Nice work mate, what sort of soft plastics were you using? There seems to be a few trevs round there at the moment.
Joel
Hit Noosa up this morning. Mainly targetting trevs on poppers. Ended up catching about 15 in total with a few falling to softies aswell. Kept 3 for a feed. At one point had over a metre of bull shark trying to steal one of the trevs. PRetty cool thing to see. Kinda puts me off wading out to deep when collecting bait and what not though! Lost one bigggg one, with the rest going around 40-50 cm. Good fun on the light stuff.
Jackah
Nice work mate, what sort of soft plastics were you using? There seems to be a few trevs round there at the moment.
Joel
Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill
Great stuff Ash.
Always good to see you get amonst the trevors
Is Kris still knocking about or has he traded fishing for love?
Catch up one of these days.
Herby
Good stuff jackash, I went out this arvo and nailed 3 Bigeyes in the Woods and saw a HUGE Tailor caught.
Sounds like you had a ripper sesh mate. Well done.
Was talking to a young fella yesterday, reckons he got about 40(dubious I know) Trevally down near the Harbour! Where abouts were you fishin?
Cheers Jeff.
Last edited by ffejsmada; 22-06-2007 at 08:27 PM.
Got them all in Woods. 4 inch watermelon drop shots were doing the damage. Quick retrieve across the surface.
Yep kris was with us herby... cant wait for caloundra this christmas. One of kris's mate caught a metre of queeny there, and gaffed a massive jewwy only the have the gaf break and lose the fish... incredibly they even got a massive jack on a slab of mullet in the surf there... you know the spot i think. I couldnt believe it but there are photos...
JAckash
Hey Ash,
me and marshie went fishing with Kris a couple of weeks ago.....I was just stoked to catch a small tailor on a popper!! Your bro was telling us some pretty funny fishing stories....especially about making you drive the boat when the trevs were busting up near the marker buoy in the broadwater.
Anyways we should tee up a session sometime!!!
cheers mate,
Simmo
HAha yeah the bastard... i spot the fish, i drive the boat while everyone else grabs a rod... wasnt particularly happy.
YEah krisso told me about the sesh. He is suddenly in love with floater rigs... cant get enough of them.
Definitely have to have a sesh some time soon.
Asho
they must be pretty patchy as i was there for 2 hours before dusk yesterday and not a single swirl was seen and all we managed were a few little bream on pillies.
luck of the draw i guess, sounds like u had a great sesh mate
Yeah we didnt see alot of action to be honest. Took a while for them to get going but had an hour or 2 where every 10 or so casts someone was atleast getting a hit. But yeah it didnt look like there would be fish hitting poppers... in terms of the amount of surface action we saw.
Good stuff Ash!
Yeah I know the spot and it doesn't surprise me .... I waent for a walk down there yesterday and saw a bloke pull in a decent size sweetlip .... amazing what washes thru there.
There were also a heap of birds feeding on whatever was working bait behind the breakers so not sure if they were tailor or macs or something else.
Say hi to Kris for me mate.
Later,
Herby
Yeah the old bull sharks can be a problem in the river.
Last year we had the same with the bullies stealing our fish.
I have seen BIG bull sharks in the river.....one was at least 5ft and jumped clean out of the water....
Here is a shot from last year that was the result of a bull shark.....
you guys have got it good up there at noosa,nice pic of the half trev.
If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!