G'day all, I want to make a live tank myself, i need it big enough to keep a few bream but small enough to put in a 13ft tinnie..what do use and how do construct it ?? thanks
I made a "temp" one out of a esky....works great insulated, locking lid...just bolted it onto the back of the boat...i have a bilge pump on the back to top it up with fresh water, and a overflow at the top....put in a drain in the bottom and that was it....it was ment to be replaced with a custom job..but it works that well im keeping it...
..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec
Do you need to pump air into the water or just a fresh flow of water ?
g `day ,i made my live bait tank out of a storage bin that you can get from any marine supplier.i put the pump on the transom fitted a few skin fittings to the boat ,which ment drilling a couple of hole in the side ,three skin fittings went in the tank,one for the drain, one for the inlet and one for over flow.i didn`t bother with any air line and i can keep bream alive all day.it fits nicely out of the way with a timber frame i made up.
I built mine into a bait board that had a sink underneath. Got a standard bait tank with a lid and then modified it. I cut the bottom out of the sink and glued the tank in with sikaflex.
As long as you dont overload it i reckon you can get by without a airpumo , as long as yoy top up the water often
Trueblue....nice board, was that a with the boat or a aftermaket job ?
The bait board (less the livie tank obviously) was on the boat when I bought it. There is no manufacturers mark, so I am presuming it was made by Barry's Marine in Home Hill who build the boat (Dale boat).
Its a fantastic board, and even better now the live well is inside it. With the lid closed on the live well, it is basically the same as it was, with a sink under the cutting board.
I got the idea for the conduit as a drain from a mate of mine. There are two overflows, one through the side, and the other over and out through the conduit. Then when you want to drain it, just pull out the conduit as that is the plug as well.
Lots of people have commented on the design, but believe me it was a matter of necessity being the mother of invention on this one.
Well done lads - those designs are great. I was tossing up putting one in my boat so know I have a few options to consider. I reckon the esky is a good way to go...
Food for thought.
Puff
TRUEBLUE,you should go into business selling them ,very tidy!
Looks good trueblue well done .
Believe me, I have thought about it. It would not be hard at all to take this one off the boat and make a mould of it and then make them as a purpose built unit all out of glass.
Until you use it, you just don't appreciate how ultra convenient it is to have the live well at that height. The weight up that high is negligable and does not affect the ride or stability of the boat at all.
The pick up flows water through the tank when the boat is at speed even without the pump running.
Initially I thought it was a little small, but I can fit 25 + good size slimies etc in it no worries with none dying on me.
Thanks guys, you have got some awesome set ups there, I'll see how I go
well economy wise just use a plasters bucket 20 litre and a aretor pump does me cause if the fish are on the livies go quick cheers
perfect for yakkers chasing macrarell and good out wide cheers