The Cape bombs again!

Thread: The Cape bombs again!

The Cape bombs again!

I have some family over from NZ (wife's side) at the moment and hoped to show them some of our great fishing areas. We've just got in from a great day on the water, but again all our best laid plans to catch a feed failed.

I got done over by a couple of nice fish, but we failed to boat a keeper scale.

I dunno why we cant seem to get among them around moreton, I've worked out some good marks, we find the structure, and the bait, do all the usual work out whats what stuff before we drop, right rigs, good baits, we can see the fish but they just don't seem to want to come out to play!

I reckon I might just give Moreton a big miss in the future or find someone who has it worked out who can reveal the secrets!!!

The good news was we only used 125 litres to travel around 120 miles by the gauge...this f200 is brilliant, twice the go with half the flow and we circumnavigated the island for the first time, saw some whales and a huge pod of dolphins so not all was lost!

We're heading out from Mooloolabah tomorrow early so hopefully will be able to get among them on some more familiar territory.

Re: The Cape bombs again!

Those flames are scaring them in the shallows Rhys

Touche' Greg!

Hi Ryhs,
    I heard you trying to log on this morning i was sitting up at tempest listening to the fiasco.Mate youve got more patience than me.Poor old roy at the VMR was having a bad day
    Cougarman

Rhys - you have to be happy with that sort of mileage from a big 200.

Cya out there SOON !!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Greg P View Post
    Rhys - you have to be happy with that sort of mileage from a big 200.

Cya out there SOON !!!!!!!!!!

Fishers and Riptides!!!! I didn't think you guys spoke

Ian - we Fisher guys like to wave as we go past
    Last edited by Greg P; 02-07-2007 at 08:27 PM.

Careful Greg

After Fraser i think Rhys sees him self as some sort of Offshore power boat racer!!! ..... Stefan?

Rhys, I was out on Brennan's last night and picked up a few - snappery squire, small AJ, cod - bit of a mixed bag really. Though we'd be in for a wet ride home with the weather that afternoon but it really glassed out at sunset. Had one whale go past and one dolphin harrass us for a couple of hours. Wished I was out there again today. Must admit, I've never done extremely well out there - bring on some better weather for Mooloolaba again.

Lee.

Hey Rhys,

Sounds like the motor is paying for itself big time. Be interested to hear how you go out off the sunny coast I've heard some big knobs have come in close. I can't wait to get back into it!

Keep in touch.
    Craig.

The fishings been tough this year Rhys! Not like last year... Keen to see how you went off here today.
    Ben.

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Me thinks you were doing "practice" laps around the island Rhys, not circumnavigating it ...getting ready for Qualifying again mate????

Rhys i use to fish the cape alot with my brother about ten years ago
    we used to do allright but we would usually burley up heaps and use 6 to 10 kilo line with very little sinker if any at all and no trace i think they spook really easily in that shallow water around there.

cheers pete...

Saw you heading back home from Mooloolahbah last night ( Your easy to spot) how did you go?