corrosion free Polycraft? 4 year hull warranty too.
Ive got a 4.55m Haven Sport with a 50hp on it, I did a lot of research when buying and IMO nothing came close to value for money. Quality wise they are a good strong boat as my brother also had a SJ on Thursday Island and his used to cop a hidding with no problems. The 50 on mine pushes nicely at about 48km/h (gps) with 3 blokes and a 100l esky, so i recon you might need at least a 50hp on a 4.7 depending on hull weight etc.
Bin455
I have a 5.2 setup as a center console. Bought over 8 years ago.I fit a 40 2st yammie from a old boat and used that for about4 years,now has 60 4st yammie.Just did a complete rebuild and re spray. Not one cracked weld found after 800+ hrs. A few dents and scrapes repaired and looks ok.pics are elsewhere,dont know how to post here.
For the price no other boat compairs IMO. I own a 4.55 SP with a 50hp yamaha on the back. Hull cost me a tad under $5k new. IMO if your going to get a seajay get the 4.55m+ models.
As they have reverse chine hulls which add alot to economy and a smooth ride. They have 3m bottom and 2m sides, few more ribs than other boats and a very deep keel which is great if your gunna trailer it with a bit of weight in.
IMO they are the best tinny you can get within the price range. If you want to get anything better you'll have to upgrade to somthing like a fisher or trailcraft which is nearly double in price.
Seajay and mako craft are probabaly the 2 toughest boats in the 4-5m range you can buy
Cheers all - much appreciated...will pass on the info.
THanks
Here is my new SeaJay. 5.0 Haven with targa and bimini and 80hp Yamaha, 100litre forward mount fuel tank.
I'm very happy with the finish and the boat rides like a bigger hull than 5 metres. It is beamy though and has their newish reverse edge.
Very happy with the RM500 Redco trailer that has an free form roller frame at the rear for easier off/on.
Steering by morse cable was borderline with many angled turns from the console to the motor so I fitted Hydraulic Steering after I took delivery of the boat. Fingertip control now !
Since, fitted a Furuno 4100 Sounder (with large transducer spray guard) and a Navman Colour plotter.
Horizon boats came close when I went searching for a new tinnie. Took me ages to sort through it all.
PWCDad
Hi Ozzsccott, we got a Sea Jay Haven 5.8mtr Centre Console w/ a Honda 150 4 stroke, we love it, done over 300hrs in 18mths in most sorts of weather conditions with no complaints, no signs of of any cracks , but have got the same problem as most with painted Aly hulls, paint bubbling around fittings gauges, drain plugs, rod holders, generally anywhere that a drill was used!!!
Looking to upgrade to a 6.2 Centre Cab, and looks as if Gold Star may be the one, see there is a distributer in Qld for them, have a look at there boats , very impressive, and price is reasonable.
Eddy
I have a seajay535 magnum converted to cc with 60 merc 4 stroke i get 60 klm hr on gps and couldnt be happier with the whole rig
i have a 4.55 haven sport for sale if your mates interested
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=115137
They are a great boat and we would keep it (if we could afford two boats) but we want to upgrade to a bigger boat with a cabin for offshore.
Petra