Thread: Lipper Mayhem

Lipper Mayhem

Headed out from the harbour on the coast about 3 15 pm for a spot i've been wanting to hit for a long time, left in beautiful conditions with an 8 knot NE blowing (it should of been a WSW) so after an hour and ten minutes we arrived , found some great show on the bottom and achored up for the night .

First bait down brought a great sized grassy up with dad following up with the same , next bait's some tuskie's with more hussars following , this continued on till 11 pm , constantly bringing up undersized reds with the occasionly good sized spanlged sweeplips, managed a red throat lipper and a finger mark and a good cod about 8 kg . After relising that i left the gas bottle in the shed we ended up having some cold chicken for dinner and settled in for couple hours of sleep before the morning.
    Up at four am seen us with the same senirio , scoring only one legal red emporer at 57 cm we picked up some more good lippers spangled and grassyies with some more good tuskie's .About 8 am in the morning we left heading for home the weather was a bit sloppy in one section but absolutly marvellous around the islands making it ideal for the local boats for the sunday, also ran into local Ausfisher Bay firey aka Mark and his son Mitch, hope youse faired well guys.

Did some videoing so i'll post that sometime this week.
    Last edited by jtpython; 01-07-2007 at 07:57 PM. Reason: adding pics
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Re: Lipper Mayhem

well done mate looks like a nice haul there

Nice report. We left from the harbour early this morning and the place was packed! We had to line up to launch and there were boats everywhere. We went down south to some spots east of Hummocky but only got a few Red Jew.

You got a pic of the Red Emperor?

I was going to go to that ground off hummocky chasing snapper but this spot had me hooked into hitting it for a while, Were there any size to the red jew mate?
    It will be in the video i'll post probaley tommorrow, he was only 57 . We landed so many from 20cm to the 50 cm mark, i thought we may off got some red jew too but alas nope.
    cheers mate
    VHF CHANNEL 21

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

some nice fish there mate well done!

certainly is a nice haul that you got. was also great to catch up at the ramp and meet u and your father. we ended up going to hannahs and only came home with 2 parrot, caught a few undersize cod, and i caught undersize red emperor

Went to the pinnacles off hummocky. Heaps on the sounder not much on the chew.(plenty of trigger fish) Got a makky on the way home to make me feel better.Next couple of nights are looking good though.

good job some good fish there

Good to see you got something off hanners Mitch magic weather for you thou , Warti i didn't hear too much of anyone getting anything real close, A mate of mine went out to Douglas Shoals, They got an esky full between them but not what they expected for the distance i think there was 7 of them all up. I heard the spearing boys didn't fair well either. I did notice that when we were fishing that it was a NE swell right up into the night where we were and in the morning a SSW , So wether or not that played a part or not.

Tell Dad i was thinking about him while i was having grilled lipper with lemon sandwich last night Mitch
    VHF CHANNEL 21

Tell Dad i was thinking about him while i was having grilled lipper with lemon sandwich last night Mitch
    dont need to worry bout him he doesnt eat the fish we catch

me on the other hand

mmmmmm , where have I read that post before.
    you get around JT.
    Pickers

Very good haul there JT.
    Was great to catch up for a few minutes and yes we will have to get together for a drink of two, I am sure newchum would be keen as well

We got 2 keepers, better than we normally do, will have to check the area out more, there seems to be some good ground around the area.

Quote Originally Posted by jtpython View Post
    Were there any size to the red jew mate?
    They weren't giants but enough to feed the family and the neighbours on Sunday night!