Good report handy job for brother sam wish i could on to them keep missing then
With the gusty s/w wind this morning it was too dangerous to lay the large roof sheets on our job.Why not go up to Bribie for a tailor sesion.
About 10 we drove on the surf beach.My brother is a ranger on the island and gave me the report on the beach for the last few days .He is also a keen fisher.
He said monday near high they were thick 10 metres behind the break.Caught his bag limit in about 1/2 an hour on slugs.(not on work time).I met him on the beach as he had done an early patrol .He said the netters had 1/2 a tonne near the camping ground but the was still activity near third lagoon.
We drove up to the bunker without seeing any activity whatsoever.Except for the netters still empting their net.As we neared the 3rd lagoon area on the way back down we stumbled across the schools of tailor hoeing into hardy head.First cast i got one about 40cm .2nd cast the same.All up got 10 fish before the school moved on .What suprized me was these fish were on low tide middle off the day so if you got there at the right time you should do well.
One surprise catch of a legal sand flattie on a slug while casting at schools of tailor.Must have been a quick little bugger to beat those choppers.
good luck
Good report handy job for brother sam wish i could on to them keep missing then
Gee sounds like that is as easy as it gets not many trips like that one. Actually I dont think I've ever caught that many in that sort of time.
Cheers Chris
Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.
It really isnt that easy lovey.I do lots of trips where i dont pull the rod of the car,others where we dont catch a fish after lots of casts.I dont bother reporting them as of little interest.One thing you can be sure of though when you find these schools it is easy.Every cast is a fish and if you drop one on the way in you usually pick up another before the end of your retrieve.Its worth just driving up and down the beach looking for these schools.Especially at the moment as there are no gutters .
Thanks Sambos, good to here there is some good fishing on Bribie.
Ive got a 4b but don't have a permit so I am limited to surf fishing, would it be a wast of time trying for tailor at the 4b entrance?
Cheers, Mick.
Gday mick
mate there rarely is gutters in this area the only fish you will catch will be these schools moving through.Its just a matter of being in the right spot at the right time.The fish do travel right past there in close in the westerlies on there migration north .Its worth buying a yearly permit if you can $100 odd if you get the oppotunity to go regularly .the monthly permit is lust to dear at 30 something
No worries mate, thanks.
Mick.
Looks like I will have to dig out the Surf gear and go for a drive and do some serious walking up and down the beach up there. Wow that will be one way to loose a few more kilos as well as MAYBE land a tailor or two.
Don't own a 4x4 here but enjoy the walking
Foxy that woul be a serious walk from 8th ave .the last car park for 2wd.from there to 3rd lagoon (the main area you seem to find the schools )approx 5-6km but if your keen as you say good luck mate
If i see someone walking along with a rod in hand i had better stop an see if they need a lift