New Yamaha or Suzuki ?????
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New Yamaha or Suzuki ?????

New Yamaha or Suzuki ?????

Hi Ausfishers,

I am looking for informed opinons to help with a new Four stroke outboard selection.

The motor will be pushing 5.1 meters and 800Kg of plate centre console around the bay and offshore. Suzuki do a 90HP/Yamaha do a 80HP.

The Suzuki seems to win on the specs, but I was happy with my last Yamaha.

Thanks.

Dan.

Re: New Yamaha or Suzuki ?????

Quote Originally Posted by Dantren View Post
    Hi Ausfishers,

I am looking for informed opinons to help with a new Four stroke outboard selection.

The motor will be pushing 5.1 meters and 800Kg of plate centre console around the bay and offshore. Suzuki do a 90HP/Yamaha do a 80HP.

The Suzuki seems to win on the specs, but I was happy with my last Yamaha.

Thanks.

Dan.
    Dan, I have a yammy 100 on the 519 searunner. Brilliant on the juice. 2 trips out to the banks bout 95kms each trip for about 30l.

Wags

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

I had a 90 Suzi. No problems. Will be getting a 175 Suzi on the new boat. FIVE YEARS is a lot of warranty.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Suzuki or Honda would be my selection. We had a 150 hp Yamaha V-max two stoke on our old 6 meter boat and the fuel economy was GREAT!!! 1 L per nautical mile...(two-stroke).....If i had to choose between the suzukis and the YAmaha four strokes i would choose the suzukis because of the new technology but i hav nuttin against the yammies.

cheers alex

Hi Dantren,

most will say I am pushing a barrow here and I probably am!

Have a look at the new model Honda BF90 it's the leader in it's class.

Retired Honda Master Tech

Its hard to go past the 5 year warranty on the suzy compared to 2 years on the yammi. Its good to see suzy are backing their product.
    5 years ago I would have laughed at the thought of a suzy but I think with technology today they are all very comparable.

hav a look at the hondas.....We hav just bought a Haines Hunter 680 patriot with a 225 honda and it has alot of power and the fuel economy is great...A boat f this size u would of thought it would use alot of fuel but the fuel economy with a honda is 1 Letre per nautical mile..

cheers alex

mate had a suzy 115 on the last boat it was a great motor heaps of power and great on fuel. now on the new boat is a 225 yammy 4 stroke great motor, lots of power good on fuel. if we ever get a new motor it would be a suzi because of the 5 year warrenty.

cheers tassie JR

5 year warranty - but what is excluded and under what conditions to the warranty become null and void if you were to experience a problem? In the end, you pay more for piece of mind that under certain probabillities you will never need, but at least you had the piece of mind that if it should break they will replace it??? Sorry, I am a sceptic when it comes to this logic.

What annoyes me is that if I were to request a standard 1 year factory warranty at purchase and they can keep their 5 year warranty sales gimmick but give me the benefit in reduced price because I do not want that option and I really do not want to pay for it, well then you can forget it. You take it all and pay for it or you go somewhere else.

But that was not your question was it?

I am a Yamaha fan personally, so that would have been my choice. (Two stroke, because if it breaks I want to be able to work on it when I am stuck in the middle of nowhere)

Wessel

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

Wessel,
    The price on Suzis has not changed with the arrival of the five year warranty. Same for Honda. As for exclusions, there are none, apart from the normal clause 13s. For example, no cover if you run the motor without water. And regular services as per the manual, but they do not have to be done by a Suzi dealer
    You can get a ONE year warranty. Tell the dealer it is for commercial use. You might get a few bucks off.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Get an etec, they pull all other brands backwards ;p

As of the 1st of this month Yamaha are now offering a four year warranty on all of there four stroke outboard motors, a condition of that warranty is that it must be serviced by an authorized Yamaha dealer.

A new 3 year warranty applies to 2 strokes

Mate i was just faced with this choice my self,having owned a suzi for 6 years and putting over 4,500 hrs on her with basically no trouble the choice i had to make on the new boat this time was the weight factor.Because i was looking in the 60hp range the yammie came in a lot more under weight than the suzi so i sort of had to go the yammie.I have used the 140/115/90/70 hp suzi and the 40/50/60/80/100/115/150 yammies the suzi is the choice of engine by far in this 90/80hp catergory.Warranty's aside both engine's are very good in build quality and most people that i know have never have a serious warranty claim or issue with either engine so now it come's down to your personal preferance.My choice in this engine class would be suzi.Dan.....

think its be said before go BLACK you wont go back suzi,s are just that good ian

Hi Dan,
    From my personal experience: I've had one Zuke, and will never never never have another. Ever. Go a Honda or an Etec or a Yammy or a Tohy or a Merc, but give the Zuke a big miss.