Thread: Tangalooma - mooring a boat

Tangalooma - mooring a boat

She who must be obeyed has decreed that we will have a weeks holiday at the Tangalooma resort in a week or so -well I suppose a man's got to do what a man's got to do.
    I haven't been there before and I'd like to take us across in my (very old) 5m 1/2cabin tinnie. We could then have a great time fishing around that local area. But I think that there might be problems with mooring it safely during the time we are there especially if the wind is any version of westerly.
    I spoke with the resort staff but they were less than helpful.
    I thought that I might slip over to have a look around but it may not be possible in the remaining time.
    I would be grateful if any Ausfishers who are familiar with the northern part of the bay could offer any information about the local area and what might be possible.
    cheers, Bazza

Re: Tangalooma - mooring a boat

In these westelies not loking good mate

You should be able to tie up to their jetty if you are staying there. You would have to check with the resort first.

its pretty good there for anchoring.......but there is an unwrittern law apparently that they own abit of water infront of the "get wet" sports so they can launch their tinnies...when i anchor there i just do the usual thing with the second anchor in the sand on the beach which i mark with a stick and a can(mainly in areas where 4wds are....with the westerlies at least your boat will face the right way.............jez

If your missus is anything like mine you only get one shot at getting this sort of thing right. If the ride there and back isn't half-way decent you'll hear about it for 12 months! Good luck and have a great holiday. Here's hoping the westerlys keep away for you.

hey bazza,

i used to work in the marine department there. tangalooma resort has around 5 or so moorings straight off the beach in which guests and members of the public can pay to tie up to it. not possible to tie up to the jetty as both the wavepiecers use both sides to unload from. ring the resort and tell them that your a guest and to be put through to 'club toys' and ask for luke the manager. he should be able to get you onto one. but bear in mind the westerlies as mike said. 2 yrs ago 3 boats ripped off their whole bow sprites and cleats in the westerlies when they get cranking, so bear that in mind. other than that you should have a ball.

fish guts

Quote Originally Posted by bazzacuda View Post
    She who must be obeyed has decreed that we will have a weeks holiday at the Tangalooma resort in a week or so -well I suppose a man's got to do what a man's got to do.
    I haven't been there before and I'd like to take us across in my (very old) 5m 1/2cabin tinnie. We could then have a great time fishing around that local area. But I think that there might be problems with mooring it safely during the time we are there especially if the wind is any version of westerly.
    I spoke with the resort staff but they were less than helpful.
    I thought that I might slip over to have a look around but it may not be possible in the remaining time.
    I would be grateful if any Ausfishers who are familiar with the northern part of the bay could offer any information about the local area and what might be possible.
    cheers, Bazza
    Bazza

Think carefully about going over to Tanga in a 5 M boat with these westerlies on, it can be a long way back.

As the other blokes have said, even mooring can be a problem if it's strong enough

"but bear in mind the westerlies as mike said. 2 yrs ago 3 boats ripped off their whole bow sprites and cleats in the westerlies when they get cranking"

Once came bak to Bribie from Tanga in a 20-25 NW, not fun, 20' boat

But, if you can get a good window, go for it, beautiful part of the bay

Bill

Catch the one of the big cats buddy.....dont wont to scare the family in these westerlies....have a great holiday not worring about the boat......if you wish to fish take a stroll up to the wrecks on sundown or down to shark spit. Pick summer for tangalooma!

Thank you very much fellas for your helpful responses, with the wind in the West for the next week or so it looks as if caution is the best policy - as it always is with the sea. They want a fortnights notice for the transport part of the holliday so waiting for a window is a bit difficult. I will follow up on Fish Guts info 1st thing on Monday morning mostly because the previous conversation I had with their staff was so unhelpful - basically I was told to pull it up on the beach somewhere away from the Resort property I see if there are options for another day. Its a hard thing to do but it seems I will leave the boat at home this time. This thread seems to have tipped the 'scales' so to speak.
    cheers, Bazza

I've seen a fair surf breaking on the beach near Bulwer (north of Tangalooma, but faces the same way). Any strong wind with a bit of west in it could cause problems. This time of year, 30 knot W or SW winds are very much on the cards.

The other option is to anchor between the wrecks and the island. The line of wrecks must give some protection, but not much apparently. You then have to walk to the resort - maybe a kilometre or so from memory. Have a look at Google Earth - it has a fairly detailed image of the area.

Bazza,I go over there every year,I take my 4wd.I have been over in a boat before and you can moor your boat behind the wrecks in safety. There are heaps of boaties that do it every weekend.It is very well protected.
    Regards Brian

yep, you sure can moor it there. but will it be there in the morning? the current fair rips through there and it's damn easy for a boat to slip it's anchor there. we do day trips to moreton a bit but when we stay for a week we chuck the fourby on the barge because i wouldn't be able to sleep at night worrying about the boat. the west coast of moreton is paradise i reckon but i do know of quite a few boats coming to grief there on the beach in a westerly.