• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • edleigh7

• Jun 2007

Tailor Mouth of Brisbane River

Hey everyone.....I'm thinking of floating a pillie at fishermans island in the morning or evening for tailor. Am i just dreaming or should i get some squid and go for bream? Maybe have a spin while its quiet...any lure suggestions anyone?

Anyone seen any tailor about for a land based fisho like myself....no boat

Be interested to find out if anyone has been catching any in this area?

Ed
  • theclick

• Apr 2007

Re: Tailor Mouth of Brisbane River

Well if ya dont get a tailor you may get something else interested, so give it a try. People catch bull (wrong season). threaddies, large flatties and sometimes jews in that region. Go nuts, give it a try
    Perception Swing Flatty and bream angler
    Landbased Too.
    Subaru Lover

Comment

• edleigh7

• Jun 2007

Thanks theclick I'll give it go....see whats out there, might pick up something interesting

Any suggestion on lures i could use for bream?

Ed

Comment

• shaman
        • Nov 2005

some big threadies there and I can't see why you wouldn't nail the odd chopper.
        Friggin cold enuff at the moment....... I haven't seen any jew there for awhile but it's the right season..... try a small livie or bonito fillet............. fresh tailor fillet on a crispy bread roll for brekky mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Comment

• mugg

• May 2007

go for it mate you never know what you'll get. i caught a nice little snapper there three weeks ago good luck

Comment

• Dantren
            Ausfish Gold Member

• Apr 2006

Tailor are there - and they will take poppers that are cast with precision.

Comment

• B_E_N
              Ausfish Gold Member
              • Jan 2007

hey ed, might be worthwhile throwing a rod out for jew while your tailor fishing or even bream fishing, heard about a month back people were catching bream with their bellies full of small squid so maybe some of those small squid soft plastcis might do the trick,

ben

Comment

• tobig
                • Jul 2006

go for it i have caught big tailor around fisherman's island just find the bait fish

Comment

• edleigh7

• Jun 2007

Thanks everyone....couldn't make it there yesterday, the missuss made me re do the top tier of the pond!!

I was looking at the tides and might try and go one arvo/evening early this week to coincide with the high tide at i think 6pm tonite and 7pm tomorrow.

Let you guys know how i go!!

Ed

Comment

• edleigh7

• Jun 2007

Hey guys...had a quick go this arvo for a couple of hours(rain on and off)...floating and sinking a pillie. Got a couple of touches but nothing exciting . I'll give it another go tomorrow or the next day for a bit longer with pillies and maybe some squid.....i know their out there!!?!!

Ed

Comment

• 84mick
                      Ausfish Gold Member
                      • Aug 2006

Keep trying Ed, you will get something sooner or later!

Cheers, Mick.

Comment

Working...
                      X