Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: true plate boats???

true plate boats???

Been reading alot of threats stating, this particular boat is ture plate boats and other brands aren't. So the quesiton is , what makes it a true plate boat.

1. materials is 5083 h21 grade
    2. Stringers welded to the bottom sheets.
    3. clinker?? I beleive you can bend plate boats.
    4. Pressed bottoms plates??

Ok now some information. My 4.85 trailcraft is marketed as plate. It has 5083 bottoms which are 4mm. clinker sides which are 3mm grade is 5251.

Now formosa are are marketed as plate boats. 3mm sides 4mm bottoms. Material used for both are 5251. Bottoms are pressed in the v shape like alllycraft.
    They don't use stringers either. Instead of stringers they use C Channel welded to the keel.

My new boat is Tabs 5.45, 5083 material and has stringers welded to keel. smooth sides??. Is this a plate or just clever marketing.

alot of members says fisher, riptide are true plate boats, Why is that so

So what do you think guys

Re: true plate boats???

Riptide, AMM, Sportfish, JBS, Fisher, Rebel, Lightning, are CUSTOM built plate boats here in Brisbane. There may be more, but these are the well known brands. And IMO, true plate boats are not pressed. They are fully welded with a frame, keel, bulkheads, stringers, self draining sealed deck & built to the owners requirements. There is generally a five year hull warranty.
    They probably are dearer because of this but that fact will not detract from the qualities of any other boat. If you are happy with YOUR alloy boat then that is all that matters.
    Last edited by peterbo3; 27-06-2007 at 07:55 PM. Reason: 1
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

I class a plate boat as a boat with stringers welded to the bottoms sheets.

As with Customs built plate boats ---> You can only custom the layout of the interia, as in where the seats are, the hight of the hardtop etc. But the hull remains the same.

Gidday Guys .
    Thinking of a tabs at the moment any thoughts?
    Also like sportfish boats do they have a web site?
    And finally anyone got any other ideas for a plate boat around 4.8 to 5.0 for creek and abit of bluewater
    thanks regards gary

Quote Originally Posted by timddo View Post

I class a plate boat as a boat with stringers welded to the bottoms sheets.

As with Customs built plate boats ---> You can only custom the layout of the interia, as in where the seats are, the hight of the hardtop etc. But the hull remains the same.
    Hi Tim
    I reckon that there is a bit more to it than stringers welded to the bottom plates. You can have more or less deadrise, heavier or lighter plate, more or less beam, in survey & the list goes on....................provided your changes are certified by a naval architect & the builder will/can do it. Of course, all this will cost heaps more.
    But that is what PLATE boats are all about. You work with the builder to achieve exactly what you want................as opposed to a mass production boat where options are very limited
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

.lures if your near Nth QLD, PM me for a local builder who I can 100% recomend

Technically materials that boats are made of determine if they are plate or sheet boats. Less than 3mm thick metals are sold as sheet and are usually pressed to give them strength. 3mm and heavier metals are marketed as plate. When we order metals it is ordered are either plate or sheet depending on thickness.

However I regard a plate boat as a non pressed hull with bottom and side thicknesses of 3mm or greater. Whether the stringers or the bulkheads are welded to the outer hull plates is a matter of design in construction.

Tunaticer that's how i see it also, same thing we order up to 3mm sheet's above that it's 4mm plate but we also call a piece of say 10mm to 40mm a sheet of plate!So really any flat metal material could be called plate/sheet or whatever you want to call it!!All ally boat's in" my opinion" all started off as a flat plate/sheet.
    Cheers Dan........

lures,i have recently purchased a 4.8mtr centre console (true blue plate)boat which was made on the gold coast. I drove from Coffs Harbour for a day trip to inspect this boat and fell in love at first sight. A good friend of mine who also lives in Coffs has also just purchased a 5.2 mtr plate (twin skin) centre console. These boats ride like a glass boat at half the weight.

Quote Originally Posted by Shane Dyer View Post
    lures,i have recently purchased a 4.8mtr centre console (true blue plate)boat which was made on the gold coast. I drove from Coffs Harbour for a day trip to inspect this boat and fell in love at first sight. A good friend of mine who also lives in Coffs has also just purchased a 5.2 mtr plate (twin skin) centre console. These boats ride like a glass boat at half the weight.
    G'day Shane.
    Mate, very interested to see the 5.2m boat you are referring to here, as i always thought that glass boats ride better because of the weight. I would love to see how to duplicate that ride in a boat half the weight.

Damo
    Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.

Deiter,
    Check Shane Dyer's avatar. The brand is clearly advertised there.

I brought a Blue Water Alloy plate half cabin over 12 months ago. Top build quaility. I believe since i've had mine, Motor Marine in Townsville are selling them for NQ buyers. Once you see the quality and ride in it, you'll understand why not many other plate boat brands get remotely close.

Formosa do have stringers welded to the 4mm bottom but the bottom is actually pressed just to confuse further...see attached pic of underfloor of a 520 during build

may be welded to the bottom but they still arent a plate boat, good value for money tho i hear.
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"

Heres a pic of our Fisher when under consruction, it has full hieght stringers that are welded to bttm sheets and will have floor welded across top, to form a very deep and strong hull structure.

Ceers Horto