Milkfish

Thread: Milkfish

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Milkfish

G'day guys,
    I'm after some help.
    There's a few Milkfish hangin' around in the Noosa system and I'd like some help and info as to go about trying to catch one.

I have heard of them being caught before but don't know how. Seems they were accidental catches whilst targetting other species.

Lures, cotton wool and bread in bread berley trail? I don't know.

Your help would be appreciated.

Cheers Jeff.

Re: Milkfish

They are pretty fussy Jeff but the are like LT's in skinny water when you pin them . I have only caught them on fly but I reckon you could apply the same techniques to conventinal gear . I find burlying them with bread to get them in the mood and the area usualy works and I usualy rig up a two hook system where I have a bread imitation that floats and one that drops under that one usualy a foot or so , this is probaly the best way to catch them in my opinion , but I reckon they are pretty cluey because if they look at it and refuse it you have to pull it out and put it in front of ithem again.
    I do know of some guys that have caught them on tiny shrimp imitations ( #6 hooks)when they are sipping the scum lines , and I have heard of them being caught on baitfish profiles about an inch long but very sparse. some guys get obsessed with these things and spend most of the day casting at them to end up with one or two fish
    make sure you have the line compacity as they have soft mouths , you can't muscle them . they have the ability (depending on the size) to peel 200m very quickly.
    how big are the ones you are seeing ?

Question Re: Milkfish

Hey Jeff,
    Are you sure they are Milkfish and not Tarpon????
    Its funny you should mention milkfish.....I saw some caught on another website (caught in Darwin)....and I was wondering if we get them this far south...?????

I have heard pound for pound they are one of the strongest fighters around...

Last edited by Pistol_P; 22-06-2007 at 04:14 PM.

They certainly do Pete, I could name a little spot on the coast but I think I wouldn't be able to show my face around town anymore

I have seen them in this landlocked spot around 80 cm easy, a ded set torpedo

Federation of Fly Fishers
    International Certified Casting Instructor
    Sunshine Coast Fly Fishers
    www.saltwaterflyfishers.org

Fantastic, in the last few months there's been reports of the odd bonefish and permit off the beach, we occasionally see tarpon around, you've already shown us the gts out there and now milkfish too. All the fast stuff is showing up! Good luck jeff, hope you get onto a few.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Pete, Yeah mate they're Milkies alright! My mates father caught one in the Nerang years back on a peeled prawn whilst fishing for Whiting.
    Towed him all over the joint. So they definitely get them here.
    I've had a couple of reliable blokes tell me they're Milkfish as well.
    Different tail fin than a Tarpon when you see them tailing.

Chris, Thanks for that info mate I really appreciate it.
    I reckon they're easy 60 cm plus. The fork in their tail would be about 20 cm from tip to tip.
    I've got some tiny Renosky shads about 20 mm long, I might try them in a bread berley trail but I reckon bread would be the best bait.

Thanks again. Jeff.

What the hell is a Milk fish? Are they good eating? what sort of areas do you catch them in. Ive seen tarpon caught but not a milkfish. Anyone got a photo of one?????

Cheers Chris
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

http://www.fishraider.com.au/Invisio...1147435196.jpg

Hope this works. Picture of Milkfish. 90 cm.

Hey Jeff,

Bread is definently the go. Burley up with bread for ages, then burley some more! Then place a un or lightly weighted bread bait or bread imitation fly in front of them and hopefully ure on! I have heard guys catching them in my area with this method, but havent tried it for myslef as of yet. Would love to catch one but, ive heard they go like shit off a shovel. Good luck hope you get a few.

Cheers, Mitch.

Ausfish Gold Member

Greetings all!
    I have fished for milkfish on and off around Ballina for the last 2 years. Have landed 2 of around 80cm but have lost over a dozen, mostly because they jump and throw the hook or straighten non-forged hooks.
    The fish I caught were on bread fished on 6lb braid with a 75cm 8lb mono leader joined by a small swivel. A bubble float is attached to the swivel.
    I berleyed up with floating bread, broken open sticks of French bread are quite good as they hold together and are not eaten quickly.
    Some bread about the size of a 5c is squeezed round a thick wire 10 or 12 hook so that it will float when cast close to the berley.
    When the fish are feeding they wave the top half of their tail out the water and make a lot of noise swirling round.
    When hooked they take off! I've lost most fish because the amount of water where they hang out is quite twisty and I have to give them quite a lot of drag to stop them charging off round a corner.
    Being a Brit. I also tried out a carp fishing bait - sweetcorn, and hooked and lost 2 fish after berleying an area for a few days. fished two kernels on the same rig but with a very small ball sinker instead of the bubble float. They are not edible!
    Released both of mine after a tough 15 minute fight apiece.
    Good Hunting! Rob.

Thanks for the great reply Pommy.

I tried to send you a PM but you've only got 2 posts up.

Excellent.I myself saw some BIG milkfish in a landlocked lagoon a few weeks back.But these blokes were closer to a meter.A pod of about 6 or seven of them were sifting through mouthfuls of sand as they were cruising along slowly.I think they were getting the algae that was growing ontop of the sand.Diddnt have any bread with me but i think if i did might have had a chance.Ben

I caught a couple in the castnet at the Albert river a fortnight ago, dads old grants fishing book reckons they can get to 4 foot long! Dont know how right that is but would go like the clappers.

Donnan

dad got one on a golden bomber few years back up the narrows river system ran to brissy and back i swear

How ya living?