ICe BOx Material - Fiberglass vs Poly
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: ICe BOx Material - Fiberglass vs Poly

ICe BOx Material - Fiberglass vs Poly

HI Team.

Wanting to know is fiberglass is the best material for keeping ice as ice and keeping fish fresh to optimal condiiton??

I am tossing up whehter to get a fiberglass box or polyeurathane plastic for a slurry box and chill box.

If fiberglass is the best, what brands are recommended? I ahve checked out evacool but what are others??

SPlash

Ausfish Premium Member

Re: ICe BOx Material - Fiberglass vs Poly

Ive got both. Prefer the poly in the boat. Doesn't ding the boat and never needs repair. Keeps ice for days

I have both the poly is good cos it's tuff as hell but the f/glass definatly hold's ice longer.I think you should look at how the esky is sealed before you buy as some of them are a bit dodgy look for a good tuff rubber seal and not that foam sticky tape stuff i know it can be replaced but rubber give's a better seal.Dan.....

Splash, i believe fiberglass eskys are better for keeping ice longer.
    Depends on what your demands are when using one!
    Glass eskys perform better over longer periods of time.
    Replacing ice is less frequent (perfect for long camping trips).
    In saying that there is nothing wrong with poly eskys, they just require more "cooling" maintenance but they are a good cheaper, alternative!!

cheers daz...
    Last edited by fish-freak; 03-07-2007 at 06:51 PM.
    FISH-FREAK

Fibreglass is dearer, but better for keeping the cold in.

Poly is cheaper, but much more durable and can literally be 'thrown about' fairly roughly without suffering any damage.

Best rule of thumb with poly is to have a big one, and heaps of ice and you'll never have any trouble keeping fish cold for overnighters. Past that they start to lose their cool. Heaps of ice is no worries if you freeze 2.5 litre fruit juice bottles.

Will send you a PM

mate i have a boat box which is a fibreglass seat box and i can honestly say that i have had to put bags of ice back in the frezzer at the end of the day, where as the the poly is just cold water cheers ian

sid
    i agree with the glass. i always refreeze my bags of ice at end of day.

greg

Ausfish Platinum Member griz066's Avatar

Go the polly I have a Tropical 205ltr and love it keeps ice for 4 days that I know of
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

I've got a polly and I always have ice to put back in the freezer, and will keep ice for 4 days in summer here, all for the price of 110 bucks delivered off ebay, poly are cheaper and tuffer,

Give a man a fish and feed him for a day , teach a man to fish and feed him for life .

I was in this exact same situation a few weeks ago and whilst I started out adamant I was going to buy a fibreglass box I ended up with a Poly one.

I wanted a long, low and narrow box for Spanish Mackeral and whilst the fibreglass option would probably have kept the ice longer, it was 3 times the price.

I have used mine now and have kept ice for two days and still had plenty left. So I don't think it is a major issue for the couple of days of fishing we do. Maybe if we were gone for a week it might be different.

I ended up with a 200L IK200 Ice Kool box for $350.

http://www.icekool.com.au/ik200.htm

The version I got has two handles on each end and cam type clips on the front, which is a little different from the pic on the above website. I am guessing this is an upgrade to the model from when the pic on the website was taken.

I wonder if polycraft owner's only buy poly esky's????????

Quote Originally Posted by Dan5 View Post
    I wonder if polycraft owner's only buy poly esky's????????

LOL no need to wonder

Cam, i have a few of both, cant go past the glass esky for holding ice, but they do tend to scratch and mark easy, easy fix is get a canvas cover made for em, if your going to use the esky for camping and other long term outings then go glass, plastic esky are good for day trips really, good for a day outing on the boat, and dont really matter if they get knocked around a bit, i carry two on my boat, the 120L evakool, which is strapped down in front of the console out of harms way, and thats only to keep the catch in, and the other 70L plastic is behind the seatbox and thats for food n drinks

The shell or casing material makes very little difference in regards to insulating. The biggest difference is in the type and quality of the insulating material there is a large range in the "R" rating between types of polyurethane and foam.

we've got both, a top dollar fibreglass baileys one for camping which keeps ice good for ages but is a bit fragile for knocking around and a cheaper poly one for in the boat that still keeps ice good but can handle a few knocks. we figured that all of our boating is day trips so our boating ice box doesn't have to be as good or as big as our camping one. super cheap had good poly ones at the right price (that's what our poly one is anyway) they were $99 for 100l box.

THanks boys.

GOod input.

Is it good to have a deeper well box for slurry mix?

I saw a guy on Port DOuglas beach yesterday with two fiberglass boxes - one was evacool and the other brand unknown. THis unknown brand appeared stornger with thicker lid and better seal. I know the EVAcool glass boxes have basic rubber tape as seals - looks a bit dodgy to me.

THoughts.

Splash