Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Boat Ramp Idiot # 96723

Boat Ramp Idiot # 96723

So i am coming home from work today across the Houghton hwy and i am greeted by a flat bay. I thought it was meant to be windy, anyway i get home run around throwing rods lures esky etc in the boat 15 mins later boat is ready and i drive for 3 mins to the boat ramp . When i get there this bloke is there with his wagon parked in the middle of the ramp and has his canoe pulled up on the sand beside the ramp and two rods out in rod holders planted in the sand .
    He turned around and saw me and then proceeds to pack all his gear into his car, but he had to put his canoe on tie it down, and his rods and fishing gear. Anyway 15 mins later i finally launch my boat .
    Anyway that is my whinge.
    Marty.
    P.S. - Got a couple of small squire and straightened out a hook on a 40- 45cm model...
    That is the last time i will use a 1/12 1h jighead while chasing snaps.

Re: Boat Ramp Idiot # 96723

so unless you yell at them they wont learn, its a common problem, its like being an apprentice, size 10 boot everyday, you soon learn, maybe thats the answer

fishing Margate mate???

Brian

Brian,
    Other end mate Queens beach north.
    Marty.

Quote Originally Posted by sid_fishes View Post
    so unless you yell at them they wont learn, its a common problem, its like being an apprentice, size 10 boot everyday, you soon learn, maybe thats the answer
    Dunno mate, some of them know full well what they're doing. I had one a while ago, had just finished getting bungs in and tie downs off when clever dick nips past (he had just arrived) backs onto ramp and starts loading rods and esky etc etc. Asked pretty politely if he was going to be long and got a thousand words for my trouble, immediate aggro! I really didn't need a punch up with my 6yo looking on, but lets just say I have a good memory for faces....

Marty, some nice ground out that way, specially once you get away from Scarbie Reef. Been doing a bit of reccy work up there lately, couple of frieght trains I reckon might be cod have got the better of me.
    Dont let the boof heads get to you mate, un-fortunately the world is full of inconsiderate/un-careing people.

Brian

Queens Beach is a nice ramp as long as you don't have easterly winds!!

Just a short run to some nice patches.

Sounds like a lot of ramps , have been so tempted to grab a couple mates a carton of piss some deck chairs and sit at our boat ramp and watch the monkey's perform, With that circus music playing in the background.
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

I can't cop inconsiderate people or stand-over merchants (re: bank fishing etiquette, saltwater chat) anyway give 'em a gobfull and let em know you're not gonna cop it sweet...................... I do agree however with Brumby re his youngun looking on................. but it would take me awhile to get over the need to smack him in the face repeatedly......... I hate feeling unsatisfied....

Quote Originally Posted by shaman View Post

I hate feeling unsatisfied....
    That's what the deckie keeps saying

Marty, don't let it get to you mate. Leisure time is hard to come by, I know, and these idiots seem to make it even harder to come by, but it's just par for the course nowadays.

Brumby, good on yer mate. have to admit that I haven't, (on occasion), behaved admirably in front of the kids, when someone has invaded my 'fishing space" (ended up in court once for losing my rag) We just have to cop it sometimes, in order to teach the kids to be cool.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Quote Originally Posted by jtpython View Post
    Sounds like a lot of ramps , have been so tempted to grab a couple mates a carton of piss some deck chairs and sit at our boat ramp and watch the monkey's perform, With that circus music playing in the background.
    I have done that a few times, minus the beer and the music. I often tell my boys that if you are looking for some cheap entertainment, head down to the boat ramp and watch for a while! It is amazing what things you will see. It does not matter where in the world you are, boatramps are all the same.

it does make you wonder sometimes,,,, and most of the time it makes you think what they would do if they knew who you were,,, ie a mate or a mate of a mate

spinnaker sound ramp was chaos last trip out,,, when we ventured back in,,, boats everywhere trying to get in to find a spot to beach and wait there turn in loading up and going home,,,

the bottleneck was an elderly chap,,, loading a 15 footer by himself,,, and having all sorts of drama,,, whilst the ramp was cordened off by the cleaner high pressure cleaning all the moss and crap of it,,,, scenario,,, 4 boat ramp,,, one access lane open,,, and a bloke under pressure knowing that people were waiting and no bastard helping,,,

we come along,,, sight problem,,, and beach tinny on the ramp and help load boat,,, in the process i noticed his main problem was trying to keep the boat centered whilst pulling it on the trailer,,,(tide kept catching it and drew it out),, i offered a piece of advise of tying a rope to the stern,,, and running up to the opposite bow point for any future trips,, and this problem will dissappear when trying to load by himself,,,, all is well,,, lots of thanks and his away,,,

at least 6-7 boaties stood around,, and done absolutely nothing but mumble and whinge under there breaths on how long he was taking,,,

my reward,,,,,,,,,,,, i blocked the ramp,,,, no waiting to load the tinny,,, the bloke who was doing the high pressure cleaning advised he was caught out and couldn't drop all the gear when he pulled up,,,, but gave my little tinny a quick wash down and sent me on me way,,,,,,,,

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Boat Ramps... don't get me started!!! I'll never end!

Our 'latest' incident was about a fortnight ago, when we were just about to reverse down the Ramp and put the Boat in the water. We were first to the Ramp, and we had just momentarily stopped to do up the bungs, take off the straps etc... when some fella in his 'City Landcruiser' (which has probably never seen dirt before!!!) towing a 'Team Stacer' trailer stops side on to us and yells out 'Hey... you launching or what!' in a very impatient manner. Somehow, I and fellow mates re-strained ourselves and did our business at our normal pace, and we were done. We got in our boat, and just lulled around the area for some minutes, and we watched how slow he was in loading his Cabin Stacer Boat (which, shouldn't be on Tinaroo in the first place!). Much to our amusement, there were 2 or 3 blokes waiting to load their vessels onto trailers and take off, and boy did they give it to this bloke! Good on them too!

Plenty more where that came from!

Theo.
    Last edited by TinarooTriumph; 25-06-2007 at 10:08 PM. Reason: Computer woes...
    TT

Last edited by TinarooTriumph; 25-06-2007 at 10:04 PM. Reason: Computer woes
    TT

Marty,

The Snaps will need a HW ( thicker) hook or you will be straightened with anything less.

As for the ramps, Yep, almost every time there's a line up there's one stuffing around.. But the best I ever saw wasn't at a ramp, it was at a servo immediately after getting off the barge after Fraser Island, and everyone wanted the air hose to re inflate the tyres after running them low on Fraser.

One guy decided to be smart and approached the air and water from the other end, driving right in, while the long lineup watched in amazement. The owner of the fourby two in front of me didn't ask any questions, walked right up to the offender who had his window wound down didn't he. POW!! Right in the kisser!!

I don't support violence, but it was one heck of a sight to see, and the only time I felt good about seeing someone cop a flogging. Fortunately it didn't go further, someone got the message and kept driving. A wise choice not to get out of the car!!